Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Bunny Ears?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by sherwood3570, Jun 13, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sherwood3570

    sherwood3570 infused

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    807
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Michigan
    Wii Friend Code: 1830-2062-7374-0757
    1830-2062-7374-0757
    Does anybody know how to set up bunny ear antennas on a t.v. set to get a few free channels? I think you need some sort of channel box on the double antennas. Although I am not too sure. Can anyone help me with the configuration?

    Tom
     
  2. Scream

    Scream President of NO MA'AM

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Central Coast, CA, USA
    Wii Friend Code: 0169-9501-5816-7969
    0169-9501-5816-7969
    Dear sir or madam, what you are speaking of is against all ethical and legal laws. Please refrain from thinking about committing such heinous acts in the future.

    Thank you and good day.
     
  3. Sovieto

    Sovieto Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,585
    Likes Received:
    91
    mostly bunny ears use those old screw cables, so your tv must be older as well and have those "jacks" to screw the wire onto.
     
  4. The_Mitch

    The_Mitch UNACCEPTABLE

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    3,144
    Likes Received:
    47
    Location:
    Milford Ohio
    Wii Friend Code: 2025-2025-2025-2025
    2025-2025-2025-2025
    um, over the air broadcasts are not illegal. stations like FOX and the CW are free. all you need is the antenna

    i have yet to see a TV without coax (the screw in) inputs. even my $2500 1080p tv has coax.
    the antenna should just plug right into your TV. are you sure the cable is plugged in correctly?
     
  5. Sovieto

    Sovieto Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,585
    Likes Received:
    91
    oh really? i guess i just really looked =P
    okay i just checked my tv
    i didnt mean the coax, i meant the REALLY old things that have 2 prongs at the end of the cable, and you more of, fasten them on the TV, thats what my old bunny ears used.
     
  6. sherwood3570

    sherwood3570 infused

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    807
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Michigan
    Wii Friend Code: 1830-2062-7374-0757
    1830-2062-7374-0757
    Well, usually I know a lot when it comes to electronics. But this is oldschool and I'm only 19. I'm trying to set this up for my friend...

    So from what I got...

    All I have to do is get those old bunny ears or just make them myself and screw them into the coax and it should pick up like 1-13?
     
  7. Scream

    Scream President of NO MA'AM

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Central Coast, CA, USA
    Wii Friend Code: 0169-9501-5816-7969
    0169-9501-5816-7969
    Wrong as usual Mitch! You see, in 1864 a French man named Landis Francois patented broadcast waves. He stole the main principles from a German scientist named Karl Wulf. A massive court battle ensued which, after many years, eventually led to The Great War. After the U.S. defeated Stalin and his gang of Nazi thugs, President George S. Patton declared, "Since we won the damn war, we get the damned rights to the damned broad cast waves!".

    For awhile everything went smoothly until Hitler and his communist lynch pigs decided to start WWII. Once again America decided to intervene.

    Anyway, to make a long story short, all air waves are property of the United States Government. This is why when you pay your cable company, they in return pay corporate taxes. As you should know, your government knows how to spend your money much better than you do, so please support the cause.

    Please try not to make yourself look so uneducated in the future my dear sir.

    Thank you.

    However I am still willing to offer advice. It is very hard to find TVs these days that have the ports for bunny ears. It used to be, that a small plastic tab was on the end of the ears, and you would simply plug that into the tv. Now, you may have to buy some kind of converter box. I would just call Radioshack, as they should be able to get you anything you need.
     
    #7 Scream, Jun 13, 2007
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2007
  8. Noel

    Noel Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Chibiland?
    You could word that less harshly. Everyone can't know every little thing.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. sherwood3570

    sherwood3570 infused

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    807
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Michigan
    Wii Friend Code: 1830-2062-7374-0757
    1830-2062-7374-0757
    I agree Noel. Thank you for the information Scream, it was a good read. I now believe that getting 6-13 channels for free is illegal. I would still consider them free though. I would label it something of which would be in a grey area. Somewhat like a rummage sale.
     
