LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    WiiChat Member TRUEST ONE's Avatar
    Member #
    8080
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    5
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    Connecting Wii w/ D Link Router

    Greetings fellow gamers! I have major issues that I need help with. Anyone use the DGL 4300 from D Link with their Wii? I got my Wii on launch day and performed the first update. Now, I cannot access the Virtual Console until I perform another update...problem is....the Wii connects to my access point, but won't download the update. I called Nintendo, got an advance replacement Wii and the same problem. Ok, Ok...I changed the channel on my router, i've updated my firmware, ive tweaked my firewall settings. I've done EVERYTHING the FOUR technicians at Nintendo have asked me to do, but NO resolving my issue. Again, it connects to my network @ 54mbps with 100%signal strength. Anyone use this gaming router with their Wii?

  2. #2
    WiiChat Member SukhKular's Avatar
    Member #
    4204
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Abbotsford, BC, Canada
    Posts
    91
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    6500-2248-4442-5882
    I've got a D-Link DSL-604+... All you need to do is set your DNS manually.
    Nintendo Wii / Intec Cooling Station & Recharging Dock
    2X Wii Remote / 2X Intec Battery Packs
    1X Nunchuk
    1X GameCube WaveBird
    Wii: Mario Party 8; Need For Speed: Carbon; Resident Evil 4: Wii Edition; Sonic & the Secret Rings; Wii Play; Wii Sports
    N64: Pokemon Snap!; Super Mario 64
    NES: The Legend of Zelda; Mario Bros.; Super Mario Bros.; Super Mario Bros. 3

  3. #3
    WiiChat Member mothershipconnection's Avatar
    Member #
    5959
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    124
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Two things to try:
    Try going simple and removing ALL security. This worked with mine, so I knew then it was a router settings problem, and not a Wii problem. You may not wanna keep it unsecure, so you build up from there. In my case, I live in the country where nobody could steal my connection.
    If that doesn't work, try using it at a friend's house with wireless, then you'll have a better idea if it's your console or router.
    Essentially, take a deductive approach and try to eliminate possible causes one at a time, from simplest to most complex.

  4. #4
    swiit mrthundercleese's Avatar
    Member #
    6296
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    144
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    1398-5746-4332-6832
    I have a DGL-4300 with WPA on and it worked like a charm the first time right out of the box. I didn't do anything special.
    Life is like playing the wii. You never know who you're going to hit!

    Quote Originally Posted by NjD00
    From page 29 of the User's Manual:
    "In order to successfully use the Wiimote, the user must be more intelligent than the Wiimote"

  5. #5
    WiiChat Member TRUEST ONE's Avatar
    Member #
    8080
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    5
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Thanks for the heads up ... i'm gonna try the suggestions you fellow gamers pointed out. i know it has to be the settings on my router, although I did go back to default and tried with no luck. funny thing is...the first update downloaded with NO problems, so I'm not sure why the settings need to be different now. I'll update everyon if I'm successful...

  6. #6
    Jim
    Jim is offline
    * Jim's Avatar
    Member #
    8207
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    9
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    7606-3766-5941-8792
    ok, im not an expert on routers etc but i have had trouble in the past with setting up a wirless network at home, until i got the "Thomson SpeedTouch 585" router, and its worked realy well so if people were thinkin of gettin a router with wi-fi in mind id recommend that or similar.

  7. #7
    WiiChat Member TRUEST ONE's Avatar
    Member #
    8080
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    5
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Okay...so I got home from work...and as usual I try to mess around with my Wii to fix my problem. Fired it up and connected to my access point like it always does. After it connected I expected the update screen to turn into an error code, when all of a sudden...it started downloading the update. I did nothing different than I usually do. I didn't change any settings. Not sure what happened, but now everything works like it did on launch day. I have to send my other Wii back to nintendo since they had sent me an advance replacement console. I'll be glad to help anyone who has any questions...thanks for those who tried to help me out. I appreciate it...

  8. #8
    Yuu
    Yuu is offline
    WiiChat Member Yuu's Avatar
    Member #
    4453
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    97
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    probably was a port that's being blocked by your firewall. i'd put the wii on the DMZ channel to prevent this from happening again

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. Internet Connection Sharing w/ USB Mobile Broadband and Wireless Router
    By Adam Jaques (jay-kweez) in forum Nintendo Wii Online
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-28-2007, 09:13 AM
  2. Wireless Router Locks Up
    By gazunni in forum Nintendo Wii Hardware
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-19-2007, 11:36 AM
  3. connecting ADSL modem to Router...
    By salad82 in forum Nintendo Wii Online
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-22-2007, 06:15 AM
  4. 4th piece of the triforce??
    By ZeLdA4LiFe in forum Legend of Zelda
    Replies: 45
    Last Post: 10-03-2006, 04:41 AM

Search tags for this page

connect dlink router to wii
,
connect wii through dlink router
,

connecting wii to dlink router

,
d-link router setting for wii
,
dgl-4300 wii
,
dlink 2750b router problems with wii
,
dlink601 wii
,
hooking up wii using d-link router
,
how to connect wii to d-link router
,
how to connect wii to dlink dsl 2750b
,
how to up dlink router with wii
,
wii connection problem dlink router
Click on a term to search for related topics.