LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20
  1. #1
    Wii Want PES! lilsam's Avatar
    Member #
    2498
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Blackburn, UK
    Posts
    196
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    7672-3478-6034-0335

    360....What will I need?

    Ok, I want this console which I am saving for over Summer. I want to play online and have my console running smoothly in all departments, any suggestions as to everything I will need?
    Will it work on your average tele (Mines a widescreen but isnt HD or top of the range)?
    What will I need for XBL?

    Wii Want PES!


    Spoiler Alert!

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    WiiChat Member LilWiiWii's Avatar
    Member #
    3766
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    443
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    8012-6169-7562-1411
    Well since you want to play online there is a ethernet port that you can plug your internet into, OR if you have a wireless connection you have to buy this little gadget http://www.amazon.co.uk/Microsoft-Xb...5013621&sr=8-1
    Kind of pricey but it saves alot of mess of the wires and all but maybe you could work it out.
    You also need to buy xbox live membership which is also kind of expensive but soo worth it imho. You can order it by credit card straight from the system or buy the time cards. here is one for 12 months..they also sell a 3 month and i think 6 month card http://www.amazon.co.uk/Xbox-Live-mo...5013688&sr=1-1

    and lastly you may need an extra controller if you have siblings or friends you want to play with http://www.amazon.co.uk/Microsoft-Xb...5013766&sr=1-1

    and Yea it will work perfectly fine on your TV. and you save money by not needing the HDMI output cables for HDTVs. Lucky you.

    Goodluck I hope this helped

  4. #3
    WiiChat Member paintba||er's Avatar
    Member #
    1665
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Mormonville, Utah XBL GamerTag: sheise PSNID: sheise
    Posts
    3,417
    Friends
    1
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    8354-0173-2009-5422
    Quote Originally Posted by LilWiiWii
    and Yea it will work perfectly fine on your TV. and you save money by not needing the HDMI output cables for HDTVs. Lucky you.
    You don't need HDMI for an HDTV, and you can only use HDMI on if you have an Elite which comes with an HDMI cable anyway. It will look like shit in SD anyway.
    ++++++[>++++++++++<-]>+.<+++[>++++<-]>+.<+++++[>+++++++<-]>++.++++.<+++[>---<-]>--.<+++++[>----------<-]>--------.<+++++++++++++[>++<-]>.<+++++[>+++++<-]>.<++++[>++++<-]>+..<++[>----<-]>-.<++[>+++++<-]>.

  5. #4
    honesty is my only excuse FR3344LL's Avatar
    Member #
    24200
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    WV8
    Posts
    253
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by paintba||er

    You don't need HDMI for an HDTV, and you can only use HDMI on if you have an Elite which comes with an HDMI cable anyway. It will look like shit in SD anyway.
    he won't need HDMI anyway...us "lucky" brits don't get the Elite until 27th August....for the princeley sum of 330.

    if you're running the 360 via a SD tv, ensure that you at least get hold of
    an RGB cable rather than the shitty composite that comes with it. it'll spruce
    up your picture no-end.

    as for looking shit in SD, unless you've used a 360 in HD, then he won't really
    be missing anything. it's only after you've used HD that you appreciate the
    difference it brings.
    Ste

  6. #5
    WiiChat Member paintba||er's Avatar
    Member #
    1665
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Mormonville, Utah XBL GamerTag: sheise PSNID: sheise
    Posts
    3,417
    Friends
    1
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    8354-0173-2009-5422
    Quote Originally Posted by FR3344LL
    he won't need HDMI anyway...us "lucky" brits don't get the Elite until 27th August....for the princeley sum of 330.

    if you're running the 360 via a SD tv, ensure that you at least get hold of
    an RGB cable rather than the shitty composite that comes with it. it'll spruce
    up your picture no-end.

    as for looking shit in SD, unless you've used a 360 in HD, then he won't really
    be missing anything. it's only after you've used HD that you appreciate the
    difference it brings.
    It comes with component and composite cables unless you get the core.
    ++++++[>++++++++++<-]>+.<+++[>++++<-]>+.<+++++[>+++++++<-]>++.++++.<+++[>---<-]>--.<+++++[>----------<-]>--------.<+++++++++++++[>++<-]>.<+++++[>+++++<-]>.<++++[>++++<-]>+..<++[>----<-]>-.<++[>+++++<-]>.

  7. #6
    honesty is my only excuse FR3344LL's Avatar
    Member #
    24200
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    WV8
    Posts
    253
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by paintba||er

    It comes with component and composite cables unless you get the core.
    yeah, i know.

    component cables are of no use if your tv hasn't got the necessary inputs.

    unfortunately most of "our" CRT's don't have component inputs, they do
    however, mostly support RGB via the euroconnector (scart) socket.
    only really old tv's (and some cheap supermarket brands) don't support RGB.

    composite is plain shite....to much fuzz on the red and blue images.

    a cheap way to get high def out of the 360 is to get hold of the VGA lead
    and hook it up to a pc monitor. i briefly ran my old 360 thru' a 19" W/S
    acer monitor and it looked great, albeit slightly washed out. rumours persist
    that M$ "cured" the washed out image problem with the spring update.

    can anyone confirm that this is true or not....apparently it *should* add
    options to the VGA selection.
    Ste

  8. #7
    WiiChat Member paintba||er's Avatar
    Member #
    1665
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Mormonville, Utah XBL GamerTag: sheise PSNID: sheise
    Posts
    3,417
    Friends
    1
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    8354-0173-2009-5422
    Quote Originally Posted by FR3344LL
    yeah, i know.

    component cables are of no use if your tv hasn't got the necessary inputs.

    unfortunately most of "our" CRT's don't have component inputs, they do
    however, mostly support RGB via the euroconnector (scart) socket.
    only really old tv's (and some cheap supermarket brands) don't support RGB.

    composite is plain shite....to much fuzz on the red and blue images.

    a cheap way to get high def out of the 360 is to get hold of the VGA lead
    and hook it up to a pc monitor. i briefly ran my old 360 thru' a 19" W/S
    acer monitor and it looked great, albeit slightly washed out. rumours persist
    that M$ "cured" the washed out image problem with the spring update.

    can anyone confirm that this is true or not....apparently it *should* add
    options to the VGA selection.
    Mine is fine and doesn't look washed out, but I guess it depends on your monitor/TV. And yes there are some settings for it now.
    ++++++[>++++++++++<-]>+.<+++[>++++<-]>+.<+++++[>+++++++<-]>++.++++.<+++[>---<-]>--.<+++++[>----------<-]>--------.<+++++++++++++[>++<-]>.<+++++[>+++++<-]>.<++++[>++++<-]>+..<++[>----<-]>-.<++[>+++++<-]>.

  9. #8
    honesty is my only excuse FR3344LL's Avatar
    Member #
    24200
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    WV8
    Posts
    253
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Quote Originally Posted by paintba||er

    Mine is fine and doesn't look washed out, but I guess it depends on your monitor/TV. And yes there are some settings for it now.
    nice one paintballer.

    i'm hopefully getting an elite before christmas.....for the kids
    Ste

  10. #9
    WiiChat Member LilWiiWii's Avatar
    Member #
    3766
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    443
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    8012-6169-7562-1411
    Either way whatever cables u get with the system, it will work with your TV so your safe there

  11. #10
    WiiChat Member MysticGohan's Avatar
    Member #
    2421
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    pickering, Ontario Canada
    Posts
    756
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    2476-7789-3835-5591
    sd doesn't look like shit
    I have the wii!!!! i know i suck at spelling!

    Rep me if I did good.
    Spoiler Alert!

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts