SEGA has just announced via the SEGA Blog that it intends to released more games in its Vintage Collection series in late 2011 and early 2012 via the Wii Virtual Console. According to the blog the latest instalment of* the series will feature favourites from the Wonder Boy series, including a fully localized version of Wonder Boy in Monster World IV, which has never been released in the West before now, having only seen the light of day in Japan previously. The full list of classic games due to be released at the end of this year and the beginning of next year is as follows, complete with details of the system they originally appeared on, courtesy of SEGA:

  • Monster World IV (Genesis/Mega Drive)
  • Wonder Boy in Monster Land (Arcade)
  • Revenge of Shinobi (Genesis/Mega Drive)
  • Alex Kidd in Miracle World (Master System)
  • Wonder Boy in Monster World (Genesis/Mega Drive)
The blog post also mentions Yu Suzuki’s Super Hang-On, although it’s not in the above official list, maybe just a typo that it was excluded.

Here’s SEGA explaining why they used the Master System version of Alex Kidd:

“The Master System version of Alex Kidd – one of the original mascots of SEGA and something of a proto-Sonic – is one of the best games to come out on that platform, and had a terrific combination of speed, wit, and surprisingly challenging platforming.”
I’ll second that! Amazing game!