LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    WiiChat Member lamby8's Avatar
    Member #
    8011
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    63
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    what cable do i need (ps3)

    what cable do i need for my ps3 to make it HD i got a HD tv but no hdmi input instead dvi but im lookin at dvi to hdmi cables and theres 2 types dvi-i or dvi-d which 1 do i need plz reply thx

    LAMBY 8


  2. #2
    shiftfallout.com Shiftfallout's Avatar
    Member #
    18773
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Hollywood
    Posts
    1,546
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by lamby8
    what cable do i need for my ps3 to make it HD i got a HD tv but no hdmi input instead dvi but im lookin at dvi to hdmi cables and theres 2 types dvi-i or dvi-d which 1 do i need plz reply thx
    First, even though your tv is HD, make sure its HDcp. Second go with the DVI-D.

    DVI-I:
    DVI-I contains both the digital and analog connections, (DVI-D + DVI-A) , it's essentially a combination of DVI-D and DVI-A cables within one cable.
    DVI-D:
    DVI-D (like DFP or P&D-D (EVC)) is a digital only connection. If both devices being connected support a Digital DVI connection (DVI-I or DVI-D compatible) and are compatible in resolutions, refresh rates and sync, using a DVI-D cable will ensure that you are using a digital connection rather than an analog connection, without playing around with settings to assure this.

    Its reccommended you go for the DVI-D.

    Since i tend to literally type out essay length explainations, and im in the middle of something im going to do some copy and paste work to make it easier.

    HDCP
    "Although manufacturers are still making most products with at least component HD output, new generation of products like HD-DVD and Blu-Ray devices will limit the analog output resolution (Analog defined as Component or RGBHV). The highest resolutions these devices can output (720p/1080i/1080p) will be available on via the digital (DVI or HDMI) connections that employ HDCP encryption. Any new HDTV purchase should have a digital HDCP compatible input. "

    Hope that helped.

  3. #3
    WiiChat Member lamby8's Avatar
    Member #
    8011
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    63
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    how do i tell my tv is hdcp
    here it is
    http://www.currys.co.uk/martprd/product/seo/969530
    i bought i for £300 ages ago its discountinuesd now thats y its cheap

    LAMBY 8


  4. #4
    shiftfallout.com Shiftfallout's Avatar
    Member #
    18773
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Hollywood
    Posts
    1,546
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by lamby8
    how do i tell my tv is hdcp
    here it is
    http://www.currys.co.uk/martprd/product/seo/969530
    i bought i for 300 ages ago its discountinuesd now thats y its cheap
    ah k. Just checked up on it for ya. Its not HDcp compliant, sorry. I heard that you can use a type of PS2 cable over the DVI-D/HDMI. Perhaps that would be a better rout to go rather than spend a lot of money on a cable that wont help much.

  5. #5
    WiiChat Member lamby8's Avatar
    Member #
    8011
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    63
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    is it anything like 480p or 720

    LAMBY 8


  6. #6
    shiftfallout.com Shiftfallout's Avatar
    Member #
    18773
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Hollywood
    Posts
    1,546
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by lamby8
    is it anything like 480p or 720
    Your tv supports "1080i, 576 P, 480 P, 576i, 720 P, 480 i"
    But because it lacks HDCP, the PS3 will automatically downgrade it to 480p. If the TV were HDCP it then would fully be able to use the max offered by HDMI.

  7. #7
    WiiChat Member lamby8's Avatar
    Member #
    8011
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    63
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    ok mate thats really really helpfull and would i get 1080i form this or 480p and will this cable work
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/HDMI-DVI-D-G...5425732&sr=8-1

    LAMBY 8


  8. #8
    shiftfallout.com Shiftfallout's Avatar
    Member #
    18773
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Hollywood
    Posts
    1,546
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by lamby8
    ok mate thats really really helpfull and would i get 1080i form this or 480p and will this cable work
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/HDMI-DVI-D-G...5425732&sr=8-1
    thats a good deal. 480p using the PS3 on your current TV. Upgrade your TV to one with HDCP and your all set for your HD experience.

  9. #9
    WiiChat Member lamby8's Avatar
    Member #
    8011
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    63
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    but 480p is still hd itsnt it sorry not very good with all this hd stuff

    LAMBY 8


  10. #10
    shiftfallout.com Shiftfallout's Avatar
    Member #
    18773
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Hollywood
    Posts
    1,546
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by lamby8
    but 480p is still hd itsnt it sorry not very good with all this hd stuff
    perhaps. Im not the best with it either. All I know is what i have found out about it. To get full HD you need a HDCP ready tv. TVs arnt really my field so im only going of what information i can find or know previously.

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts