LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 35
  1. #1
    WiiChat Member jvc_man's Avatar
    Member #
    6935
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    19
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    Wireless Network Card - how to make it connect!

    Hello!

    I have a Wireless Network Card (Accton PCI 802.11b/g adapter WN4201B).
    It works fine with my Pinnacle Mediacenter but not with me lovely new Wii-console. When I connect my Wireless network to the Pinnacle (starta the Mediabox) the Wireless network is on - not otherwice. And then - if I search for a Wireless Network connection with my Wii-console it will be found, but when I test it following appears: "Error: 51030 - Unable to find an access point. Please confirm the SSID and try again". I have checked the information on my computer about the network and all the data is correct on the Wii. The SSID is correct. But if I add a ip (insteed of automatic) I have to add routher id - don't know what that is and some other values that I don't know. I do know the ip, and mask..
    But the thing is, when I don't have my Pinnacle Mediabox on - I can't find any Wireless networks on my computer when searching - and therefore the Wii can't find the signal. And if the settings may be correct - the test will not be good because there is no signal... What can I do to make this work??
    I was soooo happy when I got my Wii but now I just want it to work with the internet...
    Also: I have to network cards, one wired (the real internet-connection that goes to a router) and one Wireless card that I have for Mediabox and Wii.

    Hope that someone can help me!!!
    Thanks!

    /Björn

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    ₪ ۩ ₪ vagrant's Avatar
    Member #
    2707
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa
    Posts
    3,249
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    8573-5327-9660-0097
    If you are trying to use your computer as an access point, you would need the non wireless nic card wired, and then use the wireless network card as an access point.

    Dreamcast Fan Fo Lyfe

  4. #3
    WiiChat Member jvc_man's Avatar
    Member #
    6935
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    19
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Hello!

    How does I make that happend??
    The non-wireless network card has a internetcabel linked from a routher that is connected to the internet. What is a "non wireless NIC card"?

    Grateful for a solution!! Thanks!
    Hope you will reply again!

    /Björn

  5. #4
    ₪ ۩ ₪ vagrant's Avatar
    Member #
    2707
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa
    Posts
    3,249
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    8573-5327-9660-0097
    Quote Originally Posted by jvc_man
    Hello!

    How does I make that happend??
    The non-wireless network card has a internetcabel linked from a routher that is connected to the internet. What is a "non wireless NIC card"?

    Grateful for a solution!! Thanks!
    Hope you will reply again!

    /Björn
    I don't understand some of the lingo you are using. Where are you from exactly?

    And if you are using a wireless router, you just connect to it from your wii.

    Dreamcast Fan Fo Lyfe

  6. #5
    WiiChat Member jvc_man's Avatar
    Member #
    6935
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    19
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Hello again! =)

    I'm from Sweden, the country that only got 5 000 Wii consoles!
    I don't have a wireless router, just the wireless networkcard. In my computer there is two network cards, one with the linked (non-wireless) internet that comes from a router (that is in another building) and one wireless network card that I should be able to us with my Wii.

    The problem is that the computer (wireless network) can't find the Wii and the Wii can't find the computer unless I have activated the wireless network throught my Mediabox. Then the Wii can find the computer but the test gives me following error: "Error: 51030 - Unable to find an access point. Please confirm the SSID and try again".

    Thanks!!!

    Greetings Björn

  7. #6
    ₪ ۩ ₪ vagrant's Avatar
    Member #
    2707
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa
    Posts
    3,249
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    8573-5327-9660-0097
    You have to make sure the wireless card is setup in ad-hoc mode and that it is broadcasting SSID

    Dreamcast Fan Fo Lyfe

  8. #7
    WiiChat Member jvc_man's Avatar
    Member #
    6935
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    19
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Hello!

    It should be on ad-hoc and it is broadcasting the SSID (the Wii finds the information when it is linked with the Mediabox). But now when I'm looking on all the settings, I can't find the ad-hoc mode - where can I find that?
    But should'nt it be on? It works with the Mediabox...

    I have tried all different settings and things - this feels like it's out of my league, hehe!

    Thanks!!


    Greetings Björn

  9. #8
    ₪ ۩ ₪ vagrant's Avatar
    Member #
    2707
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa
    Posts
    3,249
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    8573-5327-9660-0097
    What do you mean by "mediabox"?

    Dreamcast Fan Fo Lyfe

  10. #9
    WiiChat Member jvc_man's Avatar
    Member #
    6935
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    19
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    http://www.pinnaclesys.com/PublicSit...Center+200.htm

    Pinnacle Showcenter Digital Media Center.

    Thanks!

    Greetings Björn

  11. #10
    ₪ ۩ ₪ vagrant's Avatar
    Member #
    2707
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa
    Posts
    3,249
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    8573-5327-9660-0097
    Quote Originally Posted by jvc_man
    http://www.pinnaclesys.com/PublicSit...Center+200.htm

    Pinnacle Showcenter Digital Media Center.

    Thanks!

    Greetings Björn
    Well it should act just like an access point. I would suggest reading the manual on setting it up.

    If you can't get it to work, it just might not work period with the Wii. Although I think someone else posted that they were using the same thing and it worked.

    Dreamcast Fan Fo Lyfe

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. can i use a sprint mobile data card to connect?
    By Sputt in forum Nintendo Wii Online
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-19-2009, 09:30 AM
  2. How do I connect my at&t connect card to the wii?
    By druboy1 in forum Nintendo Wii Online
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-28-2009, 08:08 PM
  3. is a certain SD card needed? i hear it effects wireless
    By iamspanky in forum Nintendo Wii Hardware
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 12-20-2006, 01:19 PM
  4. Make your own Wireless Sensor Bar!
    By Samster in forum Nintendo Wii Chat
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 11-23-2006, 11:11 AM
  5. HELP I NEED Answers people
    By reggie_tate2000 in forum Introduce Yourself
    Replies: 40
    Last Post: 11-15-2006, 05:22 AM

Search tags for this page

confirm the ssid and try again
,
how do i connect my network card
,
how to make nic for wii
,

how to make wii wireless

,
how to use wireless card with wii
,
my wii searches for an access point but brings up code error # 51030
,
please confirm the ssid and try again
,
unable to find access point error code 51030
,
unable to find an access point, please confirm the ssid wii
,

wii wireless card

,

wii wireless network card

,
wii wireless nic
Click on a term to search for related topics.