Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

connect the wii to my hdtv ready monitor

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii Hardware' started by disaster99, Jul 31, 2007.

  1. disaster99

    disaster99 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have a 19" samsung computer monitor that is hdtv ready and uses dviconnectors. Is it logical to buy the hdtv component wire, get a switch to switch from component to dvi and use my monitor?

    if not, what would you suggest?
     
  2. gunsnroses

    gunsnroses No more stupid posts!

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    K-Town, Texas
    Wii Friend Code: 8487-7279-3996-8875
    8487-7279-3996-8875
    just use the basic setup it came with no need to waste money :D
     
  3. disaster99

    disaster99 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    well my tv only has mono speakers =( if i connect my wii to the computer and use the speakers on my computer that would be great

    how about the usb gamebridge? anyone tried it?
     
  4. paintba||er

    paintba||er WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2006
    Messages:
    3,417
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Mormonville, Utah XBL GamerTag: sheise PSNID: s
    Wii Friend Code: 8354-0173-2009-5422
    8354-0173-2009-5422
    Component to DVI would be very expensive since you would have to get a converter box to convert it from analog to digital. It would probably cost you more than the Wii. :sick: That and there is no reason to hook it to the monitor since the Wii isn't HD. Just put it on your TV.
     
  5. disaster99

    disaster99 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. yosh64

    yosh64 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey

    I'm not sure if that adaptor would work? wouldn't the signal need to be converted from analog to digital or something for your monitor? unless your monitor supports an analog signal or whatever?

    Maybe you should email those folks asking if it would be useful for your purpose?

    Hmm, if you have an LCD monitor then I think the best option for optimal quality is to use some sorta VGA transcoder/box that upscales to your monitors native resolution. I'd look for one that accepts component input (that supports 480p input), but you might need one that supports composite or s-video to beable to display gamecube games, or whatever games that don't support progressive scan.

    I'm quite sure there are a number of these around, but I think you should be careful and look into things, as I think some arn't of very good quality.

    Anyhows I haven't ever done anything like this, so I dunno anything much for sure :\.

    edit
    Maybe something like the VDigi VD-Z3? as seen HERE. Hmm, I think you should look/ask around. I think if you do a search on this forum you will find quite a bit about such things.

    cyas
     
    #6 yosh64, Aug 16, 2007
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2007
  7. iceblade

    iceblade WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    It probably will work if your monitor has DVI-I but it will NOT work if it has DVI-D
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
connect wii to monitor
,
connect wii to samsung hdtv
,
connecting my wii to my new hd tv
,
ho to connect wii to samsung hdtv monitor
,
hoe to connect wii to samsung hdtv monitor
,
hooking up wii to hd monitor
,
how to connect my wii to new hd tv
,

how to connect wii to samsung hdtv

,
samsung hdtv monitor hook up to wii
,
samsung hdtv nintendo wii connecting