  10. Brawny

    Brawny Anglophobiphile

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    6,522
    Likes Received:
    129
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, MI, USA
    Wii Friend Code: 5385-4035-7079-0395
    5385-4035-7079-0395
    GAhh....Mitch is the way to go on this one. Scream has no idea what he is talking about...

    Jeez man, are radio signals off-limits as well? Ever heard of FOX,ABC,CBS,PBS,CW,WXSP,NBC

    They are all "local".... if they were illegal, there's a lot of country folk that should be in jail. Now taking every post by you with a grain of salt. Area 47? WTF

    And you should be able to pick up an antenna with co-ax. I can take a picture of mine. Both my little antenna and my rooftop one use coax.

    ... Uh... he doesn't have cable/dish. That's why he doesn't want to pay, because it's FREE!. wow.

    EDIT:

    Pics are kinda big, didn't feel like resizing.

    The tv's coax input.
    [​IMG]

    The antenna's output coax cable
    [​IMG]

    Both put together
    [​IMG]

    Final setup
    [​IMG]

    just pick a channel and screw around with the knobs till you get a picture. THat thing is like...10 years old already.




    oh, here's the big boy.
    [​IMG]
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. dakuda

    dakuda WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    648
    Likes Received:
    26
    Wii Friend Code: 0000-0000-0000-0000
    0000-0000-0000-0000
    Wow, some of you people really live under a rock. I used to have an antenna rotor on the roof, since I was 1/2 way between Chicago and Rockford. Sometimes the signals came in better for the other city, so I had to turn the antenna. This was before cable infiltrated everywhere. Well, almost everywhere.

    The screw-type ribbon cable used to be the standard.

    Indoor antennas now should have a Coax cable end. In that case, just plug it into the Cable In/ANT In Coax on the television.

    There is nothing wrong/illegal/immoral about gaining channels this way. If there was, there would not be legislation to make those free broadcasts into HDTV some year. Why cater to those 'stealing', if it is wrong??

    You do not need a 'channel box', you just use the TV tuner to change channels. You should get ABC, CBS, NBC, FOX and a few others. This depends on how close you are to where they are broadcast from.
     
  12. The_Mitch

    The_Mitch UNACCEPTABLE

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    3,144
    Likes Received:
    47
    Location:
    Milford Ohio
    Wii Friend Code: 2025-2025-2025-2025
    2025-2025-2025-2025
    now THATS an old antenna. i havent seen one of those ones where you change the channel on the antenna for a while lol
     
  13. Brawny

    Brawny Anglophobiphile

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    6,522
    Likes Received:
    129
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, MI, USA
    Wii Friend Code: 5385-4035-7079-0395
    5385-4035-7079-0395
    LOL, you still change the channel on the tv, but you gotta move the ears accordingly. :p
     
  14. sherwood3570

    sherwood3570 infused

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    807
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Michigan
    Wii Friend Code: 1830-2062-7374-0757
    1830-2062-7374-0757
    Thanks everybody for the big time help. I didn't figure it would be that easy. You don't need that big antenna on the roof though, do you? I'm not about to crawl on my buddy's apartment haha.
     
  15. dakuda

    dakuda WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    648
    Likes Received:
    26
    Wii Friend Code: 0000-0000-0000-0000
    0000-0000-0000-0000
    What do you mean? It is easy as hell. You plug in the antenna to the TV, and then adjust until you get a good signal. In Chicago, for instance, all the stations broadcast from the same area/buildings, so you just adjust the antenna until you get a strong signal.

    It is easy. Plug it in, move the antenna. You get a better signal using a rooftop antenna, but an indoor antenna should work.

    What did people do before the internet?
     
  16. Scream

    Scream President of NO MA'AM

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Central Coast, CA, USA
    Wii Friend Code: 0169-9501-5816-7969
    0169-9501-5816-7969
    Where did you get yer schoolin done? :crazy:
     
  17. sherwood3570

    sherwood3570 infused

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    807
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Michigan
    Wii Friend Code: 1830-2062-7374-0757
    1830-2062-7374-0757
    I have gotten all the information that I needed. This thread should be over with. Thanks everyone for the help.

    -Tom
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page