LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1
    WiiChat Member golfisfun's Avatar
    Member #
    57457
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    100
    Friends
    1
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    Cant Connect My Wii To Internet WIRED

    Alright so here is the issue i bought this monday at Best Buy

    http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Rocketfi...=Wii&cp=1&lp=3

    I'm at a small commuinty college in northern maine and this school will only allow us one item on the wireless network. So i had to use my laptop for that connection and i only have one jack in my room so i had to have my desktop hooked up to that. I bought this hoping i can connect myself to the internet with it for my Wii.

    I just hooked up my laptop cause i figured i could bridge the connection like i have to do with my 360 to be able to use my xbox online which works. When i was setting up my wired connection i got this error

    Wii Error Code 52730 - 52732

    This error is caused by a device in your network trying to access the same IP address as the Wii console.


    Any ideas what my next step should be to correct this?
    Game Want List

    New Super Mario Bros Wii
    Rockband 2
    Mario Super Sluggers VC Wants
    TMNT Smash Up TMNT2 DK64 SMK
    Silent Hill Shattered Memories
    DJ Hero
    Resident Evil Darkside Chronicels
    Resident Evil Archives: Resident Evil 0
    Super Mario Galaxy 2

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    redneck E redneck E's Avatar
    Member #
    59881
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Dexter, Michigan
    Posts
    322
    Friends
    16
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    5273-9078-3043-9505
    Did you choose Wired in your internet settings which is located on the Wii menu?

    PS3 > sparty4life82976

  4. #3
    WiiChat Member golfisfun's Avatar
    Member #
    57457
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    100
    Friends
    1
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    yes i did
    Game Want List

    New Super Mario Bros Wii
    Rockband 2
    Mario Super Sluggers VC Wants
    TMNT Smash Up TMNT2 DK64 SMK
    Silent Hill Shattered Memories
    DJ Hero
    Resident Evil Darkside Chronicels
    Resident Evil Archives: Resident Evil 0
    Super Mario Galaxy 2

  5. #4
    WiiChat Member golfisfun's Avatar
    Member #
    57457
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    100
    Friends
    1
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    http://img94.imageshack.us/i/dsci0096ig.jpg/
    http://img714.imageshack.us/i/dsci0097l.jpg/
    http://img714.imageshack.us/i/dsci0098i.jpg/

    Here are photos, my friend said i could use a hub to connect with but i keep getting error 52220
    Game Want List

    New Super Mario Bros Wii
    Rockband 2
    Mario Super Sluggers VC Wants
    TMNT Smash Up TMNT2 DK64 SMK
    Silent Hill Shattered Memories
    DJ Hero
    Resident Evil Darkside Chronicels
    Resident Evil Archives: Resident Evil 0
    Super Mario Galaxy 2

  6. #5
    WiiChat Member jlspec's Avatar
    Member #
    4012
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    308
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    6920-9646-7256-3871
    A Hub will not work as your school DHCP server is assign to give only one IP address to your room. You'll need to get a Switch or a wireless router and have that unit connected to your ethernet port. From there connect your Wii/Computer/Xbox and what ever item you want to the switch or Wireless router. If your school requires a user name and password to login everytime then your out of luck unless you ask your School Information Technology Department.

    Note: Your link does not work.

  7. #6
    Junior Member toastyduck's Avatar
    Member #
    45093
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    You don't need a wireless ap, a switch or a router. Google something called ICS or internet connection sharing. This will work just fine for you. The only requirement is that the pc in question needs to have 2 nic's. Without that its not going to work. (most pc's within the past 5 years have 2 nics on the motherboard)

  8. #7
    WiiChat Member golfisfun's Avatar
    Member #
    57457
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    100
    Friends
    1
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    checked with IT i cant have a HUB in my room. A ICS?
    Game Want List

    New Super Mario Bros Wii
    Rockband 2
    Mario Super Sluggers VC Wants
    TMNT Smash Up TMNT2 DK64 SMK
    Silent Hill Shattered Memories
    DJ Hero
    Resident Evil Darkside Chronicels
    Resident Evil Archives: Resident Evil 0
    Super Mario Galaxy 2

  9. #8
    WiiChat Member jlspec's Avatar
    Member #
    4012
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    308
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    6920-9646-7256-3871
    A Hub will not work as it does not assign IP address. Think of it as a smart spliter. Only a switch or router will work. Forgot to mention but only a layer 2 switch. Think of your school as your internet service provider. They will assign you a IP address which will become your layer 2 switch or router. Now when you connect your Xbox, wii, and computer to the layer 2 switch or router it will be getting thier IP address from the switch/router. The internet in which your school provides will be given to the switch/router then it will be passed on over to your internet connected devices. Your school system will only see the layer 2 switch/router.

  10. #9
    WiiChat Member golfisfun's Avatar
    Member #
    57457
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    100
    Friends
    1
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by jlspec View Post
    A Hub will not work as it does not assign IP address. Think of it as a smart spliter. Only a switch or router will work. Forgot to mention but only a layer 2 switch. Think of your school as your internet service provider. They will assign you a IP address which will become your layer 2 switch or router. Now when you connect your Xbox, wii, and computer to the layer 2 switch or router it will be getting thier IP address from the switch/router. The internet in which your school provides will be given to the switch/router then it will be passed on over to your internet connected devices. Your school system will only see the layer 2 switch/router.
    What do i need to buy to do that?
    Game Want List

    New Super Mario Bros Wii
    Rockband 2
    Mario Super Sluggers VC Wants
    TMNT Smash Up TMNT2 DK64 SMK
    Silent Hill Shattered Memories
    DJ Hero
    Resident Evil Darkside Chronicels
    Resident Evil Archives: Resident Evil 0
    Super Mario Galaxy 2

  11. #10
    WiiChat Member jlspec's Avatar
    Member #
    4012
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    308
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    6920-9646-7256-3871
    Just head on over to your local electronic store and buy your self a wireless router. A good and cheap unit is the Netgear WRG614 at bestbuy for $39.99. First off answer these questions of first.

    1) When going onto the net on your computer, does your school ask for a user name and password when you open your browser?

    2) Where you require to give the school IT your MAC address or are you able to connect a different computer to the same port if you were to disconnect it from your computer?

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. 1v1 brawl league
    By JonRyan in forum Smash Brothers
    Replies: 3828
    Last Post: 11-07-2012, 12:56 PM
  2. Guides: How to Get Your Wii Online
    By castlezelda in forum Nintendo Wii Online
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-25-2010, 05:43 AM
  3. Need to connect a Wii through a laptop.
    By vetten1952 in forum Nintendo Wii Online
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-29-2009, 12:26 PM
  4. Internet works, server works, can't connect to players...
    By Pinko in forum Nintendo Wii Online
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-18-2007, 04:39 PM

Search tags for this page

52220 wii error
,
52220 wii error code
,
connect wii to internet
,
error code 52220 nintendo wii
,
error code 52220 wii
,
why wont my wii connect to the internet wired
,
wii 52220
,

wii error 52220

,

wii error code 52220

,
wii will not connect to wired internet
,
wii wont allow me to connect wired
,

wii wont connect to wired internet

Click on a term to search for related topics.