LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    WiiChat Member jorden_forward's Avatar
    Member #
    27832
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Newfoundland, Canada
    Posts
    6
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    how do i hook a Wii and computer into the same internet (Cable) modem

    i was just wondering if i can hook a Wii to my cable internet modem that my computer is attached to i thought about geting a T-adapter and running 2 network lines but i dont know if that would work.....i also thought about running a usb line from the modem geting an usb to ethernet adaptor and hooking it up to the Wii that way .......i would like some imput on this if anyone has any tips, sugestions or other options to help me out caus write now im so confused

  2. #2
    WiiChat Member paintba||er's Avatar
    Member #
    1665
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Mormonville, Utah XBL GamerTag: sheise PSNID: sheise
    Posts
    3,417
    Friends
    1
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    8354-0173-2009-5422
    Why don't you just get a router?
    ++++++[>++++++++++<-]>+.<+++[>++++<-]>+.<+++++[>+++++++<-]>++.++++.<+++[>---<-]>--.<+++++[>----------<-]>--------.<+++++++++++++[>++<-]>.<+++++[>+++++<-]>.<++++[>++++<-]>+..<++[>----<-]>-.<++[>+++++<-]>.

  3. #3
    WiiChat Member jorden_forward's Avatar
    Member #
    27832
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Newfoundland, Canada
    Posts
    6
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    i was tring to do it with out having to get a router if it is at all posible......that is why i desided to ask about it hear

  4. #4
    WiiChat Member GamerCon's Avatar
    Member #
    25049
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    607
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    The only way is with USB. That or WiFi.


    I don't want rep. Rep me again and I'll have half a mind to rep each and every one of you.

    Currently learning HTML & SEO & JavaScript

    It seems I still have allies on WiiChat.

  5. #5
    WiiChat Member jorden_forward's Avatar
    Member #
    27832
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Newfoundland, Canada
    Posts
    6
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    can i "split the usb line" ie. use a T-adapter?

  6. #6
    WiiChat Member GamerCon's Avatar
    Member #
    25049
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    607
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    If you found one then yea but i didnt find any, quick search, for USB.


    I don't want rep. Rep me again and I'll have half a mind to rep each and every one of you.

    Currently learning HTML & SEO & JavaScript

    It seems I still have allies on WiiChat.

  7. #7
    ciper's Avatar
    Member #
    22965
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    ▐▄█▀█▄▌
    Posts
    2,008
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by jorden_forward
    can i "split the usb line" ie. use a T-adapter?
    It doesnt work that way. 3 options

    1. A router will let you share the connection with an "unlimited" number of devices
    2. The USB adapter from Nintendo lets you Wii connect through your computer. This option is shitty because the computer must stay on all the time and the software isn't very stable
    3. It might be possible to switch the internet connection back and forth between the computer and the Wii by switching the plug back and forth and rebooting your cable modem. You would only be able to use one at a time.

  8. #8
    WiiChat Member jorden_forward's Avatar
    Member #
    27832
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Newfoundland, Canada
    Posts
    6
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    right on thanks.......so anyone know for a 2 (out) port router all the ones i can find is 4 or more

  9. #9
    ciper's Avatar
    Member #
    22965
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    ▐▄█▀█▄▌
    Posts
    2,008
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by jorden_forward
    right on thanks.......so anyone know for a 2 (out) port router all the ones i can find is 4 or more
    Its okay to leave some ports empty. The number of ports doesn't change the routers function. In fact you can buy a special type of spliter (router/hub) and connect it to the router to make more ports!

    If you buy a wireless router you could potentially leave them all empty.

  10. #10
    WiiChat Member jorden_forward's Avatar
    Member #
    27832
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Newfoundland, Canada
    Posts
    6
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    which would you recomend wireless or non wireless

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search tags for this page

can i have my wii and computer on the same modem and router
,
can i hook my wii and computer to the same
,
do i hook my wii to the computer or modem
,
hook the wii to internet through the cable modem
,
how can i use my wii and computer with the same modem
,
how to hook a wii and computer to the same router
,

how to hook a wii connect by the computer

,
how to hook a wii up to cable modem
,
how to hook up a modem to a computer and wii
,
how to hook up a wii to internet by cable.
,
using a wii and computer on same modem
,
wii internet cable
Click on a term to search for related topics.