LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Yes i am Amazing PwnMastr's Avatar
    Member #
    41035
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    behind you
    Posts
    140
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    0426-6072-0331-5294

    changing router channel

    will changing the channel of my router effect my laptop
    Spoiler Alert!


    thanks for the sig idjut
    MOH:H2 persona PwnMastr
    you think you can beat me in Brawl then try fc: 4167-4171-6395 name PwnMa
    dane cook once said
    no no no cheese extra bun seeds no bun seeds no no no yes no cheese extra pickles how much, cheese pickle extra pickles cheese bun seeds ice ...
    BK Lounge

  2. #2
    Andrew Kryten's Avatar
    Member #
    50377
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    67
    Friends
    2
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    No, the laptop will detect the channel automatically. It will momentarily lose the connection but then automatically reconnect on the new channel.

  3. #3
    Yes i am Amazing PwnMastr's Avatar
    Member #
    41035
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    behind you
    Posts
    140
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    0426-6072-0331-5294
    ok well i have a linksys and how would i change the channel
    Spoiler Alert!


    thanks for the sig idjut
    MOH:H2 persona PwnMastr
    you think you can beat me in Brawl then try fc: 4167-4171-6395 name PwnMa
    dane cook once said
    no no no cheese extra bun seeds no bun seeds no no no yes no cheese extra pickles how much, cheese pickle extra pickles cheese bun seeds ice ...
    BK Lounge

  4. #4
    Andrew Kryten's Avatar
    Member #
    50377
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    67
    Friends
    2
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by PwnMastr
    ok well i have a linksys and how would i change the channel
    It may vary from model to model but I configure mine by surfing to:

    http://192.168.1.1

    Enter the password (the default password is admin...you should change it to something else).

    Then click on the "Wireless" tab. The first page of wireless settings will have the channel. There are really only three channels which don't overlap each other: 1, 6, and 11.

    If you haven't set up wireless security, you really should. By default, your wireless network is open to the public. That means anyone near you can use your Internet connection as well as snoop on your unencrypted network traffic. I recommend using mode "WPA2 Personal" and algorithm "AES". The "shared key" you make up will be the password you enter into your laptop and Wii to access the wireless network. Technically, you should configure the wireless security settings using a network cable connection to your router rather than your existing wireless connection otherwise someone could see the shared key you enter. But they'd have to be snooping on you at that very moment so it's probably pretty unlikely. If you are using a wireless connection, you will lose it as soon as you save the security settings. To reconnect you'll need to configure your laptop with the new wireless security settings (WPA2 Personal, AES, and the shared key you made up).

    If you want to read more about this stuff, there are manuals in PDF format available for download from the Linksys web site (http://www.linksys.com/). Go to "technical support" and click "choose a product". Then choose "wireless routers". Once you finally navigate down to your model and version, download the "user guide". Is the Linksys web site a pain in the a** to navigate?

    Good luck and don't blame me if everything goes terribly wrong.

  5. #5
    Yes i am Amazing PwnMastr's Avatar
    Member #
    41035
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    behind you
    Posts
    140
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    0426-6072-0331-5294
    is there a way to have security without having to do a lot of stuff on the laptop its my dads not mine
    Last edited by PwnMastr; 03-16-2008 at 01:11 PM.
    Spoiler Alert!


    thanks for the sig idjut
    MOH:H2 persona PwnMastr
    you think you can beat me in Brawl then try fc: 4167-4171-6395 name PwnMa
    dane cook once said
    no no no cheese extra bun seeds no bun seeds no no no yes no cheese extra pickles how much, cheese pickle extra pickles cheese bun seeds ice ...
    BK Lounge

  6. #6
    Gaz
    Gaz is offline
    Poker Face :D Gaz's Avatar
    Member #
    10932
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    London / Plymouth
    Posts
    887
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    2042-8451-0487-7303
    you can hide the network on the router settings, but it just means that the average PC user won't be able to find your network, any one with a decent knowledge of wireless networks will be able to find it.

    for what reason are you changing the channel?
    Mac Expert.

  7. #7
    Yes i am Amazing PwnMastr's Avatar
    Member #
    41035
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    behind you
    Posts
    140
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    0426-6072-0331-5294
    my wii is far away from my linksys and there is too much interference
    Spoiler Alert!


    thanks for the sig idjut
    MOH:H2 persona PwnMastr
    you think you can beat me in Brawl then try fc: 4167-4171-6395 name PwnMa
    dane cook once said
    no no no cheese extra bun seeds no bun seeds no no no yes no cheese extra pickles how much, cheese pickle extra pickles cheese bun seeds ice ...
    BK Lounge

  8. #8
    Andrew Kryten's Avatar
    Member #
    50377
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    67
    Friends
    2
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    If the Wii is a long way from the Linksys, chances are changing the channel isn't going to help much, especially for online gaming (like SSBB). To get a rough idea of the wireless connection quality, run this command in a command window on the laptop and watch it for a while:

    ping -t 192.168.1.1

    The "time=" field tells you how many milliseconds it took to receive a response from the Linksys. If some packets get no response (lost) or if the times for a lot of them are large, that's going to translate into serious lag in an online game, on top of the lag which the Internet itself will add.

    If you press Ctrl-C to stop the command, it will tell you the minimum, maximum, and average response times as well as the number of packets which were lost. Here's an example for my network (my router's IP address is 192.168.3.1):

    Ping statistics for 192.168.3.1:
    Packets: Sent = 40, Received = 40, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 3ms, Average = 1ms

  9. #9
    Andrew Kryten's Avatar
    Member #
    50377
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    67
    Friends
    2
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    One more thing...if 100% of the ping packets are lost, that means the firewall software on the laptop is blocking ping responses (inbound ICMP). Changing the firewall software not to do that can be hairy and probably not something your dad would be thrilled about.

  10. #10
    Got lifeboat? sremick's Avatar
    Member #
    27061
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Vermont, USA
    Posts
    1,130
    Friends
    25
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    0000-0000-0000-0000
    Quote Originally Posted by PwnMastr
    is there a way to have security without having to do a lot of stuff on the laptop its my dads not mine
    Define "a lot".

    For any security, you need to put in more work. You can't have it both ways. Unless you want to pay someone to do the work for you. I have reasonable rates.

    Minimal security involves entering in a WPA key on the laptop for connecting to the router. Better security also involves enabling MAC address filtering on the router and putting the laptop's MAC address into the router.

    When it comes to security methods: WEP < WPA < WPA2. WEP is virtually useless at this point.... I'd buy a new router and wireless card before I used WEP, as it is easy to crack. Sometimes a router/card can support better encryption by upgrading the firmware/drivers. Otherwise you need a new one.
    Quote Originally Posted by Napalmbrain (Moderator)
    Even if we can somehow keeps this place moderated, eventually the webhosting is going to lapse or something like that, and I doubt i0n's going to be around to fix it. So basically I'm encouraging everyone to migrate over to Link Removed
    Quote Originally Posted by FR. (Moderator)
    i0n just lost interest in this website. And, since no forum can run without an administrator, this forum is basically doomed. Everyone might as well join somewhere else, because if i0n doesn't pay vBulletin, the site will shut down.

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search tags for this page

best router channel for wii

,

changing router channel

,
how do i change the channel on my wii internet
,
how to mcuh router channel in mac
Click on a term to search for related topics.