LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
  1. #1
    Junior Member Septimus's Avatar
    Member #
    7371
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    2
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    System Update Problem

    So, I finally got my Wii on the net, and it started doing it's automatic system upgrade. It did the first update, then it restarted and started on the second update. At this point, it froze at around 40% done, and I reset it, to try again.

    I soon figured this didn't help, and started checking into the problem.

    I had my laptop ping my AP, and my Wii, and I saw that only my Wii lost its net. I then proceeded to see what happened with the AP when my Wii stopped responding to ping, and the download froze. I saw that it lost its IP. Now, that's rather strange, seen how it's set to static IP. And I wouldn't really think there's something wrong with the net, since I did get it through the first update without any problems.

    The AP's a Cisco 1100.

    I managed to get it out of the update loop it was stuck in, by depriving it of its net, and then I formated the memory, but that didn't remove the update as I had hoped. Even after format, the problem was still present.

    Any suggestions, anyone seen a simular problem? I've figured I'm gonna test it tomorrow at a friend's, by bringing me Wii to him, and trying to update it on his net, since he's been able to update it. Nintendo suggested sending me a replacement console that was preupdated.

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    Junior Member Zymurgist's Avatar
    Member #
    8940
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    The AP's a Cisco 1100.
    I have the same problem with a Cisco 1200 AP. What IOS are you using? I am currently at 12.2(13)JA4, which I know is low.

  4. #3
    Junior Member Septimus's Avatar
    Member #
    7371
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    2
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    I tried with an 1130, too. The IOS there's

    c1130-k9w7-tar.123-8.JA2

    and I had the latest for the 1100.


    I've given up on them, and I'll have to try with an home router thing. It's not my Wii, since I was able to upgrade it at a friend's.

  5. #4
    WiiChat Member Tristo's Avatar
    Member #
    7623
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    26
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    2581-5457-0652-4659
    Could be a firewall or other protection settings guys.
    Forum username: Tristo
    Wii Friend Code: 2581-5457-0652-4659
    Wii Username: Tristan

    Please add me.

  6. #5
    Banned ToadIsDoingMagicMushrooms's Avatar
    Member #
    6019
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Northern Ireland - Co. Down
    Posts
    851
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    8263-8201-5467-9061
    And your Wii won't work now?

  7. #6
    Junior Member papacorn's Avatar
    Member #
    9727
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by Septimus
    So, I finally got my Wii on the net, and it started doing it's automatic system upgrade. It did the first update, then it restarted and started on the second update. At this point, it froze at around 40% done, and I reset it, to try again.

    I soon figured this didn't help, and started checking into the problem.

    I had my laptop ping my AP, and my Wii, and I saw that only my Wii lost its net. I then proceeded to see what happened with the AP when my Wii stopped responding to ping, and the download froze. I saw that it lost its IP. Now, that's rather strange, seen how it's set to static IP. And I wouldn't really think there's something wrong with the net, since I did get it through the first update without any problems.

    The AP's a Cisco 1100.

    I managed to get it out of the update loop it was stuck in, by depriving it of its net, and then I formated the memory, but that didn't remove the update as I had hoped. Even after format, the problem was still present.

    Any suggestions, anyone seen a simular problem? I've figured I'm gonna test it tomorrow at a friend's, by bringing me Wii to him, and trying to update it on his net, since he's been able to update it. Nintendo suggested sending me a replacement console that was preupdated.
    Enable dott11d for the US in the AP configuraiton. I had the same problem and after I enabled that function it works great.

    Hope this helps

  8. #7
    WiiChat Member domkstaa's Avatar
    Member #
    8103
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    39
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    I ran into this problem with a Linksys as well. I just power cycle it and move it closer to the AP and retry and it work the second time around. It might be due to a weak signal if your far from the AP.

  9. #8
    Wii Want PES! lilsam's Avatar
    Member #
    2498
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Blackburn, UK
    Posts
    195
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    7672-3478-6034-0335
    I Think Thats My Problem With The Wifi DS USB Thing.
    So I Going 2 Use My Brothers Laptop Upstairs To Be Nearer, As Mine Often Froze (Eventually working )

    Wii Want PES!


    Spoiler Alert!

  10. #9
    Banned wiifreak9292's Avatar
    Member #
    10144
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    175
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    6893-8478-5967-8729
    i have the exact same updating problem....about 40 percent through the second update, it froze up. i didn't really know what i was doing when i set up the internet settings. it is set on a linksys network that is stationed somewhere in our neighborhood(it is not OUR network. we don't even have one). on my laptop, the network signal is gone, and it usually stays on. i don't know what to do. i can't even get out of the updating screen or the screen where it asks you your country.....

  11. #10
    Junior Member honorzj's Avatar
    Member #
    10713
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    I got this problem too, I use the d-link router, so what should I do ???

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. System Update
    By HighFlyer in forum Nintendo Wii Online
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-15-2009, 01:19 AM
  2. wii system update?
    By SUPRMARIO in forum Nintendo Wii Hardware
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-14-2009, 08:40 AM
  3. Wii Fail At Life: Wait... What? (Caution)
    By AtomicB in forum Nintendo Wii Chat
    Replies: 58
    Last Post: 12-07-2007, 02:28 PM
  4. SSX Blur causing system update?
    By NecroDemonNZXT in forum Nintendo Wii Hardware
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 03-22-2007, 04:26 PM
  5. Update Issue
    By sumomonster in forum Nintendo Wii Online
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-07-2007, 08:54 AM

Search tags for this page

32009 wii error
,
nintendo wii update problems
,

wii system update problem

,
wii system update problems
,
wii u latest update not working
,
wii u system update not working
,
wii u system update problems
,
wii u update problem
,
wii u update problems
,
wii update not working
,
wii update problem
,

wii update problems

Click on a term to search for related topics.