Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Hello, first post, and first question

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Neuco, Nov 18, 2007.

  1. Neuco

    Neuco WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi all.

    I don't have a Wii yet, but I know I'm getting one for Christmas. So to prepare, I plan on hooking it up to my PC monitor, since I don't have HDTV yet.

    I have a 20 inch widescreen LCD monitor. When I used to have my Xbox hooked up to it, I used the VD-Z3 Component-to-VGA Transcoder.

    http://hardware.teamxbox.com/xbox/22/VDZ3-ComponenttoVGA-Transcoder/

    Now, I did a search here before posting, so I kindly ask members to please refrain from responses like "uze teh search, n00b!!1". All I would like to know is, if I hook up my Wii with this, will the transcoder automatically detect the Wii component cables and display a signal? Or will I have to make an adjustment on a regular TV first.

    Thanks in advance for any answers, and I look forward to posting more often as Christmas nears. :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. oxhaker

    oxhaker ...no good titles

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Life
    Wii Friend Code: 0376-6435-4668-9489
    0376-6435-4668-9489
    its should automattically (u see we dont care about spelling---damn you frogger) detect...lets start from the beggining ...welcome to wiichat...*rep*
     
  3. Sylux

    Sylux Bounty Hunter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Wii Friend Code: 3986-3356-9082-8504
    3986-3356-9082-8504
    No one speaks like that here, Welcome to wiichat n00b, jk:lol:
     
  4. DBloke

    DBloke The last original
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    19,422
    Likes Received:
    109
    Location:
    Super Mancyland
    Wii Friend Code: 8041-7231-3447-6164
    8041-7231-3447-6164
    [​IMG]
    You shouldn't really be botherd about geting a HD signal
    The wii dosnt do true HD
     
  5. wario2ooo

    wario2ooo vote for me....Wario!

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    6,077
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    Calfornia, USA
    Wii Friend Code: 0162-6929-7214-8876
    0162-6929-7214-8876
    welcome to wiichat......im wario

    -eats a sandwich-
     
  6. Neuco

    Neuco WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thank you for the responses everyone. :) Wii fans sure are different from Xbox fans, let me tell you. :crazy:
    I know that, but I don't have anywhere else to put it, so I say why not.
     
  7. Gikoku Harakami

    Gikoku Harakami ミュージック

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,180
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    どこかに日本でか。
    Wii Friend Code: 1234-1234-1234-1234
    1234-1234-1234-1234
    Hi there Neuco, welcome to Wiichat.
     
  8. DBloke

    DBloke The last original
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    19,422
    Likes Received:
    109
    Location:
    Super Mancyland
    Wii Friend Code: 8041-7231-3447-6164
    8041-7231-3447-6164
    Multi conection boxies ?
     
  9. Neuco

    Neuco WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Not sure what you mean.

    Anyway, I've been doing some more research, and it seems the transcoder will not automatically pick up the Wii signal at first. The transcoder only detects progressive scan signals. By default, the Wii outputs at 480i, and you have to go to a setting in the system options to set it to 480p. Since I won't even be able to see the screen to begin with, it looks like I'll have to do the 480p setup on another TV at first, then go back to the LCD monitor, and hopefully the Wii will remember to output in 480p and the transcoder will pick it up then.

    Anyone else have a similar experience?
     
  10. DBloke

    DBloke The last original
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    19,422
    Likes Received:
    109
    Location:
    Super Mancyland
    Wii Friend Code: 8041-7231-3447-6164
    8041-7231-3447-6164
    I ment a box that gose into the TV and it gives you more connections
     
  11. Neuco

    Neuco WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    I already have too much going on as it is in that department, so I opted to use my LCD monitor instead. Besides, it'll look better on my monitor as well.
     
  12. DBloke

    DBloke The last original
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    19,422
    Likes Received:
    109
    Location:
    Super Mancyland
    Wii Friend Code: 8041-7231-3447-6164
    8041-7231-3447-6164
    True
    But a bigger screen is best for multi games
     

Share This Page