LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    "you'll never walk alone! gizzavii's Avatar
    Member #
    24307
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    111
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    1429-3471-7810-2494

    I do defo have a problem with my lan wired-

    Ok, so i got home from work yesterday and found that my modem connection to my pc is fcukin USb afterall and not ethernet as i origanaly thought!!!!

    Great!

    Now please help... how is best to connect my wii?? Don't want a wireless network and already have an LAn adapter.

    Struggleing me

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    honesty is my only excuse FR3344LL's Avatar
    Member #
    24200
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    WV8
    Posts
    253
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    >>Don't want a wireless network and already have an LAn adapter.

    why don't you want a wireless network??

    if you already have the LAN adaptor, does your PC have an
    RJ45 ethernet port?

    if it does, you could set up ICS (internet connection sharing)
    through the PC

    Wii > PC > Internet

    tbh, for what it's worth, i would definitely recommend that you
    get a wireless router as this means that you could use the Wii
    without the PC having to be powered on.

    ICS dictates that (because it's the internet gateway) your PC
    will need to be on whenever you want to connect the Wii to
    the internet.

    hth

    Ste


  4. #3
    "you'll never walk alone! gizzavii's Avatar
    Member #
    24307
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    111
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    1429-3471-7810-2494
    Thanks.

    Yes i do have that port you said, and i already put the Patch cable in there. Wirless is to expensive for me at the mo.

    HOw would i go about setting the ICS up? > start > control panal? ect....

  5. #4
    honesty is my only excuse FR3344LL's Avatar
    Member #
    24200
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    WV8
    Posts
    253
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Hi

    with regards to setting up ICS, a "patch" cable is not the cable that
    you need. when you connect "another" device to a pc to share it's
    internet connection, you need a "crossover" ethernet cable.

    a "patch" cable is used when you connect to a hub/switch/router.

    to enable ICS, you will need to go into control panel>network connections
    and right click on the relevant LAN adaptor to which you are connecting
    the Wii. you can then select properties>advanced and enable others
    to connect via the LAN adaptor on the pc.

    it's probably a good idea to use the windows networking wizard to help
    you through the process.

    if you're using a third party firewall software such as Zone Alarm, you must
    also configure the "trusted zone" setting to be "medium" otherwise it
    won't allow any ICS traffic through.

    hth
    Ste

  6. #5
    "you'll never walk alone! gizzavii's Avatar
    Member #
    24307
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    111
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    1429-3471-7810-2494
    ok cool.... let me get this straight..... (bear with me!!?!?) From wii> my LAn adaptor come's out goes to the crossover cable which goes into the back of my pc into the ethernet cable port. Then i can configure the correct setting's to let it talk to wii right?? MAte this is complecated stuff... i thought it was easy??

  7. #6
    honesty is my only excuse FR3344LL's Avatar
    Member #
    24200
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    WV8
    Posts
    253
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Hi

    pretty much so.

    actually, as i've never used the Wii LAN adaptor, i'm a little unsure
    as to whether a "crossover" cable is required.

    looking at the datel LAN adaptor description, it only mentions the
    "patch" cable, which are usually refered to as "straight thru'" ethernet
    cables. you might want to try that first save buying a crossover cable!

    as for being complicated, well it needn't be really, but if you run the
    windows networking wizard and follow the instructions, you *should*
    be up and running with the minimum of fuss.

    as i mentioned earlier though, if you are using a third party firewall
    software, you must configure it's LAN "trusted" zone to allow ICS
    traffic to pass through. if you're only using windows built in firewall, the
    networking wizard will configure it for you to allow ICS.

    hth
    Ste

  8. #7
    "you'll never walk alone! gizzavii's Avatar
    Member #
    24307
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    111
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    1429-3471-7810-2494
    You are a very helpfull person.

    Thank you i will let you know how i get on!?!?

    Wish me luck!!

  9. #8
    honesty is my only excuse FR3344LL's Avatar
    Member #
    24200
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    WV8
    Posts
    253
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    heh

    Good Luck!!
    Ste

  10. #9
    "you'll never walk alone! gizzavii's Avatar
    Member #
    24307
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    111
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    1429-3471-7810-2494
    Hi again!!
    It didn't work..... i'm certain i'm doing something wrong but i don't know what. I have set up my computer to allow other devices to use the web but thats all i could do really. I din't turn my fire wall down but then i din't see the point because the wii could find no connection to the web. All i got was an error code!! doh!! I might see if someone here has this set up on there wii!!

  11. #10
    honesty is my only excuse FR3344LL's Avatar
    Member #
    24200
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    WV8
    Posts
    253
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by gizzavii
    I din't turn my fire wall down but then i din't see the point because the wii could find no connection to the web. All i got was an error code!! doh!! I might see if someone here has this set up on there wii!!
    that could be why the Wii doesn't see the connection. the firewall is there
    to prevent unwanted network traffic.
    if it isn't told to allow the Wii access, then it will block it. simple as that.

    out of curiosity, what firewall are you using?
    Ste

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts