Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Erasing Question

Discussion in 'The Design Lounge' started by ProShooter, Feb 28, 2009.

  1. ProShooter

    ProShooter WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,055
    Likes Received:
    6
    In some tutorials, when people work with a render they often tell you in the tutorial to erase anything unwanted on the render.

    So here I am, taking my erasing tool and erasing over the render and my whole render is gone. It just erases in white.

    I don't get what this whole erasing thing is?
    Can someone tell me how to do it properly and what it is used for.

    Thanks
     
  2. ROB64

    ROB64 40lb box of rape

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,759
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Georgia
    Wii Friend Code: 0120-6723-8776-4093
    0120-6723-8776-4093
    The layer that the render is on is probably locked.
    Just hit "Ctrl + J" to duplicate the layer, then delete the original (locked) layer.
     
  3. ProShooter

    ProShooter WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,055
    Likes Received:
    6
    thanks ROB. But what exactly is erasing supposed to do
     
  4. ROB64

    ROB64 40lb box of rape

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,759
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Georgia
    Wii Friend Code: 0120-6723-8776-4093
    0120-6723-8776-4093
    If the layer is locked, when you erase something in that layer, it changes to the background color. (default BG color is white)
    When the layer isn't locked, the background and foreground are transparent, so the layer underneath shows through, or it just becomes transparent.
     
  5. Gymdawg

    Gymdawg ~I Spy Hypocricy~

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,279
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Her arms
    Wii Friend Code: 5981-2669-3238-7379
    5981-2669-3238-7379
    Also, if you're trying to accurately render something the eraser tool is your worst option.
    If the background you're trying to remove is a solid color you can use the "Color Range" option (Select > Color Range). On top of that you should start using the pen tool to select details.

    You'll get a much better result.
     

Share This Page