LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Junior Member Eratos's Avatar
    Member #
    22295
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    Using A Wii to connect A DS to the internet

    Maybe this is a dumb question, but while reading up on the Wii's internet functionality, I noticed that all you need is a wireless router, which I have. Whereas, the Nintendo DS requires a wireless router but also Windows XP, which is unfortunate as I use a Mac. So is it possible to connect to the internet with your DS through your Wii?

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    WiiChat Member paintba||er's Avatar
    Member #
    1665
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Mormonville, Utah XBL GamerTag: sheise PSNID: sheise
    Posts
    3,417
    Friends
    1
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    8354-0173-2009-5422
    Quote Originally Posted by Eratos
    Maybe this is a dumb question, but while reading up on the Wii's internet functionality, I noticed that all you need is a wireless router, which I have. Whereas, the Nintendo DS requires a wireless router but also Windows XP, which is unfortunate as I use a Mac. So is it possible to connect to the internet with your DS through your Wii?
    DS online doesn't need Windows. You can use your wireless router for your DS.
    ++++++[>++++++++++<-]>+.<+++[>++++<-]>+.<+++++[>+++++++<-]>++.++++.<+++[>---<-]>--.<+++++[>----------<-]>--------.<+++++++++++++[>++<-]>.<+++++[>+++++<-]>.<++++[>++++<-]>+..<++[>----<-]>-.<++[>+++++<-]>.

  4. #3
    Junior Member Eratos's Avatar
    Member #
    22295
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by paintba||er

    DS online doesn't need Windows. You can use your wireless router for your DS.
    You can? Then I guess this was a really dumb question. Thank you very much. I greatly appreciate it.

  5. #4
    Wii Nerd gamechaser001's Avatar
    Member #
    7118
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    432
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    2291-3059-0957-1397
    Quote Originally Posted by Eratos
    Quote Originally Posted by paintba||er
    DS online doesn't need Windows. You can use your wireless router for your DS.
    You can? Then I guess this was a really dumb question. Thank you very much. I greatly appreciate it.
    Yeah, you don't need windows XP to connect a DS, you don't even need a computer to connect your DS to a wireless router, but you would need a computer to configure the router, which mac can do just fine, I think you just can't use auto-login software, you have to use the router's IP, sometimes I use my PSP to configure my router though, so I guess you really don't need a computer, the only thing that requires Windows XP is if you got the Nintendo Wi-Fi connection dongle for your computer, not a router


    No spamming referral links - Further attempts at advertising will not be tolerated. kthx

    If you know anything about LEDs please put input, click on the link beliw, I can really use the help
    http://www.wiichat.com/nintendo-wii-...tml#post149729

  6. #5
    Junior Member bigchief's Avatar
    Member #
    22801
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    1
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by Eratos
    Maybe this is a dumb question, but while reading up on the Wii's internet functionality, I noticed that all you need is a wireless router, which I have. Whereas, the Nintendo DS requires a wireless router but also Windows XP, which is unfortunate as I use a Mac. So is it possible to connect to the internet with your DS through your Wii?

    Since his original question wasn't answered I'd like to repeat it. Is it possible to connect a ds through the wii? I don't have wireless at home and the wii is connected via a wired router. I'd prefer to avoid forking out the cash on a wifi plugin for the pc or router just so I can go online with my ds.

  7. #6
    Junior Member Perun's Avatar
    Member #
    20634
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    As far as I have tried connecting the ds through the wii doesn't work. The problem is that the wii does not allow its wireless to be usewd as a hub connection so only it can use it nothing else. This could change with future updates or somebody finding away around that. If anyone has found a way please tell cause if there is one i am stumbed at it.
    "There is you place, Stay there"

  8. #7
    WiiChat Member paintba||er's Avatar
    Member #
    1665
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Mormonville, Utah XBL GamerTag: sheise PSNID: sheise
    Posts
    3,417
    Friends
    1
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    8354-0173-2009-5422
    I'm pretty sure that you can't do it as of now. There could be a hack in the future that allows it though.
    ++++++[>++++++++++<-]>+.<+++[>++++<-]>+.<+++++[>+++++++<-]>++.++++.<+++[>---<-]>--.<+++++[>----------<-]>--------.<+++++++++++++[>++<-]>.<+++++[>+++++<-]>.<++++[>++++<-]>+..<++[>----<-]>-.<++[>+++++<-]>.

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search tags for this page

any way to connect the internet to your dsi through your wii
,
can i use my wii to connect my ds to the internet
,
can you use the wii to connect a ds to the internet
,

connect ds through wii

,

connect ds to internet through wii

,
connect ds to internet thru wii
,

connect ds to wii for internet

,
connecting ds to internet through wii
,
connecting ds to internet via wii
,
ds internet through wii
,
how to connect ds to internet through wii
,
use wii to connect ds to internet
Click on a term to search for related topics.