LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    WiiChat Member johncf's Avatar
    Member #
    29065
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    8
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    Help connecting to a network

    Hi, i was hoping someone would be able to help me, i recently got ask4 internet in my flat, but it doesnt come down a phone line or dsl , its like a network (well it is) and thats fine i plug the network cable in to my wireless router and i can get on the net using mylaptop with ease problem is my wii is having none of it i know it can connect through this router as it worked fine with my last isp, something else which is slightly differant with this isp is that some times on my laptop when i open IE an ask4 login page comes up and asks for a login and pass word, the error code i get on the wii is " 52230 unableto connect to the server" i have read that this couldbe due to a firewall on the router but i have tried disabling this and it did not work.
    the router i am using is a speedtouch 585v6 and like i said the internet is an ethanet connection,

    hope someone can help
    thanks for reading
    john

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    honesty is my only excuse FR3344LL's Avatar
    Member #
    24200
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    WV8
    Posts
    253
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by johncf
    Hi, i was hoping someone would be able to help me, i recently got ask4 internet in my flat, but it doesnt come down a phone line or dsl , its like a network (well it is) and thats fine i plug the network cable in to my wireless router and i can get on the net using mylaptop with ease problem is my wii is having none of it i know it can connect through this router as it worked fine with my last isp, something else which is slightly differant with this isp is that some times on my laptop when i open IE an ask4 login page comes up and asks for a login and pass word, the error code i get on the wii is " 52230 unableto connect to the server" i have read that this couldbe due to a firewall on the router but i have tried disabling this and it did not work.
    the router i am using is a speedtouch 585v6 and like i said the internet is an ethanet connection,

    hope someone can help
    thanks for reading
    john
    how are you attempting to connect the Wii to the router? wired or wireless?

    has DHCP on the router been disabled for some reason?

    try allocating the Wii with a "manually assigned" IP address within the same
    range as the IP of your pc. e.g. pc = 192.168.1.2 Wii 192.168.1.3
    the subnet mask value will be 255.255.255.0 for this range of IP's
    the default router (gateway) address will be the IP address of the router.
    Ste

  4. #3
    Hello-Moto/Go Leafs Go!!! wiiman14's Avatar
    Member #
    25417
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    At Wiichat
    Posts
    589
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    I have the exact same problem.
    Quote Originally Posted by Wamoo
    Jeez I can see it now......Robo Hookers for 20,000 wii points.
    Quote Originally Posted by Brawny
    I forgot to say "w00t one year" about a month ago

  5. #4
    WiiChat Member johncf's Avatar
    Member #
    29065
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    8
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    hi thanks for your reply i am trying to connect wirelessly, unfortunatly i cannot get on to my router for some reason to check its settings.
    i try try the ip thing though

  6. #5
    WiiChat Member johncf's Avatar
    Member #
    29065
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    8
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    if you sort your out id be greatful if you let me know how, i have been intouch with ask4 and they tried setting my account up to accept my wii's mac address but this did not work so i am waiting for them to get back to me
    ill let you know if i hear any thing

  7. #6
    ₪ ۩ ₪ vagrant's Avatar
    Member #
    2707
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa
    Posts
    3,249
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    8573-5327-9660-0097
    Does the wii pick up the access point then?

    Dreamcast Fan Fo Lyfe

  8. #7
    WiiChat Member johncf's Avatar
    Member #
    29065
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    8
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    yes the wii picks up the sccess point but fails the connection test, im at work so cant remember the eroor code, ive been told today if i cant get an Ethernet router and send ask 4 the mac address they can sent up an auto authenticate user for me so the wii wouldnt have to "log in" which i think is the problem. also im told to try connecting my laptop via a network cable to the wall then my laptop to router wirelessly so the laptop logs in and my wii can connect to the internet through my laptop but i dont know how this will work as i use pcmcia wireless card in my laptop and the laptop never shows up when i search for network on the wii, unless the router will make the laptops connection available to me and i connect through the router.

    ill try it when i get in any way

  9. #8
    ₪ ۩ ₪ vagrant's Avatar
    Member #
    2707
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa
    Posts
    3,249
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    8573-5327-9660-0097
    Quote Originally Posted by johncf
    yes the wii picks up the sccess point but fails the connection test, im at work so cant remember the eroor code, ive been told today if i cant get an Ethernet router and send ask 4 the mac address they can sent up an auto authenticate user for me so the wii wouldnt have to "log in" which i think is the problem. also im told to try connecting my laptop via a network cable to the wall then my laptop to router wirelessly so the laptop logs in and my wii can connect to the internet through my laptop but i dont know how this will work as i use pcmcia wireless card in my laptop and the laptop never shows up when i search for network on the wii, unless the router will make the laptops connection available to me and i connect through the router.

    ill try it when i get in any way
    If you are connecting to some public wireless router then they probably have some crazy authentication on it.

    You should google Internet connection sharing if you want to use your laptop as a wireless access point for the And the wii.

    And the laptop isn't showing up because you have to have a card broadcasting in ad-hoc.

    Dreamcast Fan Fo Lyfe

  10. #9
    ciper's Avatar
    Member #
    22965
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    ▐▄█▀█▄▌
    Posts
    2,008
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    If you connect your computer directly to the ethernet cable for your internet what is the first three numbers of your Ip address?

  11. #10
    WiiChat Member johncf's Avatar
    Member #
    29065
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    8
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    how would i find that out young man

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search tags for this page

52230 wii code speedtouch

,

access point no default gateway ask4

,

how to connect wii u on ask4

,

my wii picks up access point but not internet

,

using laptop as adhoc connect for wii

,

wii 52230 login page

,

wii connect to ask4

,

wii connect to network with login page

,

wii connecting to a network with a login page

,

wii internet support

,

wii not connecting to network

,

wii picks up router but no internet

Click on a term to search for related topics.