Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Cant Seem to get a Connection

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii Online' started by Kurtis_123, Jul 8, 2007.

  1. Kurtis_123

    Kurtis_123 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the Linksys WRT54GS and installed the Wifi software but i just cant get a connection. So i went to the Wii Site and entered in the Error Code but i couldnt figure out what to do. Can someone help me out?
     
  2. FR3344LL

    FR3344LL honesty is my only excuse

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    WV8
    Hi

    i have that model router. my Wii will not connect to it either.

    i've had to use a WRT55AG (wifi router) as an access point
    for the Wii to connect to.

    go to the linksys site to see if there's an upgraded firmware
    for your variant of the router.

    there are also other firmware versions available from people who
    have modified the original linksys firmware.
    mines a v.5.x so i can't flash it with one of the "hacked" firmwares
    which are available for this model of router.

    if you're unsure of the version you're using, have a look at the
    bottom of it for version details.

    for indepth info re: linksys routers, head over to:-
    http://www.linksysinfo.org/index.php
     
  3. Kurtis_123

    Kurtis_123 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    So is your connection working now that you have got those updates?
     
  4. Kurtis_123

    Kurtis_123 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, well do you have to do anything on your computer to make sure that your Router accepts the Wii connection? Like do i have to go into my Router setting and put it some Wii number and have it so it safely shares the connection?
     
  5. FR3344LL

    FR3344LL honesty is my only excuse

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    WV8
    no, as mentioned in my reply, i never actually got the Wii to "work" wirelessly
    via the WRT54GS. in the end, i turned off the WiFi broadcast and then hooked
    up a WRT55AG to the WRT54GS and used the 55AG as the wireless receiver,
    in other words, a glorified Wireless Access Point. the reason i don't use the
    WRT55AG as a router is the fact that it has issues with my ISP settings and
    as such will not accept the IP address issued by my ISP.

    with regards to your router settings, it will depend upon what type of security
    measures you have implemented. if you're using MAC address filtering, the
    Wii's MAC address will need to be entered into the routers MAC access list.
    if you're using WPA or WEP encryption, these "keys" will need to be entered
    into the Wii's wireless config settings.

    basically, if you're not using any MAC / WPA encryption, then by rights the
    Wii *should* just connect when you browse for a wireless access point
    and find your router.
     
  6. Supermariomp3

    Supermariomp3 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Messages:
    695
    Likes Received:
    1
  7. Kurtis_123

    Kurtis_123 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I already bought the Nintendo Wi-Fi USB Connector and it has already recognized it as an acces point but when it trys to get the connection the connection always fails
     
  8. Kurtis_123

    Kurtis_123 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0

    Okay so i entered the Wii's MAC address into the Routers access list and i am using WEP, so where do i find the Wii's wireless config setting? And should the Auto-Obtain IP Address be selected as Yes or No when you go into the Wii Settings?
     
    #8 Kurtis_123, Jul 11, 2007
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2007
  9. FR3344LL

    FR3344LL honesty is my only excuse

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    WV8
    i'm a little confused...are you attempting to use you router
    and the USB wifi adaptor?

    with regards to accessing the Wii config, it seems you already
    have seeing as you've mentioned "auto-obtain" in your reply.

    leave everything as auto obtain and try to connect.
     
  10. Kurtis_123

    Kurtis_123 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hahaha i take it your not suppose to? I had no idea what i was doing so thats why i am on here.
     
  11. FR3344LL

    FR3344LL honesty is my only excuse

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    WV8
    heh

    the theory is, if you have a wireless router, you don't need a USB
    wifi dongle.

    FYI, since i last mentioned that i couldn't get online with the WRT54GS,
    guess what...i've managed to get a "working" internet connection with
    said router and the Wii.
    the only issue is, if i try to access the weather channel, i get an error
    message saying no internet connection found, but strangely enough if i use
    the Opera browser, i can surf the net without issues.

    to get the Wii "talking" to the WRT54GS i did the following:-

    1. turned off (LAN) DHCP on the 54GS
    2. enabled WPA-TKIP encryption
    3. entered the Wii's MAC address into the permitted MAC access list.
    4. set wireless speed to 802.11g only
    5. rebooted the router.
    6. created a "new" wireless connection in the Wii's internet settings.
    7. entered all relevant IP / default router (gateway) information manually.
    8. ...and probably most crucially, under DNS settings, i entered my actual ISP
    primary and secondary DNS addresses, rather than using the routers IP
    as the DNS value.

    this has allowed me to use the internet, but as mentioned not the weather
    channel. i haven't tried any of the others (shopping/news etc) as i can't
    be arsed.
     
    #11 FR3344LL, Jul 13, 2007
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2007
  12. Kurtis_123

    Kurtis_123 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay... So would it just be easier to use the Wi-Fi Connector? Haha. Cause in the midst of changing everything, i have somehow disconnected by other computers internet, which runs wirelessly off the Linksys.
     
  13. ericlewis91

    ericlewis91 im McLovin

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    London,Ontario,Canada
    Wii Friend Code: 6031-8713-1077-8188
    6031-8713-1077-8188
    did you try a reset?
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

cant get wi-fi connection for the wii online

,

cant seem to get wifi on wii

,

how to get default wifi for wii

,

if wifi is working but you cant get online on the wii

,

wrt55ag wii