LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    WiiChat Member Hammamasta's Avatar
    Member #
    21917
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    6
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    Did my Wii brake my Router?


    I have spent most of the day trying to get this damn thing online.
    Now my Linksys G Router doesnt transmit to my PC or my Wii. Anyone know what the orange or white "Cisco Systems" light on the front of the router does?
    Heres a long list of what i have done to save you from giving me useless advice:

    - Router, PC, Wii, Modem have all been reset
    - PC connects to internet directly from modem but not from modem to router to pc or wirelessly to router.
    - Wii Automatically found wireless signal (at one point), but failed to connect.
    - Manually input IP into Wii, DOS ipconfig settings to Wii, followed multiple (like 10 different) "solutions" from nintendo site.
    - Manually input Wii Mac Address to Router (when it was working)
    - Set router signal to MIXED
    - Played with related router settings
    - Royaly F*ed up my router
    - Stole my neighbors wireless signal

    Like I said, I did have my Wii aknowledge my wireless signal at one point automatically, but it failed to connect (error 51030) and now my router just sits there like a fat hooker.

    Anyone help? I should just call nintendo.

  2. #2
    WiiChat Member David328ci's Avatar
    Member #
    20597
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    265
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by Hammamasta
    Anyone help? I should just call nintendo.
    Si senior.

    "I love the Power Glove...it's so bad." - Lucas Barton

  3. #3
    get crunk. blueradio's Avatar
    Member #
    11742
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Cleveland.
    Posts
    1,151
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    6390-2874-0535-4544
    Call Nintendo Tech Support.
    They usually have the answer.

    My router broke the other day.
    From either my Wii or my Mac.
    One of the two has fried the wireless. I don't know why but the green light doesn't come on anymore.



    Well do you?

  4. #4
    WiiChat Member raisinghelen's Avatar
    Member #
    19621
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    1,052
    Friends
    2
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    I dont see how the Wii could break a router.

    A similar thing happened to me when i first tried setting up my Wii, all that worked was wired connections. Soon as i gave the Wii a static IP, set the router to channel 1 and gave it the Wiis MAC address it all worked fine though, except for that my laptop now has issues connecting wirelessly. I guessed it was just my crappy Dlink router as my laptop never had a great connection anyway.

    My Wii only connects on channel 1 and my laptop only connects properly on channel 11 and both lose connection from time to time, im thinking i'll probably buy a Netgear or Lynksis router with a booster and see if that helps.

    Nintendo are very helpful though and provide setup instructions to overcome most router issues.

  5. #5
    adf3424sdff
    Guest adf3424sdff's Avatar
    The wii isn't evil, it is not planning to destroy your electronic devics. jk buddy, just set it alight, that should do the trick

  6. #6
    WiiChat Member viperjason's Avatar
    Member #
    12302
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    73
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    A) Firmware update the router (But follow the directions to the T and dont lose power during the update)
    B) a Wireless signal can not fry a router unless the router already was bad
    c) Re-connect the router to the modem. Once you have determined that the modem does in fact work, then the only question is the router. If the router works with other devices, then it is infact the device not working....in this case the wii.

  7. #7
    Gran Turismo Wii_BrEnDo2007's Avatar
    Member #
    11890
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Ecosse
    Posts
    2,731
    Friends
    1
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    1234-1234-1234-1234
    seems impossible
    PS3 now, sorry Wii. You gather dust.

  8. #8
    Junior Member ReeMS's Avatar
    Member #
    19036
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    4
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Since the ROUTER is malfunctioning, call the ROUTER manufacturer.

  9. #9
    WiiChat Member legbuh's Avatar
    Member #
    21367
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    36
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Does the Wii suport WPA for wireless?

  10. #10
    WiiChat Member Hammamasta's Avatar
    Member #
    21917
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    6
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    OKay so it isnt impossible...
    I read that the firmware I upgraded for the wii could have been bad and poached the router. In that case I have to get a new one.

    The wii is not, in fact, evil, but how do you "set alight" lee.j?
    I'll be calling linksys for some answers, I dont think nintendo would do much.

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search tags for this page

did i break my g router

,
fry's router malfunction
,
how far should my wireless router be from my wii
,
how to break router code for a wii
,
linksys router code break
,
linksys router not working with laptop but works with other devices
,
nintendo wii not reading my linksys router
,
what channedl should my router be set to for the wii?
,
what channel should my router be on for wii
,
why isnt my wii reading my linksys router
,
why will my router not work with both my laptop and my wii?
,
why will my wii not work with mi router
Click on a term to search for related topics.