Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Broadband vital to Virtual Console?!!?

Discussion in 'Virtual Console, WiiWare and DSIWare' started by jodyroberts, Oct 29, 2006.

  1. jodyroberts

    jodyroberts WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi guys..
    I'm just wondering whether you can use a dial up connection to download the VC games ?.
    obviously i coulnd't play online games using dial up, but just wondered if my VC theory could work haha..even though it would take forever to download!.haha

    Thanks in advance for answers
     
  2. Joe

    Joe Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,785
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Parker CO
    Wii Friend Code: 5856-5939-3035-0479
    5856-5939-3035-0479
    It may....I can't say much but I think you may just want to get broadband if you don't have it....I mean if you don't....your going to spend years waiting to get the games you want on the virtual console!
     
  3. NateTheGreat

    NateTheGreat Pondering Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,469
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    A basement on the hill.
    Wii Friend Code: 4054-9249-4284-3802
    4054-9249-4284-3802
    If all you are doing is downloading VC games, which probably will be small in size considering Wii's internal 512MB of storage is somewhat small, then dial-up should work fine, but I'm not 100% sure.
     
  4. Big_Mill

    Big_Mill WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    A land far far away... Or Blackpool (UK)
    No you cant. The preview video on IGN only shows connection options using broadband methods.
     
  5. NateTheGreat

    NateTheGreat Pondering Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,469
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    A basement on the hill.
    Wii Friend Code: 4054-9249-4284-3802
    4054-9249-4284-3802
    Well actually, the Xbox was said to only allow Broadband, but there are adaptors that allow you to connect to Xbox Live via dial-up. So it's possible, it's just not condoned by Nintendo.
     
  6. Big_Mill

    Big_Mill WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    A land far far away... Or Blackpool (UK)
    It seems stupid not setting it up as standard, especially in the UK as Broadband is not all that prevalent here yet.
     
  7. DBloke

    DBloke RIP and tea you say?
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    19,444
    Likes Received:
    110
    Location:
    Super Mancyland
    Wii Friend Code: 8041-7231-3447-6164
    8041-7231-3447-6164
    Well most roms are quite small
    unless there n64 games you ok
     
  8. chessaholic

    chessaholic WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    It may be worth getting the broadband. If you pay monthly then in the UK (dont know where you are) then it shouldn't be that much more expensive. Only a couple of pounds a month extra if anything. Then you could go the full hit, playing online games, using the wii's opera browser etc. If you're on one of those pay as you go things, then the amount of time spent downloading, it may have been cheaper to buy broadband. Though i should imagine there would be some way of doing it with dial-up.
     
  9. DBloke

    DBloke RIP and tea you say?
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    19,444
    Likes Received:
    110
    Location:
    Super Mancyland
    Wii Friend Code: 8041-7231-3447-6164
    8041-7231-3447-6164
    Dail up is to slow bb is better you will notice the speed difrence
     
  10. jodyroberts

    jodyroberts WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    i thought as much,that BB is the only real answer..I'll have to get it then...once my wii arrives!.
    thanks all,,
     
  11. professor_specs

    professor_specs WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    It's more of a hardware issue than anything else.

    The Wii can only receive from the Internet in one of two ways:

    1) It's built-in 802.11 Wifi
    2) The Ethernet port in the back.

    Neither of these formats are dial-up compliant out of the box. You would need to enable ICS on a PC with the dial-up modem and then share out the signal to a router/Ethernet card to be able to transmit data to the Wii.

    Although, I suppose the whole process could be simplified by purchasing the Nintendo Wifi dongle and just transmitting straight out of your computer that way.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

what is broadband wii picture

,

wii virtual console dial up