LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 5 of 11 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 103
  1. #41
    get crunk. blueradio's Avatar
    Member #
    11742
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Cleveland.
    Posts
    1,151
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    6390-2874-0535-4544
    Is it just on Virtual Console games?



    Well do you?

  2. #42
    Junior Member Ninja John Wayne's Avatar
    Member #
    13273
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    2
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Hi, I found this forum while searching for video issues with the virtual console.

    When I load up VC games (Pre N64) I end up with a blank green screen - sound familiar? After awhile the home button turns on showing the game in the background so I click 'close' and the screen reverts back to blank/green.

    Messing with the settings doesn't work. I tried different combinations of 4:3, widescreen, 480i, 576i, 480p, and all I got was the same shitty blank green screen.

    I'm using the official Component cable on a Samsung 940mw. I've also tried the Mad Katz and Blaze component cable but neither work - composite works fine.

    Iíve emailed Nintendo of Europe but they havenít replied so I assume they donít give a shit.

    It's almost like they want people to download their games illegally. I mean, I'd prefer to pay but look at the hassle it's caused - and we still haven't got a 60hz option. It's 2007 Nintendo not 1986. If you want to sell old games then update them for christ sake.
    Last edited by Ninja John Wayne; 01-13-2007 at 01:05 PM.

  3. #43
    Junior Member nannypants's Avatar
    Member #
    13291
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    1
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    I'm also having problems with displaying VC games in 480p on my plasma. I've got component cables, and normal Wii stuff works great, but when I try Sonic, DKC or Castlevania then my tv switches to 640 x 200 @ 50Hz and the bottom third of the picture disappears of the screen. R-Type on the other hand works fine. I wonder why? I hope Nintendo get this fixed as I'm not buying any more VC games until it is, and I'm definitely not swapping tellys or cables just to be able to play 20 year old games.

  4. #44
    2nd childhood Cilonen's Avatar
    Member #
    13359
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Nottingham, UK
    Posts
    5
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    This problem is NOT limited to HD LCD's / Plasma's.

    Had the same issue arise with Gunstar Heroes on my 28" CRT (connected via composite to SCART). It did clear with a reset, however, and hasn't yet repeated.

    Methinks Nintendo may have a BIG problem on their hands

  5. #45
    Junior Member Ninja John Wayne's Avatar
    Member #
    13273
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    2
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by nannypants
    I'm also having problems with displaying VC games in 480p on my plasma. I've got component cables, and normal Wii stuff works great, but when I try Sonic, DKC or Castlevania then my tv switches to 640 x 200 @ 50Hz and the bottom third of the picture disappears of the screen. R-Type on the other hand works fine. I wonder why?
    R-Type runs at 60hz which is probably why it works fine on your tv. The rest of the games are the shit 50hz pal version - See US sonic vs uk Sonic.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b0llsb77Esc

    If they'd just give us a 60hz option non of this would be happening...

  6. #46
    Junior Member Robtendo7's Avatar
    Member #
    13887
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Austin, Tx
    Posts
    1
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    I hope that works. I haven't tried it in that order.
    Mine is doing some of the above mentioned things. I have a 37in lcd flat screen but i have the mad catz component cables.
    ZELDA looks awsome by the way with the cables folks! Anywho, my VC games - turn on then the wii home menu comes up, like if you're looking for the settings for your wii remote. And usually the game is stuck where it last left off. I switched back to the regular cables and the home menu came up again but then i just hit reset. asks " do you want to reset software? " (all unsaved info will be lost) hit YES. and it starts right up. switched back to the component cables. black screens, distorted line screens, sound but no game play. So, i'm gonna go get the original cables instead of the mad catz ones and see what happens. and i'll try this lil 1 - 5 step.
    Thanks!

  7. #47
    Junior Member biff's Avatar
    Member #
    13917
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    2
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    I'm in the same boat. Everything worked fine with the composite cables supplied with the consoles, however seeing as i am using a 32" HD ready LCD TV i wasn't getting a great picture and decided to invest in the component cables.

    Everything worked great and picture was much improved until i tried to play Super Mario Bros. Screen goes blank as if there is no picture, but like with everyone else when i hit the home button the menu comes up with the game in the background. Its the same for Zelda, however Mario 64 works fine.

    I really hope nintendo do something about this as its quite annoying having to switch to an inferior quality connection just to play VC games.

    For anyone gathering information on this, my Component cables are non-official. I was considering trying the official nintendo ones but seeing as some people are having the same problems i don't think i will bother giving nintendo my £25 seeing as they haven't even acknowledged this issue.

  8. #48
    Junior Member Hassassin's Avatar
    Member #
    14040
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    1
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    I just brought Street Fighter II, I go to play it and... i get the same problem as you guys. No way picture and a msg from my tv saying format not supported.
    i gt no picture waht so ever, but pressing home button does bring up the menu bit but once i try too continue game again my TV cuts out again.

    i just brought sonic just to test my tv out with other games and that works... well sort of, you can play the game fine but whenever you press the home button and then try get back into the game i get the same msg from my TV.
    Format not supported

    tis very strange and extreamly annoying

  9. #49
    Junior Member Twillus's Avatar
    Member #
    14327
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    2
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    Not limited to LCD. Plasma, or component

    I connected the Wii to a 27" crt type tv (hitachi), using the composite RCA cables that came with the unit and the same thing happens that is described by many of you. Sound from the game is heard but the screen is blank when using virtual console. Current Wii games work fine.

  10. #50
    Junior Member mcdi4pm2's Avatar
    Member #
    14462
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    1
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    The COMPONENT Blues..

    I have the same problem here Turbo grafix games working but no Super Mario. I dont want to have to swith cables that defies the whole point of VC games. I hope Nintendo bring out a firmware update soon to fix this issue.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 5 of 11 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... LastLast

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Similar Threads

  1. Games That Are Coming Out On The Virtual Console That Arent Out Yet!!!!
    By hoogasian5 in forum Virtual Console, WiiWare and DSIWare
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-29-2008, 11:28 PM
  2. IGN Nintendo's Most Anticipated Games of 2008
    By vashivihan in forum Nintendo Wii Gaming
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-26-2008, 03:29 PM
  3. What Systems And Games Do You Want On The Virtual Console
    By matthewj in forum Virtual Console, WiiWare and DSIWare
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 11-05-2007, 11:19 AM
  4. Virtual Console
    By phimuajedi69 in forum Virtual Console, WiiWare and DSIWare
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 05-17-2006, 05:38 AM

Search tags for this page

blue screen on wii for downloaded games
,
video problems with vc games
,
virtual console games no picture
,
wii classic games not working
,
wii downloadable games not working
,
wii downloaded games not working
,
wii not playing downloaded games
,
wii virtual console games no video
,

wii virtual console games not working

,
wii virtual console no picture
,
wii virtual console no signal
,
wiiware virtual console no video
Click on a term to search for related topics.