LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21

Thread: This Sucks

  1. #11
    WiiChat Member heymoe99's Avatar
    Member #
    37562
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Cleveland
    Posts
    378
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    a computer does not have to be hooked to a router for it to work, just helps alot to set one up.
    press and hold the reset button for 30 seconds to restore factory settings.

    for a linksys router:
    open your web browser (i.e. firefox, internet explorer, netscape ect.)
    type in the address bar 192.168.1.1
    username = " " (leave blank)
    password = "admin"

    can someone make a stickey of this or have they already?
    how to setup a router..

    there are manuals for routers too u know.. they have technical support for a reason.

  2. #12
    Waluigi's #1 Fan! FRuMMaGe's Avatar
    Member #
    8705
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    2,966
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    2482-6460-3144-9934
    Quote Originally Posted by heymoe99
    a computer does not have to be hooked to a router for it to work, just helps alot to set one up.
    press and hold the reset button for 30 seconds to restore factory settings.

    for a linksys router:
    open your web browser (i.e. firefox, internet explorer, netscape ect.)
    type in the address bar 192.168.1.1
    username = " " (leave blank)
    password = "admin"

    can someone make a stickey of this or have they already?
    how to setup a router..

    there are manuals for routers too u know.. they have technical support for a reason.
    You can configure a router using the Wii

    -=Join The Waluigi Fan Club=-

    Spoiler Alert!



    52 Members and still growing!


  3. #13
    Confiscation of the Mind iOwnage's Avatar
    Member #
    36069
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    538
    Friends
    1
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    8957-2822-1883-9918
    Quote Originally Posted by FRuMMaGe
    You can configure a router using the Wii
    no only on your computer


    =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
    Pain is Weakness Leaving the Body
    =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=


  4. #14
    WiiChat Member heymoe99's Avatar
    Member #
    37562
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Cleveland
    Posts
    378
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    might be able to on the wii's web browser if your hard lined to it.
    factory wireless is disabled (i think)
    it's easier w/a computer imo.

  5. #15
    Super Moderator RivalDestiny's Avatar
    WiiChat Writer
    WiiChat Moderator
    Member #
    8214
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,451
    Friends
    5
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    0409-5781-9484-0073
    You do understand some linksys routers do not work with the Wii's online connection.

    Xbox Live: RivalDestiny
    PSN: RivalDestiny
    Wii FC: 0409 5781 9484 0073

  6. #16
    Waluigi's #1 Fan! FRuMMaGe's Avatar
    Member #
    8705
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    England
    Posts
    2,966
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    2482-6460-3144-9934
    Quote Originally Posted by iOwnage
    no only on your computer
    No, all you do is connect to it with a web browser. ANY web browser.

    -=Join The Waluigi Fan Club=-

    Spoiler Alert!



    52 Members and still growing!


  7. #17
    WiiChat Member Maleko's Avatar
    Member #
    3295
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    150
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by FRuMMaGe
    No, all you do is connect to it with a web browser. ANY web browser.

    You are right ONLY, I repeat ONLY, if you are using a LAN adapter. Every single Linksys I have ever touched (I install, monitor and repair commercial WLAN and eth networks) has had the WLAN turned off by the factory.

    So yes, you can use the Wii to do the initial config your Linksys router, if your using an eth connection, but the OP problem relates the the wireless aspect, and no he can not do the initial configuration, from factory defaults, with his Wii. Once the Wii is setup and working on the WLAN however, you can then use the Wii to make any changes.

  8. #18
    wiiwii Dbomb3's Avatar
    Member #
    34907
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    San jose
    Posts
    500
    Friends
    2
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    6089-6603-3065-9651
    mmk... got it to work... thanks, (repped)

  9. #19
    WiiChat Member knoxbox's Avatar
    Member #
    16819
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Strawberry Plains, TN
    Posts
    79
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    2067-6457-2250-9081
    if he is using a linksys wrt54g just reset to factory defaults don't change anything, hope on ur wii it'll find it as linksys then just go to 192.168.1.1 from your wii browser, look for wireless and change the channel to 1 or 11 it'll browse much faster on these channels and this is also suggested by nintendo's website.
    and most wireless routers out of the box dont need any configuration to hook to the wii... now if ur worried about security or someone piggybacking off ur connection then yes check out the features and change the password.
    to much to list.

  10. #20
    WiiChat Member heymoe99's Avatar
    Member #
    37562
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Cleveland
    Posts
    378
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    mostly correct..

    most wireless routers out of the box do not have wireless enabled.
    it must be connected with a wire for it to work.

    some routers have a quick set-up button on the face of the router
    http://rds.yahoo.com/_ylt=A9G_bI_s1F...2520router.jpg

    on the left side of the router there's a button (it's the white thing in the pic)
    push that button, and tell the wii to synchronize with the router.

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts