LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Junior Member strawberry's Avatar
    Member #
    43064
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    4
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    is it possible to do this?

    im really sorry guys, this has probably been posted about a million times but i have spent ages searching and cannot find anything that really answers my question
    i dont have a wireless internet network at home and i dont want to set one up so i think, great, ill go buy myself a wifi connector thingy. problem is that they had sold out of them so i bought a usb network adapter thinking it would do the same thing. is there any way that i can set the adapter up to channel my broadband connection out of the computer and to the wii? i have already tried searching for a connection on the wii but it just comes up with a bunch of secure hotspots all over the place, not my adapter
    many thanks!

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    WiiChat Member heymoe99's Avatar
    Member #
    37562
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Cleveland
    Posts
    378
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    "usb network adapter"

    the LAN adapter or a generic WIFI adapter?

    either way should work

    the LAN adapter..
    you must have 2 ethernet cards/inputs on your pc
    run the network wizard and tell it other computers are connected to the internet through this computer.

    the WIFI adapter..
    should work (i stress SHOULD).
    just have to set it up properly (install drivers, set passwords, ect..)
    downfall, computer must be on in order for it to work.

  4. #3
    Junior Member strawberry's Avatar
    Member #
    43064
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    4
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    hmmm... I did try (its a wifi adapter) and nothing happened. I think I'm better off just taking it back and swapping it for a router - am I right in thinking that I just need to plug it into the modem and it should work fine?
    thanks very much by the way!

  5. #4
    WiiChat Member heymoe99's Avatar
    Member #
    37562
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Cleveland
    Posts
    378
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    if you have cable, you have to setup the router (MAC address must be cloned) and wireless password should be set

    sounds like you may have to setup the adapter. normally just plugging it into your computer isnt enough. did you get instructions with it?

  6. #5
    Junior Member strawberry's Avatar
    Member #
    43064
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    4
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    yeah but it just said plop in the cd and follow the steps on there, which was just installing the driver. at the moment im doing that network wizard thing that you suggested - i cant test it out at the moment (good film on telly!) but ill try connecting again asap and let you know

  7. #6
    WiiChat Member heymoe99's Avatar
    Member #
    37562
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Cleveland
    Posts
    378
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    if it doesnt work, try to get the latest drivers from the manufaturers website. i know it came with a cd, but they could have updated it between the time it left the factory and now.

  8. #7
    Junior Member strawberry's Avatar
    Member #
    43064
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    4
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    theres nothing new on the driver front
    i think i may have just bought the wrong thing- no new access points came up- after all, this thing is built to receive a signal, not send it
    anyway, the router i have found is the same price as the adapter, so itll be no trouble swapping it
    i dont know- all this technology!

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts