LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Junior Member dutchinndj's Avatar
    Member #
    31181
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    Wireless Wii Problems

    Hey guys. I'm new here and I have a problem that Nintendo wasn't sure how to fix. I was wondering if any of you guys have experienced the same or similar problems.

    I'm using a Netgear WGR614 wireless router to connect my desktop and laptop to the Internet. My Wii picked up the router and connected no problem. However, whenever I use my Wii it kicks my other PCs offline. I'm not using them at the same time.

    For example, if I use my Wii to go online at 2:30 pm, I can't use my Internet on my desktop or laptop at 5:00pm. I have to go upstairs and reset the modem and router before I can use the other PCs online again.

    I have a sneaky suspicion that the Wii is reproducing the same IP address as the router but I'm not sure what to do about it and Nintendo input my information to a specialist that NEVER called me back.

    Sorry about the long post and thanks for your help!!!

  2. #2
    honesty is my only excuse FR3344LL's Avatar
    Member #
    24200
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    WV8
    Posts
    253
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by dutchinndj
    Hey guys. I'm new here and I have a problem that Nintendo wasn't sure how to fix. I was wondering if any of you guys have experienced the same or similar problems.

    I'm using a Netgear WGR614 wireless router to connect my desktop and laptop to the Internet. My Wii picked up the router and connected no problem. However, whenever I use my Wii it kicks my other PCs offline. I'm not using them at the same time.

    For example, if I use my Wii to go online at 2:30 pm, I can't use my Internet on my desktop or laptop at 5:00pm. I have to go upstairs and reset the modem and router before I can use the other PCs online again.

    I have a sneaky suspicion that the Wii is reproducing the same IP address as the router but I'm not sure what to do about it and Nintendo input my information to a specialist that NEVER called me back.

    Sorry about the long post and thanks for your help!!!
    how confident are you with manually configuring the router?

    the 614 has the ability to assign IP addresses (via DHCP) based on specific
    hardware (MAC) addresses.

    if you go into the LAN setup options, you could enter the Wii's MAC address
    ad reserve it an IP address (which you determine). this ensures that although
    the Wii is still set to obtain it's IP address automatically, the router will
    always give it the same address...
    Ste

  3. #3
    Junior Member dutchinndj's Avatar
    Member #
    31181
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    I'm not sure I could do that on my own. I just know enough to get me into trouble.

    Actually, I tried shutting down both computers, the Wii, the router and the modem and then turned them all back on and my Wii doesn't kick the other comptuers offline now. I guess it just needed resetting or someting...

    Anyways, thanks for the help!

  4. #4
    WiiChat Member Ryan450's Avatar
    Member #
    4916
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    15
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by dutchinndj
    I'm not sure I could do that on my own. I just know enough to get me into trouble.

    Actually, I tried shutting down both computers, the Wii, the router and the modem and then turned them all back on and my Wii doesn't kick the other comptuers offline now. I guess it just needed resetting or someting...

    Anyways, thanks for the help!
    Your router keeps a special reserve on its own address, its impossible for the wii to get assigned the routers IP address via DHCP.

    Now it could very well be getting the same IP address of the other machines on your network, however when a computer attempts to get back online it seeks out another IP address if theres a problem.

    Chances are your computer just wasnt requesting a new dhcp when it needed it.

    if it happens again, use this.

    start -> run -> cmd [enter]

    type ipconfig /release
    type ipconfig /renew

    this forces your computer to seek out the DHCP server on your router and requests a new number if the last one it used is no longer available.

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search tags for this page

cant use wii and laptop at the same time

,

cant use wii and mac at same time

,

how do you add a wii to a router so it doesnt kick my laptop off line

,

how to reset wii ip address

,

i have a netgear wireless router when im on the internet it kicks me off if the computer sees another network

,

issues using two wii on the same wireless router

,

release ip from wii

,

two wii's on the same ip address

,

why does the wii kick you offline

,

wii and laptop have same ip

,

wii and laptop have same ip howto fix

,

wii offline when other computer on

Click on a term to search for related topics.