LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21
  1. #11
    WiiChat Member Gwarzilla's Avatar
    Member #
    48155
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    8
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    I got probs too

    I can't connect my wii to the internet post change to WEp. When it asks for my key or password I type in the one I use to access the ssid but when I look at it iunder my settings only 5 characters appear when my password is longer that. Any suggestions?

  2. #12
    Got lifeboat? sremick's Avatar
    Member #
    27061
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Vermont, USA
    Posts
    1,130
    Friends
    25
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    0000-0000-0000-0000
    Quote Originally Posted by Gwarzilla
    I can't connect my wii to the internet post change to WEp. When it asks for my key or password I type in the one I use to access the ssid but when I look at it iunder my settings only 5 characters appear when my password is longer that. Any suggestions?
    Yes: Start your own thread for your issue. Don't hijack someone else's thread.
    Quote Originally Posted by Napalmbrain (Moderator)
    Even if we can somehow keeps this place moderated, eventually the webhosting is going to lapse or something like that, and I doubt i0n's going to be around to fix it. So basically I'm encouraging everyone to migrate over to Link Removed
    Quote Originally Posted by FR. (Moderator)
    i0n just lost interest in this website. And, since no forum can run without an administrator, this forum is basically doomed. Everyone might as well join somewhere else, because if i0n doesn't pay vBulletin, the site will shut down.

  3. #13
    Junior Member Taylorzzz's Avatar
    Member #
    54844
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    4
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    I am also having problems connecting my Wii to the internet through my D-Link DIR-615.
    Any help here would be greatly appreciated.
    My router shows up in the Wii when I search for access points.
    I select it, and enter my key but the connection test always fails.

    Any ideas?

  4. #14
    Got lifeboat? sremick's Avatar
    Member #
    27061
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Vermont, USA
    Posts
    1,130
    Friends
    25
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    0000-0000-0000-0000
    Quote Originally Posted by Taylorzzz
    Any ideas?
    Yes: read the post above yours that talked about hijacking others' threads.
    Quote Originally Posted by Napalmbrain (Moderator)
    Even if we can somehow keeps this place moderated, eventually the webhosting is going to lapse or something like that, and I doubt i0n's going to be around to fix it. So basically I'm encouraging everyone to migrate over to Link Removed
    Quote Originally Posted by FR. (Moderator)
    i0n just lost interest in this website. And, since no forum can run without an administrator, this forum is basically doomed. Everyone might as well join somewhere else, because if i0n doesn't pay vBulletin, the site will shut down.

  5. #15
    Junior Member Taylorzzz's Avatar
    Member #
    54844
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    4
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by sremick
    Yes: read the post above yours that talked about hijacking others' threads.
    Nothing like welcome to the Wii forums!

    Maybe you should read what I wrote...

    I have the identical router and identical issues. I was looking to see if the thread starter might be able to share if he has learned how to fix the problem.

    You need to relax! Would you rather I start an identical thread with my name on it?

  6. #16
    Got lifeboat? sremick's Avatar
    Member #
    27061
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Vermont, USA
    Posts
    1,130
    Friends
    25
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    0000-0000-0000-0000
    Quote Originally Posted by Taylorzzz
    I have the identical router and identical issues. I was looking to see if the thread starter might be able to share if he has learned how to fix the problem.
    If you truly have the identical issue, then you should be able to find the identical fix in any of the 1000s of other threads with this identical issue using the WiiChat search feature.

    If you have a different issue, then yes: start your own thread.

    But calling these issues "identical" is like saying "hey, your car doesn't start... my car doesn't start... we have the exact same problem!" when one person has a dead battery and the other is out of gas. The "issue" as posed is just as generic.
    Quote Originally Posted by Napalmbrain (Moderator)
    Even if we can somehow keeps this place moderated, eventually the webhosting is going to lapse or something like that, and I doubt i0n's going to be around to fix it. So basically I'm encouraging everyone to migrate over to Link Removed
    Quote Originally Posted by FR. (Moderator)
    i0n just lost interest in this website. And, since no forum can run without an administrator, this forum is basically doomed. Everyone might as well join somewhere else, because if i0n doesn't pay vBulletin, the site will shut down.

  7. #17
    Junior Member Taylorzzz's Avatar
    Member #
    54844
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    4
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by sremick
    If you truly have the identical issue, then you should be able to find the identical fix in any of the 1000s of other threads with this identical issue using the WiiChat search feature.

    If you have a different issue, then yes: start your own thread.

    But calling these issues "identical" is like saying "hey, your car doesn't start... my car doesn't start... we have the exact same problem!" when one person has a dead battery and the other is out of gas. The "issue" as posed is just as generic.
    Get a life!

  8. #18
    Homework! Bigred's Avatar
    Member #
    35349
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    297
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    I'm a little confused. So your Wii can detect your router, but not connect?

    I have/had a similar issue. My router is approx 3 rooms away, like yours. However, I get a very poor signal and a bad connection. I suggest that you move the wii closer, see if you still have the problem. Also, is your router set to use one of these (WEP, WPA and WPA2) types of security settings? My final idea is that your wii is just not compatible with your router...?
    SSBB FC: 1547-4946-7686
    A response to "Wii - DVD Compatible?"
    "I put a PS3 disc in it and the Wii wouldn't read it. WTF is this world coming to? If I buy a video game console, it better take and kind of media I want. Even if I were to dust off some of my vinyl LPs, the bastard better work."





  9. #19
    Junior Member Taylorzzz's Avatar
    Member #
    54844
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    4
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by Bigred
    I'm a little confused. So your Wii can detect your router, but not connect?

    I have/had a similar issue. My router is approx 3 rooms away, like yours. However, I get a very poor signal and a bad connection. I suggest that you move the wii closer, see if you still have the problem. Also, is your router set to use one of these (WEP, WPA and WPA2) types of security settings? My final idea is that your wii is just not compatible with your router...?

    BigRed,

    Yes, I am actually getting a strong signal from my router, however, when I perform the connection test, it just doesn't seem to want to connect. I was hoping that it was a simple router setting and since the person who started this thread has the same router I was hoping for that magic fix.
    Anyway, I just got in from FutureShop and purchased the LAN adapter which I am going to set-up now! Wish me luck!

  10. #20
    WiiChat Member Dr. Mom's Avatar
    Member #
    14769
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    62
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Sorry for not getting back earlier but I've been away for a while.
    As far as your router not connecting to the internet (i.e. failing the connection test) many routers are not compatable with the Wii as it 'comes out of the box'. Some of these issues have been addressed over the year with the system updates, in my case our Belkin originally wasn't compatable but after the 2nd system update of the Wii became compatable. You might have better luck after you update the system but if you can't connect at all it becomes a "Catch-22" situation.
    I use the Lan adapter since our Wii is at the ragged edge of the house wifi network and I've got empty flex tubing running in all the walls. I just snaked a Cat-5 from the router to the Lan adapter and it works like a charm even on the 'incompatable' routers. Give that a try and let us know how it works.

    Dr. Mom
    Meddle not in the affairs of dragons.
    Remember, you are crunchy and taste good with ketchup.

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search tags for this page

cannot connect wii to d-link
,
cant conect wii to nebors internet but can connect my laptop whats the prob
,
cant get wii on wifi
,
cant get wii to connect
,
i can't connect my wii to the internet
,
i cant connect my wii to the internet
,

why cant i connect my wii to the internet

,
why cant i connect wiiu to internet
,

why cant my wii connect to the internet

,
wii can't connect to router
,
wii u cant connect to internet
,
wii u cant connect to the internet
Click on a term to search for related topics.