LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 33
  1. #1
    WiiChat Member salad82's Avatar
    Member #
    24490
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    21
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    Do i need a router if i buy an adapter?

    Hello,

    if i buy a compatible USB to ethernet adapter, can i simply plug the USB end into the wii and the Ethernet end DIRECTLY into the PC? or does this NEED to go through a router?

    Thanks

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    "you'll never walk alone! gizzavii's Avatar
    Member #
    24307
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    109
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    1429-3471-7810-2494
    Hey!!!

    Someone else with my problem!!! I'm in the proses of finding out myself!!!

    From what i have been told you need to connect via a ICS connection and use a diffrent cable to the 'patch cable' supplied wif the LAN adapter.

    Or

    Just get a router or wirless connection or usb dongle.

    Hope this helps?

  4. #3
    WiiChat Member salad82's Avatar
    Member #
    24490
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    21
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    ive been looking at all the options and there are so many mixed reviews...

    can see where i can but an official dongle in england, yet there is no one sight that can tell me of a router, dongle (non official) that will work etc...

    I need either a compatable dongle (to buy from a shop in england)

    or modem or any information really.

    looked on the officical nintendo sight and it said in most cases you cannot plug directly in and it must go through a router, didnt say definate though to be fair

  5. #4
    "you'll never walk alone! gizzavii's Avatar
    Member #
    24307
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    109
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    1429-3471-7810-2494
    don't even go there.... your saying i can't connect through ics!?!?

    I just bought a lead and every thik!?!??!?! AHHHHHHHHHH

    Thought you could!!!!

  6. #5
    WiiChat Member salad82's Avatar
    Member #
    24490
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    21
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    im not too sure, im just passing on what it said on the nintendo site... i dont want to have to buy a router, wanted to plug straight in using the adapter.


    ANYONE IN ENGLAND KNOW WHERE I CAN GET A COMPATIBLE WIFI DONGLE? OR LIST COMPATIBLE DONGLES....

    thanks

  7. #6
    honesty is my only excuse FR3344LL's Avatar
    Member #
    24200
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    WV8
    Posts
    253
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    guys...

    there's no need to buy a wireless dongle. the Wii has wireless 802.11b/g (11Mbps/54Mbps) straight out of the box.

    please read through my reply to Gizzavii which gives a hyperlink to practicallynetworked.com

    you will find all the necessary information there regarding ICS.

    please be aware that you will need to assign the Wii with a "manual" IP address which falls within the same IP range as the "host" PC, which will probably be 192.168.0.1
    the Wii would need to be set @ 192.168.0.2

    subnet mask values would be 255.255.255.0 for this IP range.
    hth
    Ste

  8. #7
    WiiChat Member salad82's Avatar
    Member #
    24490
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    21
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    have my dongle now...

    the dongle is because my pc isnt wireless, not for the Wii...

    do i need a router now?

    or will the dongle give out a wiress signal to the Wii?

  9. #8
    honesty is my only excuse FR3344LL's Avatar
    Member #
    24200
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    WV8
    Posts
    253
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    you don't need a router if you have bought a wireless dongle.

    although, for the extra 20 or so i'd go for a router every time.
    Ste

  10. #9
    "you'll never walk alone! gizzavii's Avatar
    Member #
    24307
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    109
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    1429-3471-7810-2494
    HI!!
    FR3344LL you Helped me big time. but i have found out since that you cannot connect wii through ics!! Even my IT guy at work had a go!?!?!?

    I'm going for the usb wifi nintendo job!!

  11. #10
    honesty is my only excuse FR3344LL's Avatar
    Member #
    24200
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    WV8
    Posts
    253
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    gizzavii

    i'm really suprised that your IT guy can't get the wii connected via ICS.....

    even if you buy the wifi dongle, it is still going to need to be connected via ICS as the host pc will "be" the internet gateway!!.

    it is exactly the same principal as using the LAN adaptor except it's wireless.

    how far did you get with setting up ICS?

    there is absolutely no reason why any internet capable console cannot be connected to an ICS enabled pc.
    Ste

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search tags for this page

does your lan adapterneed to plug into the wii and the roter box

Click on a term to search for related topics.