LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Junior Member kirstan's Avatar
    Member #
    8485
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    2
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    wpa entering /wlan fails

    Is there any good reason my wii won't let me enter the full 64 characters of my wpa key? I just can enter 63.
    The weird thing is, it worked yesterday, connection test worked, then it wanted to update system settings, then it told me connection test failed.
    Now I can't even enter 64 chars in the wpa field and even unsecured wlan doesn't work anymore on the wii.
    Reset the wii settings to no avail.

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    ₪ ۩ ₪ vagrant's Avatar
    Member #
    2707
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa
    Posts
    3,249
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    8573-5327-9660-0097
    Quote Originally Posted by kirstan
    Is there any good reason my wii won't let me enter the full 64 characters of my wpa key? I just can enter 63.
    The weird thing is, it worked yesterday, connection test worked, then it wanted to update system settings, then it told me connection test failed.
    Now I can't even enter 64 chars in the wpa field and even unsecured wlan doesn't work anymore on the wii.
    Reset the wii settings to no avail.
    I don't really understand why people are so paranoid to where they need a 128 bit wep or even WPA on there networks. 64 bit wep is really all you need.

    But to answer your question, the only possible explanation would be that you have a space at the beginning or something.

    Dreamcast Fan Fo Lyfe

  4. #3
    Junior Member kirstan's Avatar
    Member #
    8485
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    2
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by vagrant
    I don't really understand why people are so paranoid to where they need a 128 bit wep or even WPA on there networks. 64 bit wep is really all you need.
    Not to be rude or anything (really not), but I'm having a hard time to believe you're actually a network engineer. I won't go into get into lots of technical details here, but it'll suffice to state 64 (or 128 for that matter) wep is as safe as having no encryption at all. If you really are a network engineer, talk to your netadmin tomorrow. He/she'll tell you all about it.
    But to answer you're question as why I'm so 'paranoid':
    being a netadmin for a pretty large company changes your view on security
    Anyways, if you want I could send you a nice whitepaper on wep (non-)security, let me know.
    Quote Originally Posted by vagrant
    But to answer your question, the only possible explanation would be that you have a space at the beginning or something.
    Nevermind, got the 110213 bug too, it appears the input thingy is related to that.
    Thanks for replying anyway, I appreciate the effort.

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. Will Sonic Die If 'Unleashed' Fails?
    By vashivihan in forum Nintendo Wii Gaming
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 02-07-2010, 12:37 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-01-2008, 04:37 PM
  3. third or fourth controller fails...
    By michael_meg in forum Nintendo Wii Hardware
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-04-2007, 04:13 PM
  4. What If Halo 3 Fails????
    By duberryboy1 in forum Xbox Consoles
    Replies: 59
    Last Post: 03-04-2007, 09:12 AM
  5. I can't grab the Goron when entering Death Mountain
    By miiplaywii in forum Legend of Zelda
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-29-2006, 08:08 PM