Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Any tech wiz

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii Online' started by leafhound, Jul 13, 2007.

  1. leafhound

    leafhound WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    :) hi, I'm trying to connect a wii to the internet but not got a clue,

    It's broadband with a high speed modem cable running from the phone socket into the modem, from the modem is one cable with a usb connection going into the pc
    [​IMG]

    The extras i have bought are a XBOX360 (straight through) ethernet cable fitted with RJ45 connectors that connects a console to a modem for online gaming.
    The other thing is a USB LAN adaptor.
    [​IMG]

    I run the cable from the pc into the adapter that was plugged into the Wii, and got an eroor code (51420)
    I've also done many searches on this forum and on the net with luck.


    HELP
     
  2. ZeLdA4LiFe

    ZeLdA4LiFe @SoHugo17 FOLLOW ME? :)

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,478
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Stanton, CA
    i wish i could help you, but i cant. why dont you buy a wi-fi usb wireless adaptor?
     
  3. Squall7

    Squall7 A li'l bit different

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,743
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Cornwall, UK
    Wii Friend Code: 8420-0141-9022-6948
    8420-0141-9022-6948
    Hmm, interesting one. I presume you've got it set up correctly. ie. Wii>USB Lan adaptor>USB cable>computer>ethernet cable>Modem>Phone socket.

    After that, you need a computer with XP on it. Also, I think you'll need to make sure any firewalls aren't blocking the Wii (so you may have to determine if it's being blocked, either using the Windows firewall or something like MaCafee or Norton.)

    If anything seems wrong, ask again (but try and provide as much detail as possible).
     
  4. leafhound

    leafhound WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    The pc is running with XP, the fella at the shop where i bought the cable said it would run straight into the pc from the adapter, Wii>LAN/USB>Cable>PC
     
  5. Squall7

    Squall7 A li'l bit different

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,743
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Cornwall, UK
    Wii Friend Code: 8420-0141-9022-6948
    8420-0141-9022-6948
    Sounds good.

    Has the computer come up with any error messages when trying to connect the Wii to PC? i.e. has it popped up saying anything about firewall rules or anything? Also, was there any PC software (i.e. DVD/CD-ROM) with the package?
     
  6. leafhound

    leafhound WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    No software came with adapter/cables, when i plug the cable in to the pc from the Wii nothing happens, no recognition of an external device! i do not know if it should though.

    I'm now just reading something about DHCP on the net, looks confusing though.
     
  7. Squall7

    Squall7 A li'l bit different

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,743
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Cornwall, UK
    Wii Friend Code: 8420-0141-9022-6948
    8420-0141-9022-6948
    http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=502Uv0LsmDY
    This is good if you have a router.

    If you don't then I think you're going to have to give me details of firewall software...

    EDIT: Just been reading around on the internet, that to plug it into a PC, you'll need a "connector cable" that doesn't come with the pack. It should look like this:
    [​IMG]

    http://www.play.com/PC/PCs/6-/Searc...rossover+cable&searchtype=PCSH&searchsource=0
    Here's some on play.com.
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_ss...arch-alias=aps&field-keywords=crossover+cable
    And some on amazon.co.uk.
     
    #7 Squall7, Jul 13, 2007
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2007
  8. leafhound

    leafhound WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, i read about that crossover cable a week ago, and thought the it was the same cable as the fella in the shop sold us,
    lol
    I read your post this morning and it clicked ithat it might of been the wrong cable so went and bought a cross over cable from Argos this afternoon (belkin CAT5e UTP crossover cable) just tried connecting and got a Error code 52020.

    I will go poke through the Wii manual for a bit,
     
  9. Squall7

    Squall7 A li'l bit different

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,743
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Cornwall, UK
    Wii Friend Code: 8420-0141-9022-6948
    8420-0141-9022-6948
    Soz, been away for a few days.
    http://www.nintendo.com/consumer/sy...stem=Wii&locale=en_US&action.x=23&action.y=17

    Sounds like you may need to configure the Wii to use the same IP address as your computer uses.
     
  10. awdawg

    awdawg WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
    Sounds to me like you need to setup internet connection sharing, and of course it looks like you need a crossover cable to run directly to your NIC instead of regular Cat5.
     
  11. leafhound

    leafhound WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I do not know if that's possible as ip keeps changing from time to time.

    I will try as your link says and unplug the modem for a few minutes, though that will have to be tomorrow now as i've guitar lessons tonight.

    I looked in to the internet sharing and it says to goto internet connections and set them so they all "obtain IP adress automatically" (but they were that way as default anyway). but on the ipconfig info it says DHCP not enabled.
    so for me that is confusing.
    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
error code 52020 nintendo wii
,

wii error code 52020