LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Junior Member ticfish's Avatar
    Member #
    20486
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    4
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    WiiConnect24 using Static IP

    I have already had my wii setup and working online.

    Recently I was annoyed with certain port forwarding not working (on my PC) and soon realised that my router was assinging IP by DHCP. So I disabled DCHP and gave each computer on my network an IP. (Static IP, e.g, my comp is 192.168.0.20, 2nd comp is 192.168.0.21 and so on)

    I went into the Wii settings to set it to manually configured, I entered 192.18.0.22 or .23, I test the connection and it doesn't work. When I go back in and look at the IP I entered, it shows with a lot of 0's. (192.168.000.022 or 23)

    I'm not sure if I just have to setup wireless again or not (since disabling the DHCP).

    can anyone give my any ideas on why it wont connect?

    P.S, sorry if this has been posted before, please direct me to the original thread and I shall read that. Thanks

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    Junior Member ticfish's Avatar
    Member #
    20486
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    4
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    anyone? =/

  4. #3
    WiiChat Member iantimmy123's Avatar
    Member #
    18839
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    55
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Where you have assigned the last IP as 20, 21 etc try setting it as one digit only as that is normally how it is structured.

    Also change it to 192.168.1.x

    Again most modems have a 1 in that position and not a zero. Try it, it may work. Otherwise you are going to have to go back to dynamic IPs.

  5. #4
    WiiChat Member ins0's Avatar
    Member #
    20740
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Cardiff, Wales
    Posts
    19
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    2469-4835-3373-3754
    Just to clarify too, sorry if you know this but all IP address are in the format xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx, so anything not entered on a PC will automatically be a 0, i.e. 192.168.1.1 = 192.168.001.001. Also, make sure the subnet mask on the Wii matchs your network, I usually use 192.168.1.x, the subnet for that is 255.255.255.0 by default



    *** EDIT ***

    I also had problems assigning an static ip to the Wii and had to revert the DHCP assigned by the router - there should be options on your router for port forwarding or sometimes (on Belkin models) its called Virtual Servers to get around this (for example I needed to to use certain torrent clients) - If you can provide the make and ideally the model of the router I may be able to help you with that
    Last edited by ins0; 04-08-2007 at 06:17 AM.

  6. #5
    Junior Member ticfish's Avatar
    Member #
    20486
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    4
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by ins0
    Just to clarify too, sorry if you know this but all IP address are in the format xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx, so anything not entered on a PC will automatically be a 0, i.e. 192.168.1.1 = 192.168.001.001. Also, make sure the subnet mask on the Wii matchs your network, I usually use 192.168.1.x, the subnet for that is 255.255.255.0 by default



    *** EDIT ***

    I also had problems assigning an static ip to the Wii and had to revert the DHCP assigned by the router - there should be options on your router for port forwarding or sometimes (on Belkin models) its called Virtual Servers to get around this (for example I needed to to use certain torrent clients) - If you can provide the make and ideally the model of the router I may be able to help you with that
    My router is a Belkin and I know fo the virtual server you are talking about. I have used port forwarding for games such as Pro Evo 6 and STALKER on the PC. It works pefectly. I used the above IP's as an example. My actual router IP is 192.168.2.1

    I know I have done almost everything right, because it works perfect on 2 PC's and 1 laptop. The only difference is that they are all wired connections. I don't want to go back to DHCP as I lose my port forwarding for all my other games.

    I have my PC set to 192.168.2.20, Subnet 255.255.255.0, Default gateway 192.168.2.1. Works perfect. All other PC's are the same but the IP's range from 192.168.2.20 - 192.168.2.22. I have set the wii to 192.168.2.23 and it just doesn't work. Error 52030 I think.

    I've tried a few other things since, and cannot seem to get anywhere

  7. #6
    Junior Member pek74's Avatar
    Member #
    21289
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    1
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Hi Ticfish,

    Try setting your Wii IP to a DMZ IP number. I've got mine in 192.168.0.3 for DMZ and DHCP for a pool of ten ip numbers 192.168.0.4 to 192.168.0.14. That way you can skip a lot of problems for service filtering. Also check DNS addresses and MTU size (mine is 1500).

    Just my two cents.

  8. #7
    Junior Member ticfish's Avatar
    Member #
    20486
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    4
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by pek74
    Hi Ticfish,

    Try setting your Wii IP to a DMZ IP number. I've got mine in 192.168.0.3 for DMZ and DHCP for a pool of ten ip numbers 192.168.0.4 to 192.168.0.14. That way you can skip a lot of problems for service filtering. Also check DNS addresses and MTU size (mine is 1500).

    Just my two cents.
    I'm not sure about using DMZ, but I shall have a look tonight and see how I get on with that. If I have to, I'll just set it back to DHCP, but I don't really want to

  9. #8
    Wii Nerd gamechaser001's Avatar
    Member #
    7118
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    432
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    2291-3059-0957-1397
    Quote Originally Posted by iantimmy123
    Where you have assigned the last IP as 20, 21 etc try setting it as one digit only as that is normally how it is structured.

    Also change it to 192.168.1.x

    Again most modems have a 1 in that position and not a zero. Try it, it may work. Otherwise you are going to have to go back to dynamic IPs.
    I think you mean router, most modems (at least in my experience, ambit and motorola surfboard are the modems I work on most often) use the IP 192.168.100.1, Linksys routers use 192.168.1.1 deafult, Netgear and I believe D-Link use 192.168.0.1, and Belkin uses 192.168.2.1, I am not sure on other brands given I do not use other brands that much, any routers or modems will of course use an unroutable static IP

    Quote Originally Posted by ticfish
    I know I have done almost everything right, because it works perfect on 2 PC's and 1 laptop. The only difference is that they are all wired connections. I don't want to go back to DHCP as I lose my port forwarding for all my other games.

    I have my PC set to 192.168.2.20, Subnet 255.255.255.0, Default gateway 192.168.2.1. Works perfect. All other PC's are the same but the IP's range from 192.168.2.20 - 192.168.2.22. I have set the wii to 192.168.2.23 and it just doesn't work. Error 52030 I think.
    You shouldnt have a problem using dynamic/DHCP assigned IPs, that is of course unless you have problem logging into your router to change the IP after the lease is over, but it takes some time before the lease expires, I think longer than a month, I have to use port forwarding for remote desktop and torrenting, and after I get my gaming system done, games too, but I don't have a problem logging into my router to change the IP to the new one that the DHCP assigns, if you do use DHCP for your network, there is always the pain of having to change the IP after it expires, but at least you don't have to go through the pain of assigning the IPs


    No spamming referral links - Further attempts at advertising will not be tolerated. kthx

    If you know anything about LEDs please put input, click on the link beliw, I can really use the help
    http://www.wiichat.com/nintendo-wii-...tml#post149729

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search tags for this page

192 168 001 000
,

192.168.000.022

,

192.168.001.001

,
is 192.168.1.1 equal to 192.168.001.001
,
is 192.168.1.1 same as 192.168.001.001
,
is 192.168.1.1 the same as 192.168.001.001
,
static ip for wii
,
static ip wii
,
wii shows dhcp static in router
,
wii static ip
,
wii wireless static ip
,
wiiconnect24 ip
Click on a term to search for related topics.