Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

console trouble

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii Hardware' started by amansingh, Jan 7, 2013.

  1. amansingh

    amansingh WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    Hi,
    I bought a nintendo Wii in Norway(Europe) a few years ago. Now I brought it to canada and hooked it up to my sony HDtv. I bought a transformer to convert electricity but when I turn it on the screen shows up in black and white rather than a normal colour screen. Do I need to change any settings? Please advise.

    Aman
     
  2. Splash_King

    Splash_King The Scrubbiest of Hunters

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    16,352
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Lostlorn Forest
    Wii Friend Code: 0129-0129-0129-0129
    0129-0129-0129-0129
    If I recall correctly, when you're not using HDMI cables to hook your Wii up to an HD TV, the result is no color. You'll need Wii-compatible HDMI cables or a non-HD TV.

    I could be wrong though, so take my word with a grain of salt. Not really an expert in regards to these sort'a issues.
     
  3. TampaBondo

    TampaBondo Number 1 GE Wiimote User

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cumberland, RI
    Wii Friend Code: 8297-0574-6373-3839
    8297-0574-6373-3839
    ^This applies to a LOT of things Splash_King says. Always apply this thinking to everything he posts!
     
  4. The_Mitch

    The_Mitch UNACCEPTABLE

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    3,144
    Likes Received:
    47
    Location:
    Milford Ohio
    Wii Friend Code: 2025-2025-2025-2025
    2025-2025-2025-2025
    The Wii doesn't have HDMI capability. and even if it did, HDMI is HDMI. There is ZERO difference between cables. If the wires are connected to the ends then it will work regardless of what device.

    As for the OP, Try buying some Wii component cables. The console is PAL and the TV is NTSC. That is what is causing the issue but if you get the component cables, it should fix the issue. Buy these. It's what I used and they work fine.
     
  5. Splash_King

    Splash_King The Scrubbiest of Hunters

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    16,352
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Lostlorn Forest
    Wii Friend Code: 0129-0129-0129-0129
    0129-0129-0129-0129
    Ahh, that's what I was thinkin' of, component cables. Unsurprisingly I stand corrected . :lol:

    fix'd
     
  6. Tragonight

    Tragonight God-Slaying Vanguard

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3,762
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Serenes Forest
    Wii Friend Code: 9000-0000-0000-0001
    9000-0000-0000-0001
    Surprisingly I have a friend that goes by the name "Aman"

    Is that you Amanjyot?
     

Share This Page