LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 19 of 19
  1. #11
    WiiChat Member golfisfun's Avatar
    Member #
    57457
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    100
    Friends
    1
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by jlspec View Post
    Just head on over to your local electronic store and buy your self a wireless router. A good and cheap unit is the Netgear WRG614 at bestbuy for $39.99. First off answer these questions of first.

    1) When going onto the net on your computer, does your school ask for a user name and password when you open your browser?

    2) Where you require to give the school IT your MAC address or are you able to connect a different computer to the same port if you were to disconnect it from your computer?
    Why would i buy a Wireless Router? I am not aloud to have it in my room hooked up to the internet, i tryed that with wired router and even my school PC would not connect to the internet being pluged into the router.

    1. No
    2. Yes i had to give it my MAC addy on my PC
    Game Want List

    New Super Mario Bros Wii
    Rockband 2
    Mario Super Sluggers VC Wants
    TMNT Smash Up TMNT2 DK64 SMK
    Silent Hill Shattered Memories
    DJ Hero
    Resident Evil Darkside Chronicels
    Resident Evil Archives: Resident Evil 0
    Super Mario Galaxy 2

  2. #12
    WiiChat Member jlspec's Avatar
    Member #
    4012
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    308
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    6920-9646-7256-3871
    Your answer on number 2 explains why your router didn't work. You need to contact your schools IT and give them the router mac address. What happened is that your school is filtering all connected devices through the mac address and currently only your PC is given to them. Once you update your MAC address to your router, all internet traffic will go through that unit. From then on your computer and all other devices will connect to the router. If you ever want to update your router or remove it you'll need to contact your schools IT with the updated mac address of what ever device you'll be plugging into the ethernet jack.

    Think of the mac address as a finger print. Every single device on this planet with a data connection either it be wireless or wired will have a differnet mac address and none will ever be the same.
    Last edited by jlspec; 04-20-2010 at 03:43 PM.

  3. #13
    WiiChat Member golfisfun's Avatar
    Member #
    57457
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    100
    Friends
    1
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by jlspec View Post
    Your answer on number 2 explains why your router didn't work. You need to contact your schools IT and give them the router mac address. What happened is that your school is filtering all connected devices through the mac address and currently only your PC is given to them. Once you update your MAC address to your router, all internet traffic will go through that unit. From then on your computer and all other devices will connect to the router. If you ever want to update your router or remove it you'll need to contact your schools IT with the updated mac address of what ever device you'll be plugging into the ethernet jack.

    Think of the mac address as a finger print. Every single device on this planet with a data connection either it be wireless or wired will have a differnet mac address and none will ever be the same.
    Sadly after checking with my IT dept i am not aloud to have a Router in my room.

    Edit: I have one more question, Is there anyway to be able to do a ICS setup like i do for my 360 to use it online? I have my 360 pluged into my PC and i just use the schools wireless so i can have internet for both. If i plug the Wii into my PC can i do the same thing?

    Edit2: I was wondering also my friend over at the other college 2 miles away from mine has a sign in proxy. He said if i brought my Wii over and we changed the MAC address on the PC to the Wiis it would connect to his schools wireless network. Is that true?
    Last edited by golfisfun; 04-21-2010 at 08:54 AM.
    Game Want List

    New Super Mario Bros Wii
    Rockband 2
    Mario Super Sluggers VC Wants
    TMNT Smash Up TMNT2 DK64 SMK
    Silent Hill Shattered Memories
    DJ Hero
    Resident Evil Darkside Chronicels
    Resident Evil Archives: Resident Evil 0
    Super Mario Galaxy 2

  4. #14
    WiiChat Member jlspec's Avatar
    Member #
    4012
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    308
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    6920-9646-7256-3871
    You shouldn't have told them that it was a router but oh well.

    At your friends school, if you were to update the mac address within the schools IP with the Wii then you'll be fine. You'll also need to know the proxy address as you'll need to enter that within the network setup.

  5. #15
    WiiChat Member golfisfun's Avatar
    Member #
    57457
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    100
    Friends
    1
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Ok so i guess ill try it at my friends school, do you mind if i send u a couple screenshots? Also which MAC addy so i need to change? My wiis or the PC we are going to use?
    Game Want List

    New Super Mario Bros Wii
    Rockband 2
    Mario Super Sluggers VC Wants
    TMNT Smash Up TMNT2 DK64 SMK
    Silent Hill Shattered Memories
    DJ Hero
    Resident Evil Darkside Chronicels
    Resident Evil Archives: Resident Evil 0
    Super Mario Galaxy 2

  6. #16
    WiiChat Member jlspec's Avatar
    Member #
    4012
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    308
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    6920-9646-7256-3871
    You'll want to update/change the Mac address at your friends school from his PC to your Nintendo Wii. Afterwards when your setting up the connection settings within the Wii, you'll be prompted for a porxy server address which you'll have to enter.

  7. #17
    WiiChat Member golfisfun's Avatar
    Member #
    57457
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    100
    Friends
    1
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by jlspec View Post
    You'll want to update/change the Mac address at your friends school from his PC to your Nintendo Wii. Afterwards when your setting up the connection settings within the Wii, you'll be prompted for a porxy server address which you'll have to enter.
    Yeah i have the address.....hang on ill post a couple screen shots
    Game Want List

    New Super Mario Bros Wii
    Rockband 2
    Mario Super Sluggers VC Wants
    TMNT Smash Up TMNT2 DK64 SMK
    Silent Hill Shattered Memories
    DJ Hero
    Resident Evil Darkside Chronicels
    Resident Evil Archives: Resident Evil 0
    Super Mario Galaxy 2

  8. #18
    WiiChat Member golfisfun's Avatar
    Member #
    57457
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    100
    Friends
    1
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Game Want List

    New Super Mario Bros Wii
    Rockband 2
    Mario Super Sluggers VC Wants
    TMNT Smash Up TMNT2 DK64 SMK
    Silent Hill Shattered Memories
    DJ Hero
    Resident Evil Darkside Chronicels
    Resident Evil Archives: Resident Evil 0
    Super Mario Galaxy 2

  9. #19
    WiiChat Member jlspec's Avatar
    Member #
    4012
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    308
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    6920-9646-7256-3871
    That's the require sign in to log onto the net. If your friends school does that then the Wii won't be able to connect.

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. 1v1 brawl league
    By JonRyan in forum Smash Brothers
    Replies: 3828
    Last Post: 11-07-2012, 12:56 PM
  2. Guides: How to Get Your Wii Online
    By castlezelda in forum Nintendo Wii Online
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-25-2010, 05:43 AM
  3. Need to connect a Wii through a laptop.
    By vetten1952 in forum Nintendo Wii Online
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-29-2009, 12:26 PM
  4. Internet works, server works, can't connect to players...
    By Pinko in forum Nintendo Wii Online
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-18-2007, 04:39 PM

Search tags for this page

52220 wii error
,
52220 wii error code
,
connect wii to internet
,
error code 52220 nintendo wii
,
error code 52220 wii
,
why wont my wii connect to the internet wired
,
wii 52220
,

wii error 52220

,

wii error code 52220

,
wii will not connect to wired internet
,
wii wont allow me to connect wired
,

wii wont connect to wired internet

Click on a term to search for related topics.