LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Junior Member bgtmartin's Avatar
    Member #
    55815
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    2
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    Wii and Linksys routers

    I have a Linksys router that allows for wireless internet in the house. Mostly it is used by the laptops, but we want to connect the Wii. So we connected the Wii to the wireless connection. It accepts the SSID and WPA key and seems to connect just fine. We were able to browse the shopping channel, forecast, news, etc. Did not browse the internet since we have to buy that channel first.

    BUT less than an hour of not browsing on the Wii the internet connection on the main desktop pc was unavailable. I had to reboot the pc and power down the router.

    Is there a current issue with Linksys routers and connecting to the Wii? Does it require a specific channel? I have read some forums that the issues seem to stem from the Wii Connect24.

    Please advise as I don't want to have to reboot all the time. THanks

  2. #2
    Junior Member bgtmartin's Avatar
    Member #
    55815
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    2
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    addt'l info

    not sure if it is a factor but my ISP is Time Warner Cable....

  3. #3
    Not Here Shadow*91's Avatar
    Member #
    55593
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Another site.
    Posts
    1,915
    Friends
    38
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    0000-0000-0000-0000
    no. see, Linksys is a somewhat crap connection for the wii. it will stop working occasionally without warning.
    i know. i'm on the internet channel through a Linksys router right now.


    my PS3 can't even link up to the router

  4. #4
    WiiChat Member sbarrett4's Avatar
    Member #
    55590
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    24
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    I have a Linksys router (WRT54G) that has been running without one issue for almost a year now. Never lost my connection to the Wii, even when I replaced my PC and reconnected the router to the new PC.

  5. #5
    WiiChat Member heymoe99's Avatar
    Member #
    37562
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Cleveland
    Posts
    378
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    unless you have a lot of things downloading and slowing down your internet, the wii connecting to the router SHOULD work fine. i notice if i'm doing a big download (like the CoD:WaW 1.1 patch), then the wii will not connect because of the pc taking up a big chunk of the bandwidth

    when it happens again, try to pin-point the problem (wii, pc, router, cable modem/internet)

    with your PC, try to connect to the router.
    open internet explorer or firefox or whatever web browser you use
    in the address bar put in "http://192.168.1.1" (without quotes)
    if it asks for username and password, then your router is fine.

    sometimes its good to have a pc hooked up hard line to the router to make sure it is working. i think the default setting for being able to connect to the routers settings is OFF.

    make sure all the proper lights are lit on the cable modem.
    if not, shut off/unplug everything
    wait 1 min.
    then turn on in this order:
    cable modem (wait till it connects to internet)
    router
    pc

    also try looking into MAC cloneing. cable USUALLY requires the correct MAC address to connect to the internet.

    just trying to give you some ideas...
    Last edited by heymoe99; 02-04-2009 at 03:09 PM.

  6. #6
    WiiChat Member heymoe99's Avatar
    Member #
    37562
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Cleveland
    Posts
    378
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    sorry for double post, but you wouldnt see it if i just edited my post.

    which linksys router do you have??? which version is it???
    i have a bricked WRT54G v5(used to be my girlfriends)
    in all the reasearch i did last night while trying to fix this one, i found out that this exact one i have is the worst one out there. it has big problems with it's firmware.

    linksys is far from bad. you do occasionally get a turd in the bunch..

  7. #7
    Junior Member djdowell's Avatar
    Member #
    56207
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    4
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    We have a Linksys router and have had no problems. We have wireless laptops, 2 DirectTV hardcable connections, and 2 desktop pc's hardwire connections plus the one Wii. All our 5 connections are filled.

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search tags for this page

connecting wii linksys router
,

connecting wii to linksys router

,
how to connect the internet using wii linksys
,
how to connect wii to the internet wireless router
,
is a linksys router compatible with the wii
,
linksys e2000 nintendo wii
,

linksys router for wii

,
linksys router wii problem
,

wii internet connection linksys

,
wii internet connection problems linksys
,

wii internet linksys

,
wii linksys router
Click on a term to search for related topics.