Brand new to Xbox scene, little help?

Frodo

Middle Earth Blows
Dec 26, 2006
Hobbiton
Wii Online Code
0416-2130-8046-9133
So I'm brand new to the Xbox scene, and have been searching these forums, as well as a few others for information about the 360. Unfortunately I have a few questions I can't seem to get.

1.) I am on my way to buying my first xbox 360 console. I am a very casual gamer, usually spending most my time on 1 maybe 2 or 3 games at most. I would like to play on Xbox Live, but will probably not spend much time downloading or streaming videos/ music. Should I go with the Arcade console, or is it worth it to upgrade to the pro with 2 free games etc? Searching these forums has given me mixed opinions, however most my friends say to go for the pro.

2.) I currently own a Wii and a PS2. The ps2 was bought as a dvd player and it does it's job fine. I understand the 360 can play dvd's out of the box, correct? I also own a Samsung 32 inch HDTV and it has slots for HDMI AVI, S-Video Cable, and Component. Will the component cables with the Premium edition allow me to game in High Def (720p) or will they just give me 480p?

3.) I have read alot about the new 65mn Falcon consoles. What are the chances of me picking one up if I buy at a time like now. Have most of the defective consoles faded out by now? If not Microsoft offers me a 3 year warranty on RRoD correct?

Thank you very much to anyone who answers. Much appreciated!

1.) Just get a Pro. Premium does not come with hard drive. Arcade does not come with Component Cables so you are forced to play without HD.

2.) Yes it comes with Component Cables, you can play with 720p which btw looks way better than a standard TV.