LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Junior Member atek99's Avatar
    Member #
    18274
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    3
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    Maybe I don't understand WPA? Help please

    Hi all, first post. I apologize if this has come up before, but I can't find links to exactly my problem:
    I have NO problem connecting the Wii to the internet if I use WEP security. If I try any form of WPA, however, I can't connect. I can set up my router (Trendnet 452BRP) for WPA and my laptop and PSP for WPA and they work fine, but Wii; no dice. Again, with everything set to WEP, everything connects; with WPA, everything BUT the Wii connects. I noticed that the router, laptop, and PSP ask for a passphrase with WPA, while the Wii seems to require a key, so I tried those sites that convert a phrase to a WPA key but that didn't work. I even tried simple 8 digit letters and numbers for WPA but still no Wii connectiion. Am I missing something? Or is it possible the Wii just doesn't like my router for WPA? Any help would be appreciated as I would like the better security of WPA over WEP.

  2. #2
    WiiChat Member domkstaa's Avatar
    Member #
    8103
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    39
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    WPA TKIP or AES? I had problems with TKIP as well. Did you tried AES? The passphrase should match whatever you enter into the router.

  3. #3
    Junior Member atek99's Avatar
    Member #
    18274
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    3
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by domkstaa
    WPA TKIP or AES? I had problems with TKIP as well. Did you tried AES? The passphrase should match whatever you enter into the router.
    I believe I did domkstaa, but I will try again with all the different WPA and WPA2 combinations in both my router and the Wii and will post if any luck. Thanks for the reply.
    Regards, atek99

  4. #4
    Junior Member atek99's Avatar
    Member #
    18274
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    3
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    WPA problem solved?

    OK, this is how I managed to get it working. Set passcode in Wii (and PSP as well) under the WPA-AES headings, but in the router itself, as well as in my laptop's wireless card, had to set up under the WPA2-AES type? It all works, but not if I program the passcode under the Wii's WPA2 heading, only under its WPA? Both must work in a similar manner.
    Thanks domkstaa for pointing me towards AES instead of TKIP

  5. #5
    WiiChat Member domkstaa's Avatar
    Member #
    8103
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    39
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by atek99
    OK, this is how I managed to get it working. Set passcode in Wii (and PSP as well) under the WPA-AES headings, but in the router itself, as well as in my laptop's wireless card, had to set up under the WPA2-AES type? It all works, but not if I program the passcode under the Wii's WPA2 heading, only under its WPA? Both must work in a similar manner.
    Thanks domkstaa for pointing me towards AES instead of TKIP
    Cool, glad you got it to work.

  6. #6
    WiiChat Member GreenEnvy's Avatar
    Member #
    11618
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    94
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Weird, I'm using WPA-TKIP fine.

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search tags for this page

convert wpa psk letters to numbers
,
kobo tkip
,
nintendo wii wpa
,
wii can't connect to wpa security
,
wii how to wpa
,
wii tkip
,

wii trendnet 452 wpa2

,
wii wap2 problems
,
wii wpa aes
,
wii wpa tkip problem
,
wii wpa2 problem
,

wpa-psk tkip wii

Click on a term to search for related topics.