Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Component cable problems.

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii Hardware' started by Trulen, Jan 9, 2007.

  1. Trulen

    Trulen Isn't here as much

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,138
    Likes Received:
    30
    Wii Friend Code: 1234-1234-1234-1234
    1234-1234-1234-1234
    I've searched, no worries. No one's havinga problem like me.


    So, I was in Wal-Mart today looking in the clearence isle. And I see these spaced out cables like I saw in component cables.

    I looked, and sure enough, there's a Wii set; 16 bucks! Third party, of course.

    So I hook it up to my NON HDTV TV. IT's flat screen, though. Glass, though.

    So I'm like, "wee!"

    I plug it in, plug it to the wii. HOOZAH? It looks exactly the same.
    So I guess, "Hey, I bet I need to do screen resolution.
    So I go to turn it on the top thing, which is now able to be turned on since I have those cables hooked up.

    The second I do that, the screen goes blank.
    I turn the channel, and turn it back, and for a glimpse, I see TWO WII MENUS.
    Then it just goes back.

    So I go and put back in the origional cables. Picture didn't show up.
    Oh Pooperscooper

    So, I unplug the system.
    And turn it back on. Picture, thank goodness.

    So, I turn on Zelda.
    And I look at it real hard with normal cables, then switch to the component cables.
    Looked exactly the same.

    So I go to the wii home, and try to turn on the 480p thing again.
    Same thing happened.

    SO...
    What's the deal?
    But I just think that those component cables were on clearence for a reason.
    THEY DON'T WORK.

    Your ideas?
     
  2. Maskingtape

    Maskingtape WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    The problem is you don't have an HDTV - 480p is only supported on HDTV or EDTV.
     
  3. nudniq

    nudniq WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the same problem, and figured that was the answer. I got my cables from Play-Asia for $10 so nothing really bad about that.
     
  4. GaryT85

    GaryT85 Super Gario

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Langley, Berks
    yeah what masking tape said is correct, its nothing to do with the cables, its your tv, it does not support the 480p signal that the wii is trying to put out on it, hence the double vision then blank..
     
  5. JeremyGTS

    JeremyGTS WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    2
    same thing happened to me got the component and BAM screen shakes... but still use them im not sure if it makes a difference but the components are better than the compisites
     
  6. Michael Hardman

    Michael Hardman WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ilford, Essex, United Kingdom
    Wii Friend Code: 4319-4628-5021-9858
    4319-4628-5021-9858
    I'm about to buy a set of Official Component Cables for my Wii, I have a 32inch Toshiba HD TV so will I notice better quality. Quality looks good already but I want more f its possible.
     
  7. MasterJedi2U

    MasterJedi2U Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    Wii Friend Code: 5251-2094-6508-9892
    5251-2094-6508-9892
    So wait you HAVE to have an HDTV in order to get 480p? I thought some regular tvs can support it? I don't really care either way. Its just that I was thinking of actually finding out whether or not I need to get these cables for my tv as well.
     
  8. kauaiian

    kauaiian WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    The same thing happen to me last night. I bought some React branded component cables from Best Buy. Changed the setting on the Wii and got the blue screen with a flash of a split Wii menu.

    You would think that having component inputs would allow you to make full use of them... So by having component inputs on my tv, I can't use the component cables?
     
  9. WiiToddIt

    WiiToddIt WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    No. You don't need an HDTV to get 480p. Some regular TV sets (labeled SDTV/EDTV) can do 480p. Just need to check supported video modes.
     
  10. JeremyGTS

    JeremyGTS WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    2
    yeah i should of known my TV couldnt use em since it says in big letters SDTV but never hurts to try... i did a little compare test with the cables and i think theres a difference
     
  11. Calvinhedge

    Calvinhedge WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    Wii Friend Code: 8160-5319-6257-2561
    8160-5319-6257-2561
    For those who have tried it, are they any better than composite cables?
     
  12. Denizen

    Denizen WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    My flat-screen but tubed TV thinks it's HD-ready. I got component cables today but haven't opened the package. Should I even break the seal?
     
  13. alexao

    alexao WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just hooked up the mad catz component cable, put the wii settings on too hdtv mode and was waiting to be amazed. But the only thing I was amazed about was that the picture got worse. The pixels on wii sports around the bowling pins and the miis were awfully edgy and unsmooth. So checked what resolution my tv was in, and it said 720x480 @60hz which is 480p right?

    I dunno whats wrong here, but I dont find the picture better, just worse.
     
  14. GaryT85

    GaryT85 Super Gario

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Langley, Berks
    you are seeing 'jaggies' - games that arent made with very good graphics but being seen by a tv capable of showing better quality...
     
  15. alexao

    alexao WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    so basically not the tv, cable or the wiis fault. But the standard you will get from games not designed to play at that resolution?
     
  16. law2255

    law2255 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    What's the difference between a 60 dollar component cable vs. a 20 dollar or below one? Is the quality something that will be noticeable onscreen?
     
  17. krenshaw

    krenshaw old skool

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    it's the difference between buying like a monster cable wire vs. the radio shack ones.. supposed to be much better though i've never seen a diffrence (on a side note, best buy sells acoustic research cables that are a great deal for the price)
     
  18. Darthspazz

    Darthspazz Zelda Master

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    :hand: I bought the $50 component cables when they first came out, and I get jaggies to. Some games look a lot smoother though. AND you can play game-cube games in progressive scan. :ihih: if you have a HDTV these cables are worth it.:yesnod:

    I'd buy the $50 set, but don't expect to be AMAZED!
     
  19. wii-tard

    wii-tard WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver
    I got 50$ component cables too. I would recomened to not buy them.
     
  20. Darthspazz

    Darthspazz Zelda Master

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    really? I don't mind them at all...I'm running a 50inch LCD projection TV:drool:
    Jaggies are worse on a small TV, so ONLY USE HD CABLES ON A BIG TV!:thumbsup:
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

black bars wii component cables

,
edtv or hdtv 480p on wii blacked out
,

monster wii cable problems

,

troubleshooting wii component cable to tv

,

wii component cable problems

,

wii component cable troubleshooting

,

wii component shakes

,

wii edtv or hdtv 480p problems

,

wii monster cable problems

,
will a wii edtv or hdtv 480p cable allow me to see the entire screen?