Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Can's see games on LCD

Discussion in 'Virtual Console, WiiWare and DSIWare' started by akguy53, Dec 11, 2006.

  1. akguy53

    akguy53 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    Sorry I reposted this because I had put it in the wrong forum.

    :mad: I just bought my son a new 19 inch widescreen LCD TV Monitor to use with his Wii. We have the Wii on the RCA cable inputs for the monitor of course. All the new Wii games work fine as does all the standard Wii menu items. The problem is with the games we downloaded from the Wii Shop. The only game you can play and see is Super Mario. Donkey Kong, Pinball, The old Zelda only show up as a black screen when you try to play them. You can hear the game going on and when you push the "home key" to get back to the Wii menu you can see the graphic of the game behind the Wii button choices for Close, Reset or Wii Home.

    I have tried making all the adjustments on the TV for brightness, contrast etc and nothing helps. Any ideas?

    Frustrated Dad.
     
  2. Nickrule

    Nickrule WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Belguim
    Wii Friend Code: 2390-3315-8143-9789
    2390-3315-8143-9789
    I think u should contact somebody from wii
     
  3. ilcid

    ilcid WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    British Columbia, Canada
    Wii Friend Code: 2168-2309-3726-8049
    2168-2309-3726-8049
    Does it work on any other TVs?
     
  4. akguy53

    akguy53 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes, It had been working fine on the regular tube TV.
     
  5. miiplaywii

    miiplaywii WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    1
    That is very odd. Try changing the widescreen setting in the Settings menu, Redownload a game, then call Nintendo.

    Also, double check the colour coding where you have the cables plugged into. On new TVs theres green, blue, yellow and other colours just make sure yellow goes to yellow.
     
  6. TheWiggman

    TheWiggman WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maitland, Australia
    I'd say there's likely to be a compatability issue with the output format of the old games and that of the screen. Seems unusual to me that the monitor wouldn't support everything (expecially older formats), but not out of the ordinary. The older games will replicate the original in terms of screen resolution, frame rate, video format etc. to replicate exactly what the original game was.
    Actually, now that I think of it, I could almost guarantee that's the problem and sadly I think there's almost no solution (unless you changed the video format by playing it 'through' another source ie. video player).
     
  7. csiguy4u

    csiguy4u WiiMaster

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,174
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, OK
    He probably bought one of those shite brands of LCD screens.
     
  8. akguy53

    akguy53 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm not sure what "shite" is supposed to mean, however I bought a Westinghouse 19" 1440 x900 HD ready LCD TV at Best Buy. I spoke to Nintendo today and they are having someone higher up the food chain get back to me since the first person could not help. By the way, do the NES games work on your non-"shite" brand LCD screen.
     
  9. csiguy4u

    csiguy4u WiiMaster

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,174
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Yes they do. Maybe you should get a refund from Bestbuy.
     
  10. tivogirl

    tivogirl WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm having the same problem!

    I'm using a Philips 42" LCD that we've owned just over a year. It's connected to a very high end a/v receiver via HDMI cable. All of our components go through the a/v receiver except the dvd player. The Wii is connected via the a/v receiver using its supplied rca cables.

    We downloaded Donkey Kong and SNES Zelda and are having the SAME exact problem you describe! I've tried toggling the aspect ratio settings on the console, the tv and both in every combination but no dice. No setting changes on either end fix the issue.

    I was considering running some rca or component cables straight to the tv's side input to see if that would fix it (figured the problem was the HDMI cable), but it sounds like you've got yours connected directly using non-HD cables.

    I did submit a ticket to Nintendo about this today, so hopefully they'll come up with a fix. If anyone has any success, please post!
     
  11. akguy53

    akguy53 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1

    Thank you so much for validating my problem. I called Nintendo yesterday and spoke with one tech guy. He was going to have someone else call back higher up the chain. They haven't yet. Keep me posted if you hear anything.

    What do you mean "submit a ticket"?
     
  12. Xanthan

    Xanthan Hardcore Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Augusta, GA
    Wii Friend Code: 6188-0435-3585-1038
    6188-0435-3585-1038
    Well we have 2 folks here with the same problem, I'm sure there are many more people out there that have contacted Nintendo so I'm sure they are aware of the problem. My guess is its a format compatibility issue. Seeing as HD LCD's use fairly new technology and those VC games were usually played on CRT TV's. It prolly has something to do with refresh rates, lines of resolution, interlace scanning or NTSC/PAL modes.
     
  13. tivogirl

    tivogirl WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    "Submit a ticket" in tech support terms means that I've opened an incident in their system. I've officially submitted the problem as a known issue and, theoretically, that means it beings its climb up the chain to solving it. It's documented.

    I did read over on another thread that one guy had some success with using the just-released component cables and switching the Wii to 480p. Makes sense, as then everything up the line is digital. I'm going on a quest today to see if anyone here has the component cables yet and will report back.
     
  14. tivogirl

    tivogirl WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    FOUND A FIX!

    I found and purchased a component cable today. Hooked it up, changed the setting on the Wii to 480p, and at first it didn't seem to work. I tried changing the aspect ratio on the tv and Wii in every combination and was about to give up when I got it to work!

    Here's the trick (at least for me).
    1. Hook up component cables
    2. Change setting on the Wii to 480p
    3. Start the virtual console game (it will be blank at first)
    4. Hit the home button to pull up the Wii menu options over the top of the game screen (you'll see the game screen in the background).
    5. Hit the continue button at the top right. When the menu goes away, the game will stay!

    I had to go through steps 3-5 any time I started a virtual game, but it works every time! So hopefully there's a firmware fix for this down the road, but for now I can at least play.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. xbandaidx

    xbandaidx WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Wii Friend Code: 4857-5695-0490-5844
    4857-5695-0490-5844
    Awesome post! Hopefully it works for everyone else.

    Good props, gave you some rep points for that! :D
     
  16. aaronbekir

    aaronbekir WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    i just tried this on sonic and sadly it didnt work, im a bit miffed about this, but alas theres nothing that can be done as yet. i will be ringing nintendo in the morning!!

    aaron
     
  17. akguy53

    akguy53 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    Component cables work

    I got my component cables last week. I hooked them up and wallah, they worked immediately the first time for all games. Nintendo sold me a sensor bar for 10 and threw in an AC adaptor for free before I had the fix so I could easily be set up on another set. Now I have the original cables and new a/c and sensor upstairs on the big screen and only have to unplug cables to move the Wii. Sweet.
     
  18. masanz1

    masanz1 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same issue with my projector. I know the component works but I do not what to run another cable up to my projector. I think Nintendo needs to fix this.
     
  19. akguy53

    akguy53 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    It will only be one set of cables. You use the component for everything. Just switch them out.
     
  20. SixStringedStress

    SixStringedStress WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    6
    Wii Friend Code: 0000-0000-0000-0000
    0000-0000-0000-0000
    Westinghouse makes some junk TVs, avoid buying them. They are cheap for a reason. I work in the home theater department for a large electronics retailer (I won't mention it but you can probably guess).
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
can wii ware games be played on hd cables
,
donkey kong on wii problem -country -jungle virtual console blank screen
,
wii games black screen on lcd tv
,
wii virtual games and lcd
,

wii virtual games lcd