LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Junior Member Incogneato's Avatar
    Member #
    72177
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    2
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    New here... I am trying to connect my Wii to my cable modem and have the LAN adapter

    but not the one by Nintendo. It didn't come with the CD and i bought it from Amazon. This may be the first time an other party on amazon has screwed me over. I am not sure if the wi fi LAN is the culprit quite yet though. I know it's not my ethernet cable. Two cables have been tested and work fine. I keep getting that infamous error code that starts with 54... and i have no idea what else it could be besides the LAN. Before you say get a wireless, it's easier, some of us can't just run out and spend money willy nilly on every little thing we need. I want to eventually get a wireless router , but for now can anyone help me with THIS issue at hand. Thank you in advance for any help! OH, also...I am running Windows Vista and i don't think I have the update. Could that be the problem??
    Last edited by Incogneato; 05-15-2010 at 02:45 PM.

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    Banned Bebel130's Avatar
    Member #
    69974
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Your girl's bed at night
    Posts
    90
    Friends
    5
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    0000-0000-0000-0000
    its best to stick with nintendo

  4. #3
    WiiChat Member jlspec's Avatar
    Member #
    4012
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    308
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    6920-9646-7256-3871
    Vista has nothing to do with the LAN adaptor as that is part of the computer and not the Wii.

    After you have connected the devices, make sure to set the Wii internet connection to the LAN (ethernet setting). You might want to also set the Wii with a static IP and use openDNS and set the MTU to Auto (zero) for better connection. If you need help with setting these up just let me know router you are using.

    Note: If you have access to ethernet connection then use that instead of wireless.

  5. #4
    WiiChat Member illmasaki's Avatar
    Member #
    19293
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    nyc
    Posts
    375
    Friends
    1
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    im not sure i understand your set up but just to clarify lemme ask u if this is how u have it set up

    the ethernet wire should b connected to the cable modem or a router. the other end of the ethernet wire should plug into the lan adapter. which is then connected into the wii it self.

    also do what jlspec said and check ur wii settings

    yes ethernet is better then wireless.

    nintendo discontinued their lan adapter so they are harder to come by so most available are not nintendo made.

    no cd needed and u have vista is not important and updates are not needed either


    if the ethernet wire that connects from router or cable modem to the computer has inernet useing the same ethernet wire into the lan adapter to the wii doesnt work it may very well be a defective lan adapter

    not sure what service u have but if u dont have a router do u need to enter a user name and password to log onto the internet?

  6. #5
    Junior Member theatre's Avatar
    Member #
    72598
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    2
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Can anyone help? Do you have to run an ethernet cable under my floor from the garage to the upstairs to hook my wii up to the internet upstairs?

  7. #6
    WiiChat Member jlspec's Avatar
    Member #
    4012
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    308
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    6920-9646-7256-3871
    The best way is to set up a ethernet network within your house, but from you post Im guessing you don't no where to start. Also it will cost more, so might as well forget it. Your best bet would just to go wireless.

  8. #7
    Junior Member theatre's Avatar
    Member #
    72598
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    2
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    What was the point of that response?

  9. #8
    WiiChat Member jlspec's Avatar
    Member #
    4012
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    308
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    6920-9646-7256-3871
    What I was saying is that instead of just running a cord to your room, might as well setup a complete network for your house, but since your asking for help in doing that I assume your not too good at wiring so might as well go wireless for an eaiser setup.

  10. #9
    WiiChat Member illmasaki's Avatar
    Member #
    19293
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    nyc
    Posts
    375
    Friends
    1
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by theatre View Post
    Can anyone help? Do you have to run an ethernet cable under my floor from the garage to the upstairs to hook my wii up to the internet upstairs?
    if u want a wired connection yes!

    if u want to have a wireless solution u may consider getting a product like as a range extender which will amplify a router if its 2 far.

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search tags for this page

can i hook my wii to a y eithernet cable

,

can my internet cord go into my wii

,

ethernet cable into the wii

,

how to connect lan to wii

,

how to hook cable modem to wii

,

how to hook my modem to my wii

,

how to hook wii up to my modem

,

i have connected my wii using a lan adapter to a modem

,

what cord do i need for wii to modem

,

what cord do i need to hook my wii to modem

,

where to connect the internet cable on a wii

,

wii cables needed for modem

Click on a term to search for related topics.