Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Help, Cant download wii update

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii Hardware' started by alienated182, Nov 20, 2006.

  1. alienated182

    alienated182 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can connect to the wireless router, but I still recieve error 32002 when i try to install the update that follows.
    Any ideas? :(
     
  2. Ashex

    Ashex WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    Check out nintendo's Wii support page for info on the Error code
     
  3. Icetrash

    Icetrash King K.Rool

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,013
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Wii Friend Code: 4727-8101-2072-3014
    4727-8101-2072-3014
    What is the update anyway?
     
  4. alienated182

    alienated182 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    i did, it says you should recieve it before the 19, then if you recieve it after, it gives you a link, which leads to a random page that is obviously not going to help me ::(
    not sure what the update is, but i cant do anything with the channels, cant shop even.
    im guessing a firmware.
     
  5. Ashex

    Ashex WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    the first time you power up the Wii you need to download a system update, I haven't a clue as to what exactly the update contains but my guess is bug fixes and various performance enhancements. Nintendo was originally going to include a system update disc that you would be required to insert before you can actually use the Wii but apparently they scrapped that idea (even then, a small handful of the consoles got out that have this setting, end-users are going to have to send them in to get it replaced)

    Did you configure the internet connection?
     
  6. alienated182

    alienated182 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    yep, right after it tells me that its connected properly, it starts updating, and it just sits there and dosnt update, it eventually times out and gives me that error.
     
  7. Ashex

    Ashex WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    how far away is the access point from your Wii? Also, is the encryption wep or wpa? and is it wireless G or B?
     
  8. alienated182

    alienated182 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    its pretty far away, but still recieves a signal worth of green
    Encryption is Wep 64bt
    wireless g
    lynksys with speedbooster (wtf that is)
    im new to the hole wireless era, just bought the router yesterday
     
  9. Ashex

    Ashex WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    it's generally good practice to keep the console near the access point. The farther away it gets from it the less powerful the signal, even if it is in the green, it is still susceptible to losing connection. Wireless doesn't do too well through walls either. It would also make sense to me if you are receiving that error. I don't really know what the error means (that page I linked is being retarded and won't return my query) but i would guess that the Wii lost connection partially through the transfer.

    On a sidenote, I highly recommend using wpa instead of wep. wep is a pretty weak encryption method. But if you're confident that you won't have any wardrivers in your area, don't fret about it.
     
  10. alienated182

    alienated182 WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    im gonna change it to wep, i just wasnt sure if it would slow it down or not.
    and yea, im in the basement, so tomorrow im going to move it upstairs and see if i can get a connection, it would actually kinda suck if that was the problem, i already have a 50 foot cable running down there for my computer :*(
    thanks for the help
     
  11. Ashex

    Ashex WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    if you already have a cat5 running to your basement, you could always invest in a cheap switch and the wii lan adapter as an option.
     
  12. Evi1d33d

    Evi1d33d CheapAssGamer

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    SC, USA
    I heard a news on digg where the Nintendo Wii Servers were overwhelmed by the number of people trying to connect. I guess the Wii was more successful than what Nintendo thought it would be:thumbsup:.
     
  13. NeMeZyZ

    NeMeZyZ Chapter .1

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Miami Beach, fl
    this is why i don't like wireless
     
  14. ericlewis91

    ericlewis91 im McLovin

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    London,Ontario,Canada
    Wii Friend Code: 6031-8713-1077-8188
    6031-8713-1077-8188
    i got 32002!
     
  15. DarkMonk

    DarkMonk WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Then U don't know how to use wireless properly. It's the best.
     
  16. Goots

    Goots Wii noob

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Wales, UK
    The "channels" to which nintendo are referring in that help page are wireless channels, not Wii channels. Wireless signals are divided into 11 seperate channels and the Wii prefers 1 or 11 for some reason.

    You will need the updates for numerous reasons. eg, your SD memory slot won't work until you update, neither will the forecast channel. Also you need to download the Opera browser if you want to use your Wii for web surfing and web-mail...

    Your router config will tell you which wireless channel you are using, and if you don't have a router, get one.

    And re: Darkmonk...

    Wireless sucks, and I've been using it properly for years. It's handy yeah, but compared to ethernet it really realy sucks.

    Connection problems, slow speeds, security issues, interference with TV's, phones etc...

    Given the choice, go for hard-wired every time.
     
    #16 Goots, Dec 27, 2006
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2006
  17. Seibar

    Seibar WiiChat Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    College Park, MD
    Wii Friend Code: 3674-4969-0601-4340
    3674-4969-0601-4340
    go to your browser, type in address 168.198.1.1 (or 198.168 i get it confussed) and make sure your wireless is allowing any incoming signal?

    if you never changed it your login is blank (nothing) and pword is admin.


    edit: nvm your apparently connected. uhhhh your wii is being sassy.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
error code 32024
,

error code 32024 wii

,
wii 32024
,
wii 37002
,

wii error 32024

,
wii error code 30024
,

wii error code 32024

,
wii error code 37002
,
wii system update error 32024
,

wii update error 32024