All things HDTV

MasterJedi2U

Banned
Jan 28, 2007
Durham, NC
Wii Online Code
5251-2094-6508-9892
Just to start out please forgive me for this long post. I have no knowledge about HDTV and I've been researching online on Google, etc but I'm still a bit confused about it. The Nintendo Wii can do 480p at max and thats fine and all but I don't have a tv that is capable of that. I'm pretty sure I have CRT which is Cathode Ray Television correct? Now I'm planning on buy a new TV with some saved up money. So I have a few questions to ask and I"ll just list them out.

1) LCD v Plasma: Which is better for Videogames and general TV viewing?

2) If a TV says it can do 1080i or 1080p does that ALSO mean it can do 480p and 720p as well? OR do I have to find a TV capable of producing all those resolutions

3) What is the usual screen size for a television used for games? Especially Multiplayer.

4) After I buy the TV and setup the cable, etc. I'll need to buy some type of new cable to connect the Wii to the TV right? My question is which is better? Component or S-Video and what is the difference?

Thanks in advance for any help anyone can give me.

Alright
1. In my opinion, I think that LCD are better because there cheaper, they're are usually used for gaming. Plasma are just a little bit better, but more expensive.

2.Yea, if it says 1080p it can produce anything lower like 480p 720p.

3. Ummm, I dont know.

4. Get component cables. There have better Resolution and picture on the tv. It produces more lines which gives a more crisp and clear picture.

And I should definitely get the official Nintendo ones right? Or are there better quality ones made by some 2nd or 3rd Party company?

1. Probably LCD. Don't knock crt's though, if you got the room, they still have best contrast ratios, response times, and are fairly inexpensive. Also don't worry about burn-in on plasma

2.nothing to add

3. Size isn't everything. go for like 40-50 unless crt and is self supporting