LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Junior Member ScottG1301's Avatar
    Member #
    47359
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    Wired Connection Question

    Hi there,

    Firstly, allow me to apologize if this question as probably be asked before.

    But is it possible to the Wii to my PC into the Eithernet Port on my PC if I buy the USB Apapter thing.

    Meaning i would be able to connect my Wii online using ICS the same way I do with my 360 and PS3?

    Thanks in advance

    Scott

  2. #2
    WiiChat Member tumi's Avatar
    Member #
    47252
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    26
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    6988-2365-1037-9846
    Yeah .. basically with ICS your just turning your machine into a router like if it was a linksys .. I believe you would have to use a x-over cable to get that to work as well .. whatever cable you are using with the Xbox or PS3 should work with the Wii.

  3. #3
    WiiChat Member tumi's Avatar
    Member #
    47252
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    26
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    6988-2365-1037-9846
    To take it even further .. if you get like a 4 port switch you can hook up your PC and all three consoles and have them all online at the same time .. Woot!

    **you would probably have to change your cables at that point to "striaght-thru" cables since you would be connecting to a "hub" device and not a "node" device**
    Last edited by tumi; 01-18-2008 at 01:08 PM.

  4. #4
    Junior Member jr28jr28's Avatar
    Member #
    47361
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    connect wii to hotmail emial

    Hi,

    I tried to check my msn email throught internet channel but the msn web site will not let me. Can any help?

    J

  5. #5
    Got lifeboat? sremick's Avatar
    Member #
    27061
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Vermont, USA
    Posts
    1,130
    Friends
    25
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    0000-0000-0000-0000
    It's more than just using a cross-over ethernet cable. You also need to manually configure a valid set of TCP/IP settings at both ends since without a router (which has a DHCP server) you're not getting a set of settings handed out automatically.

    Computer: 192.168.0.2
    Wii: 192.168.0.3
    Mask: 255.255.255.0
    Quote Originally Posted by Napalmbrain (Moderator)
    Even if we can somehow keeps this place moderated, eventually the webhosting is going to lapse or something like that, and I doubt i0n's going to be around to fix it. So basically I'm encouraging everyone to migrate over to Link Removed
    Quote Originally Posted by FR. (Moderator)
    i0n just lost interest in this website. And, since no forum can run without an administrator, this forum is basically doomed. Everyone might as well join somewhere else, because if i0n doesn't pay vBulletin, the site will shut down.

  6. #6
    WiiChat Member tumi's Avatar
    Member #
    47252
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    26
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    6988-2365-1037-9846
    He stated he was using ICS .. that acts as a DHCP server as well as a NAT device for source port translations

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Interne...ection_Sharing

  7. #7
    offical ssbb master acershot's Avatar
    Member #
    47373
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    70
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    0826-3639-6872-6792
    i have 2 questions. if u use a usb thing where woud u connect it?

    and can u buy an extention for the LAN adapter becuase my cpu is further then 6 feet from my wii...its about 9-11 feet away.

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts