LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1
    WiiChat Member Maldo's Avatar
    Member #
    80958
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    71
    Friends
    1
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    PS2 component cables ona PS1?

    Has anyone tried using PS2/3 component cables ona PS1? I saw a video on youtube a while back that this guy had a old PS1, but attached a set of PS2/3 component cables to it and hooked it up to the TV... displaying a pretty good picture signal because component supports 480i.

    But from what I saw, he might've had a component to HDMI converter box because for a brief milisecond, his tv signal info tab said 1080P (I t'hank), and one guy lashed out that PS1 only does 240P, not 480i and component only supports the latter as it's lowest resolution mode output. He may be right on that because I know from experience when playing PS1 games on a PS2 w/component cables attached, it doesn't display any picture though there is sound. I do know for a fact this situation occurs playing PS1 games ona PS3 via component, but the surpirsing thing when the output is through HDMI, it displays the image (and looks much better IMA).

    So maybe, if I get a component to HDMI converter box like that guy prolly had and use my PS2 via component to HDMI to play PS1 games, I could bypass that 240P/480I issue and get an nice HD image (hopefully it won't be muddy and have artifacts like my composite to hdmi box does)

    Just curious though, as this seems intresting as the regluar A/V out jack on the PS1 is a multi-out like the PS2 & 3, where the component out port also goes.
    I try to make my posts clear and easy to understand so they don't sound like "imA gonsdds 2yuz shvsdfoool" or whatever 2cuokls4usz crap most ppl speek in the land of brooklyn nowadays.

    LOL!!

  2. #2
    Bringer of meaty goodness DBloke's Avatar
    WiiChat Moderator
    Member #
    228
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Super Mancyland
    Posts
    19,060
    Friends
    33
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    8041-7231-3447-6164
    You can use the same TV cables on PSX, but I dont think they will output at low HD resolutions


    You new? See this!
    W
    ii U FAQ

    Spoiler Alert!

    @D_Bloke - My inane prattle


Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. Component Cables
    By Jonesy in forum Nintendo Wii Hardware
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-06-2007, 04:32 PM
  2. component cables
    By vashivihan in forum Nintendo Wii Hardware
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-06-2007, 11:51 AM
  3. Component Cables
    By 2bearnest in forum Nintendo Wii Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-31-2007, 10:58 PM
  4. Component Cables to PC
    By Scuba Kid in forum Nintendo Wii Hardware
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-08-2007, 04:43 PM
  5. Wii Component Cables
    By -G- in forum Nintendo Wii Chat
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 12-11-2006, 09:42 AM

Search tags for this page

can ps1 use component cable
,
can ps1 use component cables
,
component cables ps1
,
does ps1 support component
,
playstation 1 component
,
playstation 1 component cable
,

ps1 component

,

ps1 component cable

,
ps1 component cables
,
ps1 component output
,
ps1 componet cables
,
ps2 component cable
Click on a term to search for related topics.