LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    WiiChat Member Whoops's Avatar
    Member #
    33907
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    England
    Posts
    223
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    5231-0127-5051-6215

    Router "Problem"

    I kinda have a problem with my router it will work fine for hours and then suddenly a red light will show up where the internet symbol is and my connection will go down. I use XP internet diagnostic thing and all it tells me to do is turn off my router and check the cables i do this and it will work fine again for hours. But i cant understand why it dissconnects so suddenly.

    Any ideas will be great.


    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Mario Strikers: 116076 328448

    EA Persona: (FIFA 08) & (MOH:H2) Whoopsfire

  2. #2
    KryKidd Pikachu256's Avatar
    Member #
    28122
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Avondale, Arizona
    Posts
    788
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    What internet connection are you running and check if your firewall is blocking the connection.
    KryKidd


  3. #3
    WiiChat Member Whoops's Avatar
    Member #
    33907
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    England
    Posts
    223
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    5231-0127-5051-6215
    Just a standard 1 meg broadband. I thought about the Firewall but i couldnt see how it would be blocking it. I use Zone Alarm and always have and it never did it when i had my other modem connected up.


    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Mario Strikers: 116076 328448

    EA Persona: (FIFA 08) & (MOH:H2) Whoopsfire

  4. #4
    A li'l bit different Squall7's Avatar
    Member #
    89
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Cornwall, UK
    Posts
    1,743
    Friends
    4
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    8420-0141-9022-6948
    Sounds like either an automated switch-off, the router over-heating or an application that is designed to automatically switch on and do it's thing (kinda like a virus scan at pre-set times, only a virus scan wouldn't do that).

    I'd look into one of those theories. Obviously, the easiest one is the overheating, put the router (if possible) into a cooler area (shaded, out of the way of other electronics, especially radiators), see if that helps.


    Mail me if you want to add me on either the Wii or the 360.


  5. #5
    KryKidd Pikachu256's Avatar
    Member #
    28122
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Avondale, Arizona
    Posts
    788
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Contact your Internet Service Provider for this kind of problem it just might be you have a broken modem =/.

    BTW what kind of modem are you using linksys, Netgear? and please provide the model so I can help you with your problem I think I know how to solve it
    KryKidd


  6. #6
    WiiChat Member Whoops's Avatar
    Member #
    33907
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    England
    Posts
    223
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    5231-0127-5051-6215
    Its a belkin ADSL+2 modem with High Speed Mode Wireless G router. I dont know the actual model number sorry.


    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Mario Strikers: 116076 328448

    EA Persona: (FIFA 08) & (MOH:H2) Whoopsfire

  7. #7
    KryKidd Pikachu256's Avatar
    Member #
    28122
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Avondale, Arizona
    Posts
    788
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Have you tried updating all your Drivers?
    KryKidd


  8. #8
    WiiChat Member Whoops's Avatar
    Member #
    33907
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    England
    Posts
    223
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    5231-0127-5051-6215
    No it was kinda a stuggle just to get the thing to work correctly so i dont want to play about with it just incase. If i did update the drivers does it delete the settings ect... so i would have to connect it up again and everything?


    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Mario Strikers: 116076 328448

    EA Persona: (FIFA 08) & (MOH:H2) Whoopsfire

  9. #9
    KryKidd Pikachu256's Avatar
    Member #
    28122
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Avondale, Arizona
    Posts
    788
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    No Updating the drivers actually helps the system with more updated connectivity and stuff, No you do not have to install/Connect everything again.

    If you have windows check out windowsupdate.microsoft.com/

    BTW you have to use Internet Explorer Browser to go to that site.

    I would recommend Firefox browser + AD Blocker Plus for Regular Surfing the web
    KryKidd


  10. #10
    WiiChat Member Magus's Avatar
    Member #
    34782
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Florence, KY USA
    Posts
    19
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    4377-8177-5933-7263
    if you're using wireless, are you using your own personal web account or are you scalping from the neighbors?

    a better question to ask would be, do you even know?

    speaking in generalizations, usually when you hook up a wireless router, you have to search for connections before it hooks up to the internet...if it happens to find someone else's network before finding your own, it might have latched onto theirs instead, and if they were able to find that out, they could lock you out, making you think there's a problem...or it could be interference causing it to cut out like a cell phone...

    it could also very well be a firewall...a firewall's very nature is to keep things it doesn't recognize from coming in via data transfer (read: internet)...if you never told your firewall something along the lines of "hey...that router's cool, let it in, k?" then it might prevent it from networking right.

    so check your firewall, see if you have to set up something like a proxy or anything, and make sure it's nothing with software before you go springing for new hardware...

    best of luck!
    I never ask you to understand, I only ask you to believe.

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts