LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    WiiChat Member snarloas's Avatar
    Member #
    31287
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    5
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    rangemax trouble please help im lost!

    ok lads iv got a rangemax wpnt834. im having serious problems getting my wii to connect at all wireless and i think im gonna go bald. the internet is working and my 360 works online. i cant seem to be able to connect or even see an acess point via the wii. im pretty new to the whole wireless stuff so could someone be a saint and help me.....

  2. #2
    honesty is my only excuse FR3344LL's Avatar
    Member #
    24200
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    WV8
    Posts
    253
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by snarloas
    ok lads iv got a rangemax wpnt834. im having serious problems getting my wii to connect at all wireless and i think im gonna go bald. the internet is working and my 360 works online. i cant seem to be able to connect or even see an acess point via the wii. im pretty new to the whole wireless stuff so could someone be a saint and help me.....
    i think a little more information is required...

    1. how are the other devices (pc/360) connected? wired or wirelessly?
    2. is the SSID radio broadcast disabled?
    3. what wireless "protocol" are you using? 802.11b(11Mbps) or 802.11g(54Mbps)?
    4. how far is the Wii situated from the netgear router?...reason i ask is that this particular router is quite poor at broadcasting over distance.

    if you could fill in a few gaps, we might be able to help.
    Ste

  3. #3
    WiiChat Member snarloas's Avatar
    Member #
    31287
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    5
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    1. wired
    2. no.
    3. tried all four of them
    4. about 15 meters away

  4. #4
    honesty is my only excuse FR3344LL's Avatar
    Member #
    24200
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    WV8
    Posts
    253
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    ok,

    is uPnP enabled?

    it seems strange that the Wii won't see the SSID broadcast, does it pick
    up any neighbouring wifi networks?

    have a look in your settings to see if there's anything out of the ordinary
    which could be preventing the Wii from connecting.....it could be that
    because the router is a "pre n" device, there could be a setting which
    might be able to be disabled to let "older" a/b or g wifi devices communicate.

    it could be that this particular router is not compatible with the Wii
    for some reason...there seems to be quite a few which won't work
    regardless of how they are configured.
    Ste

  5. #5
    WiiChat Member snarloas's Avatar
    Member #
    31287
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    5
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    upnp is enabled, there are no other wirless setups near me sorry, i just got this god damn thing and thought rangemaxs worked with the wii thought i was being smart by getting the 240 version. everything else is great though. what router should i be looking at if i cant get this to work

  6. #6
    honesty is my only excuse FR3344LL's Avatar
    Member #
    24200
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    WV8
    Posts
    253
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by snarloas
    upnp is enabled, there are no other wirless setups near me sorry, i just got this god damn thing and thought rangemaxs worked with the wii thought i was being smart by getting the 240 version. everything else is great though. what router should i be looking at if i cant get this to work
    lol

    before you spend any more money, have a look at Netgears KB (link) to see
    if there's any information regarding your router and the Wii.

    if you really can't get it working, there are other netgear models which
    will work fine with the Wii, e.g. 614 / 624 / 834 (not rangemax) series. obviously
    some are Cable based and some are ADSL.
    Ste

  7. #7
    WiiChat Member snarloas's Avatar
    Member #
    31287
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    5
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    with the models u gave me does it matter if its gt,dw or what ever all them codes in front of the numbers mean

  8. #8
    honesty is my only excuse FR3344LL's Avatar
    Member #
    24200
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    WV8
    Posts
    253
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by snarloas
    with the models u gave me does it matter if its gt,dw or what ever all them codes in front of the numbers mean
    the codes are basic descriptions for the type of router.

    as long as you get the correct "type" for your broadband connection
    it really won't matter.
    Ste

  9. #9
    Pain in the ass. OmegaForte's Avatar
    Member #
    31453
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    68
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    1862-1014-7263-2520
    Well, if the wii can't see the SSID, then you might be out of radio range, or the signal is being obstructed. Also, if you use your microwave alot and it's between the two, it'll literally kill the signal since the microwave's frequency is inconveniently 2.4ghz. Acts like a radio jammer. Check your locations with wifi sniffers, or whatnot. They're pretty cheap and quite invaluable to wireless setup. If you've got SSID broadcast on, make sure you're using WEP or WPA2 PSK. I don't know if it's my WRT54GX4 or not, but nothing will connect with WPA1/2 AES/TKIP without PSK enabled, and my ds won't even see it sometimes. If all else fails instead of getting a new wireless router, why not just get an access point? they're cheap and they can be used to piggyback a wired connection to wireless.
    *Insert wit here*

  10. #10
    Parrot Lover Chase&Fred's Avatar
    Member #
    31111
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Caught Somewhere in Time
    Posts
    151
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    8655-2652-5242-9777
    If your computer's firewall is on, that might cause problems too.

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts