Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Can't get my N64 to work :(

Discussion in 'Retro Consoles' started by Happy, Jan 13, 2007.

  1. Happy

    Happy Dobedobebo

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    London
    Wii Friend Code: 0710-2343-2773-8881
    0710-2343-2773-8881
    I fished out my N64 from the basement yesterday along with nearly all the games ever released on it. Last time I played on it, it was on a crappy old tv. Now Ive got my new widescreen flatscreen modern TV. When I plug the N64 into the TV everything on my tv goes fuzzy. The games work but it is completly fuzzy. So the only way I can get it to not be fuzzy is having the original thing in into the tele, and when thats in there isnt another socket for my N64. Sorry I cant be more detailed about the 'socket thingy' but Im sure people with a N64 will understand what I mean.
     
  2. Riviet

    Riviet WiiChat Veteran

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,457
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Wii Friend Code: 3388-6355-5969-8398
    3388-6355-5969-8398
    What's this original thing that you're referring to? :confused:
     
  3. Happy

    Happy Dobedobebo

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    London
    Wii Friend Code: 0710-2343-2773-8881
    0710-2343-2773-8881
    Well on my TV where the N64 plug goes in theres already something in there which makes the picture of the TV clear. Must be an arial or something and when I take it out and put in the N64 plug the picture quality is fuzzy.
     
  4. Wii17

    Wii17 26 sets of flat batteries

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    829
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Wii Friend Code: 1950-4861-6176-4135
    1950-4861-6176-4135
    omg u usimg aerial connector for the 64 LOL!!!!!! use a YRW connector, off a gamecube or the one that game with the 64 im asuming u used to play on a really old tv without the ports
     
  5. Happy

    Happy Dobedobebo

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    London
    Wii Friend Code: 0710-2343-2773-8881
    0710-2343-2773-8881
    It is a completly different shape to what I plug my Wii and GC into.
     
  6. Riviet

    Riviet WiiChat Veteran

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,457
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Wii Friend Code: 3388-6355-5969-8398
    3388-6355-5969-8398
    You'll need to use an N64 one (not sure if there are alternatives, someone mention them if they know of any).
     
  7. Wii17

    Wii17 26 sets of flat batteries

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    829
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Wii Friend Code: 1950-4861-6176-4135
    1950-4861-6176-4135
    take the tv cable from the gamecube and plug it in the 64, it will fit its the same. pull out the aerial connector first of course and bingo. aerial connector ewwww i remember using one on the master system *shudder, but atleast clear tv was still possible coz of the extra port on the connector

    and i know it fits coz the wii is the 1st nintendo console to use a diff connector, i use a 64 1 for my gamecube... bloody cat
     
  8. Squall7

    Squall7 A li'l bit different

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,743
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Cornwall, UK
    Wii Friend Code: 8420-0141-9022-6948
    8420-0141-9022-6948
    You could try something like this:Here
    It's a universal aerial thing.

    Other than that, you could try manual tuning your TV in. Or get a new Coaxial cable (the cable running from the block in the end of your N64 to the TV).

    Coaxial cableHere
    [​IMG]
     
  9. Happy

    Happy Dobedobebo

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    London
    Wii Friend Code: 0710-2343-2773-8881
    0710-2343-2773-8881
    Thanks! Its working now :) Although when playing everything seems to be a little bit fuzzy. Proberly just the console though.
     
  10. Riviet

    Riviet WiiChat Veteran

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,457
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Wii Friend Code: 3388-6355-5969-8398
    3388-6355-5969-8398
    Wow, I never knew that - thanks for the info! :)
     
  11. Wii17

    Wii17 26 sets of flat batteries

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    829
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Wii Friend Code: 1950-4861-6176-4135
    1950-4861-6176-4135
    no problem :), when my cat chewed up my gc cord i was like noooo then i found my 64 1 and decided to see if it would fit and it did lol
     
  12. gibsonrocker800

    gibsonrocker800 Pink Floyd Addict

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Wii Friend Code: 4635-5232-1884-9552
    4635-5232-1884-9552
    yeah i do the same thing,,, i use my Gamecube cable for the N64. and they are right next to each other, so whenever i feel like playing N64 i just take out the cable and plug it right in and im set.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
can't get my n64 to work
,
can't get n64 to work
,
how to get an n64 to work
,

how to get my n64 to work

,
how to get n64 to work on new tv
,
how to get your n64 to work
,
how to make an n64 work
,
how to make an old nintendo 64 work
,

how to make my n64 work

,
terranigma