LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Junior Member MonsterTy's Avatar
    Member #
    31926
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    2
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    Problems w/ Wii & Linksys WRT54G

    Hopefully someone out there has the answer I've been searching for. I've been trying to get my Wii online all day with no luck. Originally (this morining) I had a Linksys WRT54G v3.1 in place and spent several hours trying to get my Wii to connect through it with no luck at all. I've been on and off these forms nonstop, reading virtually every posy I could find that had any mention of the WRT54G in it to try and find an answer. On a ahim I decided since most of the posts I was reading were saying they had no problem at all with the WRT54G, I decided that perhaps I just needed a newer version. I ran into Best Buy and got a v8.0 and still can't get online.
    Before anyone throws the usual replies back at me, please be aware that I have tried everything suggested in here to attempt to remedy this. I've updated the firmware on both routers to the latest available version. I did this only after trying every channel w/o any type of security enabled on each router just to see if they would allow the connection. I figured after I got it working I could go back in and set up the security. I have even put the Wii in the DMZ on each router as well.
    I was able to move the Wii around in my living room a bit so that it would pick up a few other wi-fi's. I found one with a very weak signal, but was able toconnect to it, lol. How could it be that my routers are showing green and FULL signal strength, yet I am unable to connect? Any and all help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks for taking the time to read this extremely long cry for help.

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    WiiChat Member mym6's Avatar
    Member #
    14719
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    ND USA
    Posts
    342
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    I had a WRT54GS which pretty close to being the same. If nothing else works, try setting the router to the defaults and then changing the SSID to something unique and connecting without a password.

  4. #3
    Junior Member MonsterTy's Avatar
    Member #
    31926
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    2
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    Online at last!

    Finally got fed up w/ the v8.0 not working, so I went back to the v3.1 and started tinkering. After re-reading a couple of posts about DD-WRTv23, I decided to give it a shot. I guess that's really all it took in the end. I boosted the signal strength, but everything else was left the same. The Wii picked everything up by default and away I went.
    Funny how everyone seems to solve the problem w/ these routers in a slightly different way each time. At least it's working... for now. (fingers crossed). Anyway, thanks for putting all this information in one place. It's alot to read through when you're frustated as hell, but pays off in the end.

  5. #4
    WiiChat Member mym6's Avatar
    Member #
    14719
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    ND USA
    Posts
    342
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Funny, I was just about to come here and say I'd trade you straight up for your v3.1 Linksys for my known to work with the Wii Dlink DIR-615 Draft N router for the sole purpose of putting DD-WRT. DD-WRT was able to make my broken WRT54GS work again, well, a little better than it was anyway.

  6. #5
    Elite Player xVendettax's Avatar
    Member #
    32040
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Michigan(United States)
    Posts
    116
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    3257-3629-3771-6299
    I got the same router lol works great for me =) linksys WRT54G

  7. #6
    WiiChat Member Galby's Avatar
    Member #
    35423
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    7
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Funny you mention V8 not working. I bought a V8 and I lose all connection with both my Wii and PC over a period of time. The router is about to go back for the second time and I won't be coming back with a Linksys.

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search tags for this page

connecting wii to linksys wrt54g
,
linksys wii
,
linksys wrt54g wii
,

linksys wrt54g wii problems

,
wii and linksys wrt54g
,

wii linksys

,
wii linksys wrt54g
,
wrt54g
,
wrt54g v8 wii
,

wrt54g wii

,
wrt54g wii problems
,
wrt54gh wii
Click on a term to search for related topics.