Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Biggest size hard drive you can install in PS3?

Discussion in 'Playstation Consoles' started by GypsyKid, Jul 13, 2007.

  1. GypsyKid

    GypsyKid WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    and what are the needed specifications?
     
  2. paintba||er

    paintba||er WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2006
    Messages:
    3,417
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Mormonville, Utah XBL GamerTag: sheise PSNID: s
    Wii Friend Code: 8354-0173-2009-5422
    8354-0173-2009-5422
    I'm not sure what the largest capacity is, but I know it will work at least up to 750GB. You can just use any 2.5" SATA HDD.
     
  3. GypsyKid

    GypsyKid WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    I found a list of these. http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/category/category_slc.asp?CatId=2676

    I found that it's usually around $1 per gig. Give or take a bit depending on the size make and model. So the new PS3 is getting $20 more worth of space.

    Right now I really don't have a need to upgrade. I might if I want to put videos on it, or if the PS3 becomes a recorder of some sort in the future.

    Something I'm not sure about is the speed of the drive. Would it be necessary to get a 7200 RPM drive? Would a 5400 RPM be sufficient? What RPM is the drive in the PS3 60 gig?
     
    #3 GypsyKid, Jul 13, 2007
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2007
  4. paintba||er

    paintba||er WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2006
    Messages:
    3,417
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Mormonville, Utah XBL GamerTag: sheise PSNID: s
    Wii Friend Code: 8354-0173-2009-5422
    8354-0173-2009-5422
    The one in the PS3 is 5400 RPM, but whatever you use should work.
     
  5. GamerCon

    GamerCon WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    18
    Its recommended to use 5400RPM. Only use SATA 2.5". Since its a laptop HDD, they wont be getting into the 500GB but you can get them a lot cheaper then the 360's HDD.
     
  6. paintba||er

    paintba||er WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2006
    Messages:
    3,417
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Mormonville, Utah XBL GamerTag: sheise PSNID: s
    Wii Friend Code: 8354-0173-2009-5422
    8354-0173-2009-5422
    You can use a 3.5", but you have to get a power supply and stuff and the HDD will have to sit outside of the PS3...
     
  7. GamerCon

    GamerCon WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    18
    You can use any kind of external HDD, its that damn cool.
     
  8. paintba||er

    paintba||er WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2006
    Messages:
    3,417
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Mormonville, Utah XBL GamerTag: sheise PSNID: s
    Wii Friend Code: 8354-0173-2009-5422
    8354-0173-2009-5422
    Ya, but you can use any SATA internal HDD too.
     
  9. GamerCon

    GamerCon WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    18
    Well yea, i was thinking as far as brand type only use a SATA. I wouldnt want the HDD hanging out the side but, if thats what you want then its a small price to pay. =D
     

Share This Page