Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

do i need another modem

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii Online' started by d1nk, Jun 11, 2007.

  1. d1nk

    d1nk WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    2
    i am going to purchase a wii and use the online feature and i cant afford a router but do have broadband upstairs to a laptop with modem my wii will be down stairs and connected to a differnt socket an im going to connect through the usb addaptor and was wondering if i will need a second modem i know ill need another filter
     
  2. ciper

    ciper

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,008
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    ▐▄█▀█▄▌
    Major runon sentence! Its very hard to understand what you are saying.

    Are you trying to ask if the Nintendo Wifi adapter will work with your high speed internet upstairs?
     
  3. FR3344LL

    FR3344LL honesty is my only excuse

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    WV8
    so basically you're using an ADSL connection?

    you can't just connect the Wii to a USB modem via the USB port
    .......it simply won't work, even if you have two modems
    which is overkill.

    i know that you've said you can't afford a wireless router, but to be
    perfectly honest with you, it will be the best method to use.

    other means of getting the Wii online would be:-

    1. via ethernet...run a "crossover" cable between the Wii and the laptop
    which is connected to the internet. you would need to purchase a "LAN"
    adaptor for the Wii for this to work though..
    2. via a wireless dongle (either nintendo's or datel's) these create a wireless
    link between the Wii and the laptop....but, they're fairly pricey and have
    no advantage whatsoever over a wireless router.
     
  4. d1nk

    d1nk WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    2
    i mean like this ethernet cable/
    wii ---- adapter -------------------------------------------------modem/
    /
    phone line-----filter --------------------------------------------------- ethernet cable /
     
  5. FR3344LL

    FR3344LL honesty is my only excuse

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    WV8
    phew...

    ok, from what i can see, you have an ADSL connection?

    you're currently connecting your pc to the modem via USB?

    your modem does not have ethernet ports?

    ---------

    have a look in your other post for compatible (with tiscali) modem.routers.
    i've left a link which gives models/prices.
     
  6. sherwood3570

    sherwood3570 infused

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    807
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Michigan
    Wii Friend Code: 1830-2062-7374-0757
    1830-2062-7374-0757
    Linksys routers are around 40-70 bucks. I bet you could pick one up at a thrift store for 5. I did for my other computer.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

do i need another modem for my wiit

,

does wii need modem