Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Error 51420...

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii Online' started by Darkside7000, Jun 8, 2007.

  1. Darkside7000

    Darkside7000 Luke Perry for President!

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    I just bought the Lan Adapter and can't get it working. I think it's a problem with the modem, as the XBOX360 ethernet cable doesn't work either (although it did a few months back, just stopped on day). My modem is connected to the computer through a USB cord. Is there any other way to hook up the Lan Adapter without plugging an ethernet cord into the modem. Stupid question, but i'm desperate.

    OR is there anyway to find out whats wrong with my modem. I think it stopped working when our old computer stuffed up. Maybe not the right drivers?

    This is the moderm I have: http://whirlpool.net.au/index.cfm?a=h_view&model_id=278
    Picture: http://reviews.cnet.com/sc/31619563-2-200-0.gif
     
  2. FR3344LL

    FR3344LL honesty is my only excuse

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    WV8
    nope.

    you only need drivers when connecting via USB (as it seems you currently
    are). how did you post this message? through the modem? if so, it's obviously
    working!!

    tbh, i'd connect via ethernet every time. it always seems more stable than
    USB.

    try connecting your modem/router to your PC via ethernet then re-boot the modem. once you have re-booted, go into it's configuration pages to see
    if DHCP is enabled. DHCP is the service which allocates IP addresses to
    pc's/consoles which are attached to the modem/router.

    next, on the Wii, go into it's internet connection options and create a "new"
    wired connection. leave all settings to obtain information automatically.

    see if that works.
     
  3. ciper

    ciper

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,008
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    ▐▄█▀█▄▌
    Are you trying to connect both the USB and the Ethernet on your DSL modem at the same time? If so that is why you are having problems.
     
  4. Darkside7000

    Darkside7000 Luke Perry for President!

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    No ciper, i'm not. And i'll try the fr3344ll. Thanks.
     
  5. minimemoon

    minimemoon WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had error 51420 when I bought the Datel Lan Adapter.
    Make sure your sharing your internet connection with the local area connection.
    and basically, dont use the ethernet cable that comes free.
    when I had that plugged in, my computer didnt even recognise it was there.
    But I used another cable, and it works.

    btw you are plugging the ethernet cable from your wii to your computer and not from the wii directly to the modem arent you?
     
  6. AZ_Wii_Tard

    AZ_Wii_Tard WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    Wii Friend Code: 5976-8685-8380-4889
    5976-8685-8380-4889
    Error Codes 51420 - 51422

    The Wii console is not able to connect to your wired router or modem.

    1. Make sure that you are using the Wii LAN Adapter made by Nintendo (click here for a picture and connection steps). LAN adapters not made by Nintendo likely will not work with the Wii console.

    2. Ensure that the Wii LAN Adapter setup is correct, and that the Wii LAN Adapter was connected with the console turned off. For step by step connection instructions, please click here.

    3. Check to see if the ethernet cable you are using is not working properly, by connecting another ethernet cable from your router/modem to the Wii LAN Adapter. If the connection works using a different cable, then the problem was with the first cable.

    4. If possible, try another Wii LAN Adapter. If you are unable to try another Wii LAN Adapter, or are still receiving this error code, please call 1-800-255-3700 for assistance.

    http://www.nintendo.com/consumer/systems/wii/en_na/errors/51420-51422.jsp
     
  7. Darkside7000

    Darkside7000 Luke Perry for President!

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    "btw you are plugging the ethernet cable from your wii to your computer and not from the wii directly to the modem arent you?"

    No... I was connecting it to the modem. Can you post some instructions on how the set-up should look please? Or post instructions to do it (or anyone for that matter).

    I'm using the Datel Adapter BTW
     
  8. FR3344LL

    FR3344LL honesty is my only excuse

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    WV8
    darkside,

    your modem appears to have "router" functionality...how
    many LAN (ethernet) ports does it have?

    have you tried completely shutting off the power to each
    bit of equipment, then allowing the modem to power up
    before attempting to power up your games consoles?

    see if that solves anything.

    failing that, have a look in modems configuration settings
    to ensure DHCP is enabled.
     
  9. Darkside7000

    Darkside7000 Luke Perry for President!

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    1 ethernet port, 1 lan port. Thats all. And i've tried turning everything off.

    How do I check the DHCP?
     
  10. FR3344LL

    FR3344LL honesty is my only excuse

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    WV8
    normally you can access the modem/routers config pages by typing it's IP address into your web browser. for example:-
    http://192.168.x.1

    "x" could be either a 0,1 or 2

    have a look at your manual.
     
  11. Darkside7000

    Darkside7000 Luke Perry for President!

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    If I don't have a manual is there any other way?
     
  12. FR3344LL

    FR3344LL honesty is my only excuse

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    WV8
    hi

    in your original post, you gave a link to "whirlpool.net".
    scroll to the bottom of the info page, it gives you 3 default IP options...see which one corresponds with your ISP.

    alternatively, on your PC which is connected to the modem, click on start>run then type CMD into the run dialogue box and press "enter" to bring up the command prompt. at the prompt type IPCONFIG /ALL and press enter.

    you will now see your IP information. have a look at the "default gateway" address, this is *usually* the LAN address of the device you're connecting too.
     
  13. Darkside7000

    Darkside7000 Luke Perry for President!

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    Thanks. It says DHCP is enabled. Now what?
     
  14. FR3344LL

    FR3344LL honesty is my only excuse

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    WV8
    ok,

    now you know how to get your IP details, do a screen dump
    of them and post here.

    we might be able to see if there are any conflicts or reasons
    why the Wii won't connect.

    when you do a screen dump, you will see a bunch of numbers
    in hexadecimal format (a1:b2:c3:e4:f5:g6). this is your MAC
    address, blank out those details as they could *potentially*
    give away too much information, and although it's unlikely, a
    hacker could spoof your MAC address and access your network
    if wireless devices are involved.
     
  15. Hsnake

    Hsnake WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im thinkin to buy this wifi max but im a bit worried dat i will the same probs as u lot, i did have many probs wid my PSP wifi max, should i buy it?
     
  16. Darkside7000

    Darkside7000 Luke Perry for President!

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    Whats a screen dump? lol?
     
  17. FR3344LL

    FR3344LL honesty is my only excuse

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    WV8
    basically, just typing or pasting the info from your command prompt
    detail.

    you could simply press ALT+PrintScreen to copy the image and paste the image into clipboard, then open "paint" then load it onto a free picture hosting site like photobucket and then link that image to this site.
     
  18. Darkside7000

    Darkside7000 Luke Perry for President!

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    Ok. Now how do I get my Ip details? (feels dumb)
     
  19. FR3344LL

    FR3344LL honesty is my only excuse

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    WV8
    Hi

    click on start>run then press enter.
    in the run dialogue box, type cmd press enter again to
    access the command prompt.

    at the command prompt, type ipconfig /all and once again
    hit the "enter" key.

    all of your IP details will now be shown.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  20. ciper

    ciper

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,008
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    ▐▄█▀█▄▌
    Fr3344ll is very patient. Carry on
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
51420 wii error
,
51420 wii error code
,
error 51420
,
error code 51420
,
error code 51420 wii
,
error code 51420 wii internet connection
,
nintendo wii error code 51420
,
wii error 51420
,

wii error code 51420

,
wii error code 51420 internet