LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Error 51420...

  1. #1
    Luke Perry for President! Darkside7000's Avatar
    Member #
    5500
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    109
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    Error 51420...

    I just bought the Lan Adapter and can't get it working. I think it's a problem with the modem, as the XBOX360 ethernet cable doesn't work either (although it did a few months back, just stopped on day). My modem is connected to the computer through a USB cord. Is there any other way to hook up the Lan Adapter without plugging an ethernet cord into the modem. Stupid question, but i'm desperate.

    OR is there anyway to find out whats wrong with my modem. I think it stopped working when our old computer stuffed up. Maybe not the right drivers?

    This is the moderm I have: http://whirlpool.net.au/index.cfm?a=h_view&model_id=278
    Picture: http://reviews.cnet.com/sc/31619563-2-200-0.gif
    "Never critisize someone unless you've walked a mile in their shoes, that way, your a mile away and have their shoes."
    -Jesus.
    -------------------------
    My whole family was testing out some Wii Sports at thanksgiving and my grandma says, "Those Japanese people, they sure use their brain powers."...... and I say nothing, and my six year old cousin looks over at her and says, "pandas are like people, they understand everything."
    -I forget.

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    honesty is my only excuse FR3344LL's Avatar
    Member #
    24200
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    WV8
    Posts
    253
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    My modem is connected to the computer through a USB cord. Is there any other way to hook up the Lan Adapter without plugging an ethernet cord into the modem. Stupid question, but i'm desperate.
    nope.

    OR is there anyway to find out whats wrong with my modem. I think it stopped working when our old computer stuffed up. Maybe not the right drivers?
    you only need drivers when connecting via USB (as it seems you currently
    are). how did you post this message? through the modem? if so, it's obviously
    working!!

    tbh, i'd connect via ethernet every time. it always seems more stable than
    USB.

    try connecting your modem/router to your PC via ethernet then re-boot the modem. once you have re-booted, go into it's configuration pages to see
    if DHCP is enabled. DHCP is the service which allocates IP addresses to
    pc's/consoles which are attached to the modem/router.

    next, on the Wii, go into it's internet connection options and create a "new"
    wired connection. leave all settings to obtain information automatically.

    see if that works.
    Ste

  4. #3
    ciper's Avatar
    Member #
    22965
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    ▐▄█▀█▄▌
    Posts
    2,008
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Are you trying to connect both the USB and the Ethernet on your DSL modem at the same time? If so that is why you are having problems.

  5. #4
    Luke Perry for President! Darkside7000's Avatar
    Member #
    5500
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    109
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    No ciper, i'm not. And i'll try the fr3344ll. Thanks.
    "Never critisize someone unless you've walked a mile in their shoes, that way, your a mile away and have their shoes."
    -Jesus.
    -------------------------
    My whole family was testing out some Wii Sports at thanksgiving and my grandma says, "Those Japanese people, they sure use their brain powers."...... and I say nothing, and my six year old cousin looks over at her and says, "pandas are like people, they understand everything."
    -I forget.

  6. #5
    WiiChat Member minimemoon's Avatar
    Member #
    24495
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    8
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    I had error 51420 when I bought the Datel Lan Adapter.
    Make sure your sharing your internet connection with the local area connection.
    and basically, dont use the ethernet cable that comes free.
    when I had that plugged in, my computer didnt even recognise it was there.
    But I used another cable, and it works.

    btw you are plugging the ethernet cable from your wii to your computer and not from the wii directly to the modem arent you?

  7. #6
    WiiChat Member AZ_Wii_Tard's Avatar
    Member #
    19726
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Chandler, AZ
    Posts
    358
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    5976-8685-8380-4889
    Error Codes 51420 - 51422

    The Wii console is not able to connect to your wired router or modem.

    1. Make sure that you are using the Wii LAN Adapter made by Nintendo (click here for a picture and connection steps). LAN adapters not made by Nintendo likely will not work with the Wii console.

    2. Ensure that the Wii LAN Adapter setup is correct, and that the Wii LAN Adapter was connected with the console turned off. For step by step connection instructions, please click here.

    3. Check to see if the ethernet cable you are using is not working properly, by connecting another ethernet cable from your router/modem to the Wii LAN Adapter. If the connection works using a different cable, then the problem was with the first cable.

    4. If possible, try another Wii LAN Adapter. If you are unable to try another Wii LAN Adapter, or are still receiving this error code, please call 1-800-255-3700 for assistance.

    http://www.nintendo.com/consumer/sys...1420-51422.jsp
    Nintendo Support Help

    -No External Links

  8. #7
    Luke Perry for President! Darkside7000's Avatar
    Member #
    5500
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    109
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    "btw you are plugging the ethernet cable from your wii to your computer and not from the wii directly to the modem arent you?"

    No... I was connecting it to the modem. Can you post some instructions on how the set-up should look please? Or post instructions to do it (or anyone for that matter).

    I'm using the Datel Adapter BTW
    "Never critisize someone unless you've walked a mile in their shoes, that way, your a mile away and have their shoes."
    -Jesus.
    -------------------------
    My whole family was testing out some Wii Sports at thanksgiving and my grandma says, "Those Japanese people, they sure use their brain powers."...... and I say nothing, and my six year old cousin looks over at her and says, "pandas are like people, they understand everything."
    -I forget.

  9. #8
    honesty is my only excuse FR3344LL's Avatar
    Member #
    24200
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    WV8
    Posts
    253
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    darkside,

    your modem appears to have "router" functionality...how
    many LAN (ethernet) ports does it have?

    have you tried completely shutting off the power to each
    bit of equipment, then allowing the modem to power up
    before attempting to power up your games consoles?

    see if that solves anything.

    failing that, have a look in modems configuration settings
    to ensure DHCP is enabled.
    Ste

  10. #9
    Luke Perry for President! Darkside7000's Avatar
    Member #
    5500
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    109
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    1 ethernet port, 1 lan port. Thats all. And i've tried turning everything off.

    How do I check the DHCP?
    "Never critisize someone unless you've walked a mile in their shoes, that way, your a mile away and have their shoes."
    -Jesus.
    -------------------------
    My whole family was testing out some Wii Sports at thanksgiving and my grandma says, "Those Japanese people, they sure use their brain powers."...... and I say nothing, and my six year old cousin looks over at her and says, "pandas are like people, they understand everything."
    -I forget.

  11. #10
    honesty is my only excuse FR3344LL's Avatar
    Member #
    24200
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    WV8
    Posts
    253
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by Darkside7000
    How do I check the DHCP?
    normally you can access the modem/routers config pages by typing it's IP address into your web browser. for example:-
    http://192.168.x.1

    "x" could be either a 0,1 or 2

    have a look at your manual.
    Ste

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search tags for this page

51420 wii error
,
51420 wii error code
,
error 51420
,
error code 51420
,
error code 51420 on wii
,
error code 51420 wii
,
error code 51420 wii internet connection
,
nintendo wii error code 51420
,

wii error 51420

,

wii error code 51420

,
wii error code 51420 internet
,
wii internet error code 51420
Click on a term to search for related topics.