LoginRegister
Nintendo Wii / Wii U Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    WiiChat Member Mikeo22's Avatar
    Member #
    36671
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    58
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]

    Hey guys I need your help.

    Ok well first off i would like to say that I own both a wii and a 360, and that the wii is pretty sweet. Ok back on topic for xbox 360 i have to bring it downstairs, where my pc is JUST to play live. And I know about the wireless adaptor but i really just dont see myself paying 100 dollars just to be able to play one floor above, I thought about a really long ethernet cable but that just wouldn't work good in my house because the cord would just look odd running down my stairs lol. So the question I am asking you is, is their anyway that I could setup like a router that doesnt even need to plug into a computer, that I can just plug into my wall. So i could have an ethernet port in my room.

    -mike
    gh3 fc!! 098898956595 add me and then pm me with yer # so i can smash you!!! lol

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    WiiChat Member Mikeo22's Avatar
    Member #
    36671
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    58
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Does anybody have an answer?
    gh3 fc!! 098898956595 add me and then pm me with yer # so i can smash you!!! lol

  4. #3
    Banned Sovieto's Avatar
    Member #
    883
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    6,586
    Friends
    4
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    just use a long ethernet cord, run it along the wall and place electrical tape over it so it doesnt stray away.

    dont double post/bump like this, if no one replies after a day after then you are able to bump the thread, not 15 minutes.

    Everything in this signature except for this text was made by Wiired, he is my creator and almighty.

  5. #4
    WiiChat Member Celestial's Avatar
    Member #
    16628
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    1,398
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    3049-9371-2306-9680
    If you have a laptop you can share the internet connection from it to the 360... that's what I do. If not then just get a long ethernet cable.

    360 GT: LostCelestial
    PSN ID: AerialSpirit

  6. #5
    WiiChat Member Mikeo22's Avatar
    Member #
    36671
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    58
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    hold on celestial wut do you mean by the laptop idea,
    gh3 fc!! 098898956595 add me and then pm me with yer # so i can smash you!!! lol

  7. #6
    WiiChat Member Celestial's Avatar
    Member #
    16628
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    1,398
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    3049-9371-2306-9680
    Well I unno, my brother did it for me. But we have a wireless router upstairs, and the 360 is downstairs.

    So my laptop is connected to the router by the wireless thing. Then I can use an ethernet cable from my laptop to my 360.

    I think what my brother did was enabled connection sharing on "Wireless Network Connection" and then it worked on my 360. Something like that

    I think the laptop might need to be Windows XP though, not sure. Because we tried it on my brothers laptop, but he has Vista and it didn't work.

    360 GT: LostCelestial
    PSN ID: AerialSpirit

  8. #7
    Don of NYC Respect Lvl 50 Stallyon's Avatar
    Member #
    17569
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Norion
    Posts
    277
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    2207-7954-7144-9623
    What I did at my old house was drill a hole through my upstairs floor/downstairs ceiling which was large enough to run a few cables through. The hole was covered upstairs by the carpet and the cables were run along the wall underneath the carpet so upstairs wasnt an issue. Downstairs the cables ran down the wall and was covered by cable boxes. can get them from 1 inch wide to 2, 3, 6 inches wide and they arent very deep.

    I had my cable tv, stereo speakers, and ethernet cables running alongside each other. I could watch cable tv in over 3 rooms of the house from only 1 receiver, listen to music all over the house and connect a pc in any bedroom. Sweet


    Spoiler Alert!

  9. #8
    Conquistador T3kNi9e's Avatar
    Member #
    39562
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Augusta, GA
    Posts
    2,231
    Friends
    2
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    Thats how i have mine. Except mine isnt as hard to do because I have no upstairs. I drill a hole on the ceiling on the edge of the wall and run the cable to the other side of the house up the attic and drill another hole to the router.
    Mod Edit: Image removed. Some users may find it offensive and inappropriate.
    SSBB FC: ????-????-???? (New Wii, so I gotta check)
    Gamertag: T3kNi9e
    Been playing alot of WarCraft III lately, anyone up for game? Just message me, my account is the same as here and GT.

  10. #9
    WiiChat Member Mikeo22's Avatar
    Member #
    36671
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    58
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    im likeing the laptop idea but the thing is i personally dont have a laptop, my dad and sis do and its not like i can have it in my room the whole time or whenever i want to play 360 and its not like i could just run an ethernet to either of there rooms because the whole point of really having a laptop is so you can have internet access anywhere in the house, its not like they are always on it just in their room... so idk maybe just do the wireless adaptor :[ i really wish 360 had built in wi-fi.
    gh3 fc!! 098898956595 add me and then pm me with yer # so i can smash you!!! lol

  11. #10
    WiiChat Member Mikeo22's Avatar
    Member #
    36671
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    58
    Friends
    0
    Wii Friend Code: $post[field5]
    oh come on ppl wut should i do?????? maybe i should just get a vga adaptor and play 360 on my pc...
    gh3 fc!! 098898956595 add me and then pm me with yer # so i can smash you!!! lol

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts