LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    WiiChat Member Slick_Gamer's Avatar
    Member #
    18862
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    7
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    Nintendo Wifi Adapter questions.

    ok I don't own a DS, only a "Wii"
    I do have Windows/XP plus a Broadband DSL connection.

    Does this require a DS for it to work? cause I only have a Wii.
    Which electronic store can I buy this at and how much is it?

  2. #2
    honesty is my only excuse FR3344LL's Avatar
    Member #
    24200
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    WV8
    Posts
    253
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by Slick_Gamer
    ok I don't own a DS, only a "Wii"
    I do have Windows/XP plus a Broadband DSL connection.

    Does this require a DS for it to work? cause I only have a Wii.
    Which electronic store can I buy this at and how much is it?
    no, it doesn't need a DS in order for it to work.

    the USB wifi dongle plugs into your PC and allows the Wii to connect
    to the internet though the USB dongle. it is effectively the same as
    windows internet connection sharing (ICS) which means that the pc will
    need to be powered on if you want to access the internet on the Wii.

    tbh, for a little bit extra, i would recommend buying a wireless router
    to connect to your DSL modem. a router will enable your Wii to access
    the internet independently of the pc.

    hth
    Ste

  3. #3
    WiiChat Member Tailwhip's Avatar
    Member #
    7172
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    9
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by FR3344LL
    no, it doesn't need a DS in order for it to work.

    the USB wifi dongle plugs into your PC and allows the Wii to connect
    to the internet though the USB dongle. it is effectively the same as
    windows internet connection sharing (ICS) which means that the pc will
    need to be powered on if you want to access the internet on the Wii.

    tbh, for a little bit extra, i would recommend buying a wireless router
    to connect to your DSL modem. a router will enable your Wii to access
    the internet independently of the pc.

    hth
    How much money is a router like you suggested?

  4. #4
    honesty is my only excuse FR3344LL's Avatar
    Member #
    24200
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    WV8
    Posts
    253
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    How much money is a router like you suggested?
    depends really.

    a wireless cable router = 35

    a wireless ADSL/Modem router = 45+

    shop around and ensure you get the correct one for your broadband
    type.

    here in the UK we have cable broadband (NTL/Virginmedia/telewest) which
    use regular wireless routers, but we also have ADSL types (BT/Tiscali etc)
    which need the combined ADSL/Modem router scenario.
    Ste

  5. #5
    WiiChat Member billcsho's Avatar
    Member #
    24869
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    323
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Where are you located? I saw a $20 wireless g router at OfficeDepot this week. It seems the broadband service in UK is somewhat different. Here you can use the same wireless router for Cable modem and xDSL. For DSL, some ISP requires PPPoE protocol capable router and most, if not all, current wireless router do support PPPoE. I have switched back and forth between cable and DSL several times in the last few years.
    Last edited by billcsho; 06-04-2007 at 03:41 PM.

  6. #6
    honesty is my only excuse FR3344LL's Avatar
    Member #
    24200
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    WV8
    Posts
    253
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    yeah, forgot to ask the op's location.

    billscho, some ADSL routers sold here in the UK state that they (mistakenly) require PPPoE, most notibly Belkin....when in reality ADSL users require PPPoA.
    Ste

  7. #7
    WiiChat Member billcsho's Avatar
    Member #
    24869
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    323
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    It seems things are much more expensive in UK too. I have 4 wireless routers running at home and they costed me only $8 to $20 after rebates. Two of them even have print server.

  8. #8
    Junior Member rickroller44's Avatar
    Member #
    26478
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    2
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Heres a video how to do it:
    http://youtube.com/watch?v=eBGIQ7ZuuiU

  9. #9
    honesty is my only excuse FR3344LL's Avatar
    Member #
    24200
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    WV8
    Posts
    253
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by billcsho
    It seems things are much more expensive in UK too. I have 4 wireless routers running at home and they costed me only $8 to $20 after rebates.
    heh

    jammy git!!

    seriously, we pay over the odds for wireless equipment in the UK.

    i must be on my 8th router by now, and tbh, the average price is
    around 50....and i use a cable broadband (virgin media). those users
    who have BT (ADSL) lines normally pay anthing upto an extra 20 for
    the "same" kit except it has a built-in modem.

    Two of them even have print server
    my second two routers both had print servers (USB) but were fussy
    about what type of printer was attached, they only seemed to like
    certain HP models. also the option for viewing ink levels was taken
    away so that posed a few problems in itself.....printing an important
    document then the ink gives up the ghost...dammit!!
    Ste

  10. #10
    "you'll never walk alone! gizzavii's Avatar
    Member #
    24307
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    109
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    1429-3471-7810-2494
    Quote Originally Posted by Slick_Gamer
    ok I don't own a DS, only a "Wii"
    I do have Windows/XP plus a Broadband DSL connection.

    Does this require a DS for it to work? cause I only have a Wii.
    Which electronic store can I buy this at and how much is it?
    Seems like you were in the same boat as me.... i had that setup and went for the wifi dongle after much help and advice from fr3344ll (very helpful) on trying to do it another way but it was a bit over might head.

    The wifi dongle came with every thing i needed. I bought it off ebay and paid 20.00 for it. This was the offical nintendo one which set the pc up for me and every thing. All i did was insert the cd>installed the soft were> the conected the dongle (when instructed)> turned on the wii and set up a wirless connection it saw the wifi straight away and there it went!!!

    On the web for 20.00. No ds no effot no troble and besides you can sell the dongle if your not happy there good sellers on ebay!!!

    Good luck!!


    Mario strikers charged thing is... 154721 335104

    Now what do i do??

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search tags for this page

connecting wifi dongle to virgin media router

,

how much is a wifi adapter for the wii

,

nintendo wifi dongle ebay

,

wifi dongle for dsl modem

Click on a term to search for related topics.